Sign in to follow this  
Guest FSX5150

Help with Maule Orion M7-260C

Guest FSX5150

Hello Flight Sim Fans,I'm relatively new to the virtual aviation world (and aviation in general) but am slowly getting my feet wet learning about light GA aircraft such as the J-3 Piper Cub, Cessna 172, and Maule Orion.I have a little bit of flight time with the Piper Cub and Cessna 172 in FSX and have recently taken an interest in the Maule Orion. This aircraft seems to be a perfect fit for much of the short/soft-field flying I'd like to eventually do.Can someone help me to better understand three unique gauges of the Maule Orion M7-260C (in FSX)?They are:1) The EGT gauge on the lower left instrument panel has an adjustable yellow indicator/notch. All of the light aircraft I've seen and studied in FSX thus far have a simple "fixed" EGT indicator with nothing that you can select or adjust. Why is the EGT indicator on the Maule Orion adjustable and what is the purpose for adjusting/changing it? Please advise.2) In the middle of the instrument panel, there is an "Engine Alternate Air" lever. Please explain what this lever is for and when it is best to use it.3) On the right side of the instrument panel, there are two Fuel Transfer Pumps (both right and left). There are also two white buttons next to each one labeled, "PUSH FOR AUX. QUANT.". Please explain what the purpose of these pumps/buttons is and suggest situations where they should be used in flight.Also, are there any good references, tutorials, or operator handbooks specifically on the Maule Orion M7-260C, especially for use within FSX? If so, can you please provide links to sites with detailed info and instruction? Any decent books worth considering on this particular aircraft? I have a basic understanding and some virtual flight training of tail draggers from practicing many hours in the J-3 Piper Cub in FSX. I would like to apply this knowledge and training over to the Maule Orion but would like more specific details of th