Sign in to follow this  
Guest Tom Goodrick

Airspeed Confusion in FS

Guest Tom Goodrick

The other day, while making a cruise performance table for the Cessna Skylane, I stumbled onto a problem with airspeed that I had never noticed before. I have been modifying flight dynamics files for many years to get better realism in FS aircraft flight performance. This was a shock. There is a line in the aircraft.cfg file for the Skylane 182S that determines how indicated airspeed is calculated in this sim. I was tabulating true airspeed and indicated airspeed for a fully-loaded Skylane at various altitudes, coming down from 8,000 ft which was where I matched a published specification. I was curious to see the variation of true airspeed with altitude at a constant power setting. I listed the indicated airspeed just for completion because that is what you should be looking at when flying the airplane. I was amazed to find the indicated airspeed nearly equal to the true airspeed when I got down to 5,000 ft. (I was using standard conditions having selected "Clear Weather" as I always do when testing aircraft.)After much consternation - I thought I knew the behavior of the Skylane since I have flown the FS version for several (~38) hours - I found the source of the problem. It is the line under the section heading [airspeed_indicators] in the aircraft.cfg file. the line says airspeed_indicator.0= 1.3, -24 as set by default by the folks at Microsoft. The first number is a scalar nd the second number is an offset. These are applied to the calibrated airspeed in the calculation of the indicated airspeed. To avoid a lot of confusion, I think these settings should be 1.0 and 0.0 as they are by default. This line is not even in most aircraft.cfg files. It should be removed from all. The line for the Skylane means there will always be a 30% error in the indicated airspeed!The problem I see is not so much that a calibration curve between calibrated airspeed (CAS) and indicated airspeed