Jump to content

  •  


   
Where Flight Simulation Enthusiasts Gather from Around the World!

HOT SPOTS:
 rarrow.gif The 2014 Demographic Survey! - NEW!

rarrow.gif What's new in the Library

rarrow.gif Member Blogs

rarrow.gif Member Reviews - Contribute a Review!
rarrow.gif Bargain Hunters Forum
rarrow.gif Classified, Want, Swap Ads

rarrow.gif AVSIM Team Speak System

rarrow.gif Video Library
rarrow.gif Image Gallery
rarrow.gif Community Links Library
rarrow.gif Tutorials

rarrow.gif FS9. FSX & P3D CTD Guide

rarrow.gif FSX / P3D Configuration Guide

rarrow.gif AVSIM Publications 



Simulation's Premier Resource!

AVSIM is a free service to the flight and simulation communities. Please help us keep it that way. Donate what you can today! Thank you for your support!











. . .
Photo

Slight Transponder Progress


  • Please log in to reply
34 replies to this topic

#16 Inactive Member_GeorgeDorkofikis_***

Inactive Member_GeorgeDorkofikis_***
  • Guests
  • Joined 44 Years, 7 Months and 26 Days Ago.

Posted 05 October 2005 - 04:50 AM

The main board connector seems to be an FFC/Molex miniature connector.While browsing through the digikey catalogue I found these:http://forums.avsim....iles/128988.jpghttp://forums.avsim....iles/128989.jpgI don't know the spacing between the pins (until I receive my own screen), but I think this might help us to provide some extra space.They come in a variety of lengths from 2" to 12".I wonder if those can also be found in local stores. Those items are pretty exotic!George DorkofikisAthens, Greecehttp://online.vatsim...811520/1704.pnghttp://www.precision...rum/betaimg.jpg

Help AVSIM continue to serve you!
Please donate today!

#17 Inactive Member_GeorgeDorkofikis_***

Inactive Member_GeorgeDorkofikis_***
  • Guests
  • Joined 44 Years, 7 Months and 26 Days Ago.

Posted 04 October 2005 - 02:20 PM

I agree... But quite an expensive one!!!!George DorkofikisAthens, Greecehttp://online.vatsim...811520/1704.pnghttp://www.precision...rum/betaimg.jpg

#18 tigert

tigert

    Member - 1,000+

  • Topic Starter
  • Members
  • 1,335 posts
  • Joined 11 Years, 8 Months and 16 Days Ago.

Posted 04 October 2005 - 06:29 AM

>I will be using this TFT for FMC, and I'm thinking of the>same thing.>How to find compatible flatcable to lengthen it.>We should find someone at Sony to cut and send us a few>meters... :LOL>>George Dorkofikis>Athens, Greece>http://online.vatsim...811520/1704.png>http://www.precision...rum/betaimg.jpgSearch fds forum for "psone holder" pics, Peter had a nice way to mount these things.//T

#19 Inactive Member_GeorgeDorkofikis_***

Inactive Member_GeorgeDorkofikis_***
  • Guests
  • Joined 44 Years, 7 Months and 26 Days Ago.

Posted 04 October 2005 - 03:06 AM

I will be using this TFT for FMC, and I'm thinking of the same thing.How to find compatible flatcable to lengthen it.We should find someone at Sony to cut and send us a few meters... :LOLGeorge DorkofikisAthens, Greecehttp://online.vatsim...811520/1704.pnghttp://www.precision...rum/betaimg.jpg

#20 tigert

tigert

    Member - 1,000+

  • Topic Starter
  • Members
  • 1,335 posts
  • Joined 11 Years, 8 Months and 16 Days Ago.

Posted 03 October 2005 - 07:03 PM

>Hi Tuomas,>Nice work!!!>That TFT looks like a PSOne screen. Is that right?Yep, like I mention above too :-)>if so, how did you manage to remove it from it's main board?>How did you replace the ribbon cable ?I did not replace the ribbon cable - you can see the crude cut on the pcboard - that's where the ribbon goes from the front of the PCB to the back - and hopefully there attachs to the PSOne's own pcboard via the connector (it has a small micro-sub-miniature-tiny-microscopic flat cable connector on the round pcboard)The LCD itself is not really fixed to the board at all - just the backlight power is via a pair of wires, the only problem is the flat cable. If one could lengthen it somehow, it'd be great. But I think I can still fit everything behind the pcb, just need to build some kind of a "rig" that I can attach the big pcboard into so it doesnt break the cable.The encoders are from mouser, searching google for "ESD0D-S00-GC0006" gives it as the first hit (friendly hint :))I use TV-out currently - its not perfect quality but works good enough.//tuomas

#21 Inactive Member_stevelep_***

Inactive Member_stevelep_***
  • Guests
  • Joined 44 Years, 7 Months and 26 Days Ago.

Posted 03 October 2005 - 01:55 PM

Nice TuomasWere do you buy the encoders ?I suppose you use a capacitor to transform the vga signal to the screen, ss the quality of the PsOne screen not too bad ?BOB

#22 Inactive Member_GeorgeDorkofikis_***

Inactive Member_GeorgeDorkofikis_***
  • Guests
  • Joined 44 Years, 7 Months and 26 Days Ago.

Posted 03 October 2005 - 12:30 PM

Hi Tuomas,Nice work!!!That TFT looks like a PSOne screen. Is that right?if so, how did you manage to remove it from it's main board?How did you replace the ribbon cable ?Thanks!George DorkofikisAthens, Greecehttp://online.vatsim...811520/1704.pnghttp://www.precision...rum/betaimg.jpg

#23 tigert

tigert

    Member - 1,000+

  • Topic Starter
  • Members
  • 1,335 posts
  • Joined 11 Years, 8 Months and 16 Days Ago.

Posted 03 October 2005 - 04:56 AM

>Hi Tuomas:> very, very, very good work. I have a question. What>components you have in the lower corner of the PCB?.>Encoders?. ThanksBourns ESD0D-S00-GC0006 - works with iocards directly, has a hole through. Going to combine those with a regular encoder with a pushbutton to get a dual concentric one with a button..//T

#24 Inactive Member_jollive_***

Inactive Member_jollive_***
  • Guests
  • Joined 44 Years, 7 Months and 26 Days Ago.

Posted 03 October 2005 - 04:42 AM

Hi Tuomas: very, very, very good work. I have a question. What components you have in the lower corner of the PCB?. Encoders?. ThanksJose Olliver

#25 tigert

tigert

    Member - 1,000+

  • Topic Starter
  • Members
  • 1,335 posts
  • Joined 11 Years, 8 Months and 16 Days Ago.

Posted 03 October 2005 - 03:49 AM

Some progress on the GNS:PCBoard..http://tigert.com/av...s-pcb-ready.jpgSome components added..http://tigert.com/av...-pcb-ready2.jpgAnd the PSOne LCD..http://tigert.com/av...-pcb-ready3.jpgIf this works out, it will be very nice :-) There is still work to do but it is starting to look very nice..http://tigert.com/av...-pcb-ready4.jpgI need to get another IOCards master card next, since I am starting to run out of inputs :-)Best,//Tuomas



#26 Inactive Member_yoss_***

Inactive Member_yoss_***
  • Guests
  • Joined 44 Years, 7 Months and 26 Days Ago.

Posted 19 September 2005 - 02:35 PM

great TuomasTnx a lot

#27 tigert

tigert

    Member - 1,000+

  • Topic Starter
  • Members
  • 1,335 posts
  • Joined 11 Years, 8 Months and 16 Days Ago.

Posted 19 September 2005 - 01:51 PM

They are from Mouser.com:http://tigert.com/av...tton-mouser.pngI think I have seen them on some european catalog too, but I fail to remember where.//Tuomas

#28 Inactive Member_yoss_***

Inactive Member_yoss_***
  • Guests
  • Joined 44 Years, 7 Months and 26 Days Ago.

Posted 19 September 2005 - 01:11 PM

Hi TuomasAvesome and pro workI wonder where can i find such pushbuttons with leds you are using for your audio panel?Tnx in advance

#29 tigert

tigert

    Member - 1,000+

  • Topic Starter
  • Members
  • 1,335 posts
  • Joined 11 Years, 8 Months and 16 Days Ago.

Posted 19 September 2005 - 10:33 AM

>Hi Tuomas,>>Looking really good. Being an IOCards user, i too have planned>to use PCBs behind panels (after seeing all those wonderful>pcb pics from mostly spanish iocards builders). Inspiring to>see you doing it DIY. >>What is your aircraft? Did you make PCB for the MCP also? If>yes, can you share the picture/file?>>thanks>sriniThe aircraft does not have a MCP - it's a generic piston twin. It has a control stick (stick rocks! :)) and twin throttles, basic de-ice and rectactible gear. No pressurization or autopilot. http://tigert.com/av...nel-sep4-05.jpgI have not decided yet whether I want to build an autopilot. Maybe, we'll see - the idea is to polish and maintain my piloting skills, thus I want a good airmanship workout when I fly with it :-)The avionics on the right are currently laminated paper, I'll replace them one by one as I proceed with the building. GNS530 is next, once I get some rotaries and the PCBoard for it designed.I just finished the audio panel work:http://tigert.com/av...audiopanel4.jpg//Tuomas

#30 Inactive Member_sri777_***

Inactive Member_sri777_***
  • Guests
  • Joined 44 Years, 7 Months and 26 Days Ago.

Posted 19 September 2005 - 06:08 AM

Hi Tuomas,Looking really good. Being an IOCards user, i too have planned to use PCBs behind panels (after seeing all those wonderful pcb pics from mostly spanish iocards builders). Inspiring to see you doing it DIY. What is your aircraft? Did you make PCB for the MCP also? If yes, can you share the picture/file?thankssrini