Jump to content

  •  


   
Where Flight Simulation Enthusiasts Gather from Around the World!

tom-mourning.png
 
HOT SPOTS:
 rarrow.gif What's new in the Library
rarrow.gif Member Blogs
rarrow.gif Member Reviews - Contribute a Review!
rarrow.gif Bargain Hunters Forum
rarrow.gif Classified, Want, Swap Ads

rarrow.gif AVSIM Team Speak System
rarrow.gif Video Library
rarrow.gif Image Gallery
rarrow.gif Community Links Library
rarrow.gif Tutorials

rarrow.gif FS9, FSX & P3D CTD Guide - UPDATED V2!
rarrow.gif FSX / P3D Configuration Guide
rarrow.gif AVSIM Publications 



Simulation's Premier Resource!

AVSIM is a free service to the flight and simulation communities. Please help us keep it that way. Donate what you can today! Thank you for your support!











. . .
Photo
- - - - -

Disaster! FSX will not start up!


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 rhodges

rhodges

    Member - 2,000+

  • Members
  • 2,302 posts
  • Joined 12 Years, 6 Months and 27 Days Ago.

Posted 23 November 2009 - 02:45 PM

I have had FSX installed and working fine after an i7 upgrade for several months with no problems. This morning, I made several flights with no problem in FSX. At the moment, when I click on my shortcut, or the internal fsx.exe file in the FSX root directory, I get a flicker of the startup screen for just a split second, and then nothing but the retained desktop display. I added or deleted nothing nor made any changes of any kind to my computer, FSX, or anything else since this morning when all was well.First I tried restarting the computer, both by a simple restart, and by shutting down power completely and then restarting the computer.I tried deleting and letting FSX rebuild my fsx.cfg file. Startup does not get far enough to do it (Again, just a flicker of the starup screen for FSX). I have total backups of my drives, including the FSX default folders and files immediately after installation, after the patch, and periodically thereafter. I patched in my backup saved default fsx.cfg and got the same result, just a flicker after actuating the execution file.I tried replacing the fsx.exe file with the orginal default. Same result.I am in the process of renaming and replacing FSX folders and files with the default backups to see if by a process of elimination I can troubleshoot this nightmare and find both the culprit and a solution.If anyone has had this happen to them and already found the problem/solution, it would be greatly appreciated if you would share that knowledge.Thanks:RTH

Help AVSIM continue to serve you!
Please donate today!

#2 ryanbatcund

ryanbatcund

    Member - 8,000+

  • Members
  • 11,461 posts
  • Joined 8 Years, 9 Months and 26 Days Ago.

Posted 23 November 2009 - 02:56 PM

Repair option from the DVD?
|Ryan Butterworth|

#3 Inactive Member_Nick_N_***

Inactive Member_Nick_N_***
  • Guests
  • Joined 45 Years, 5 Months and 29 Days Ago.

Posted 23 November 2009 - 02:56 PM

corrupt log book?Seen that one bite a lot of people in the arse http://www.fsdevelop...Resolving_(FSX)Scenario 2) Corrupted Logbook, (do not edit any entry, other than the latest). Subsequently FSX refuses to start, only loading to the initial title screen. Solution - Corrupted Logbook Look for the file - Logbook.BIN in - Filename OS Location Editor Download Logbook.BIN XP C:\Documents and Settings\%username%\My Documents\Flight Simulator X Files\ FSX Log Book Editor Lamont Clarke's Software Page (1Mb) Logbook.BIN Vista C:\Users\%username%\Documents\Flight Simulator X Files\ FSX Log Book Editor Lamont Clarke's Software Page (1Mb) Rename Logbook.BIN to - Logbook_DATE.BIN Now fire up FSX. Does FSX now load properly ? If so, you had a corrupted logbook.

#4 tf51d

tf51d

    Member - 5,000+

  • Members
  • 5,778 posts
  • Joined 11 Years, 6 Months and 24 Days Ago.

Posted 23 November 2009 - 03:37 PM

corrupt log book?Seen that one bite a lot of people in the arse http://www.fsdevelop...Resolving_(FSX)Scenario 2) Corrupted Logbook, (do not edit any entry, other than the latest). Subsequently FSX refuses to start, only loading to the initial title screen. Solution - Corrupted Logbook Look for the file - Logbook.BIN in - Filename OS Location Editor Download Logbook.BIN XP C:\Documents and Settings\%username%\My Documents\Flight Simulator X Files\ FSX Log Book Editor Lamont Clarke's Software Page (1Mb) Logbook.BIN Vista C:\Users\%username%\Documents\Flight Simulator X Files\ FSX Log Book Editor Lamont Clarke's Software Page (1Mb) Rename Logbook.BIN to - Logbook_DATE.BIN Now fire up FSX. Does FSX now load properly ? If so, you had a corrupted logbook.

Another possibility if it's not the logbook, is a corrupted fsx.cfg file. (Happened to me) Just rename it and let FSX build a new one. You will have to edit it to include any tweaks you had in the original file.
Thanks
Tom
My Youtube Videos!
http://www.youtube.com/user/tf51d

#5 Andydigital

Andydigital

    Member - 2,000+

  • Members
  • 2,744 posts
  • Joined 7 Years, 10 Months and 12 Days Ago.

Posted 23 November 2009 - 03:43 PM

He's has tried the fsx.cfg already its in his opening post.
Posted Image

Cheers, Andy.

#6 rhodges

rhodges

    Member - 2,000+

  • Topic Starter
  • Members
  • 2,302 posts
  • Joined 12 Years, 6 Months and 27 Days Ago.

Posted 23 November 2009 - 04:15 PM

Thanks loads Nick, Andy and Ryan for the prompt and kind replies.Sadly, none of the suggestions worked or changed anything, but fortunately I found a simple solution.I am always apprehensive of the feature as it has caused me some misery in the past, but "System Restore" was the solution in this case. I went back to my last automatic restore point there from day before yesterday, and now have FSX working again.I had to authorize a number of addons again during startup, reinstall the "Addon Manager" for the dreamteam airports along with jumping through the hoops for their .dll file if you are familar with that scenario. As near as I can tell, I am back to go again now. I have absolutely no idea what happened or what the glitch was but sure am happy to find a cure. Maybe it had swine flu. It sure was a pig for a few moments there. I don't think I did anything to provoke it.Thanks again.RTH

#7 rhodges

rhodges

    Member - 2,000+

  • Topic Starter
  • Members
  • 2,302 posts
  • Joined 12 Years, 6 Months and 27 Days Ago.

Posted 23 November 2009 - 04:56 PM

Afraid I spoke a little too soon.Just got a window thanking me for useing the demo version of FSX and then FSX shut down. I sure didn't know that system restore would cause this. I don't ever remember seeing this in the past when I tried it. Makes me wonder if it is something unique to 64 bit.As I said earlier, sometimes System Restore bites me on the posteria. Guess it is time to scratch it for a bit and see what else I can come up with.To be continued:RTH

#8 rhodges

rhodges

    Member - 2,000+

  • Topic Starter
  • Members
  • 2,302 posts
  • Joined 12 Years, 6 Months and 27 Days Ago.

Posted 23 November 2009 - 06:06 PM

Good suggestion, unfortunately, that brought on another problem.Now my startup splash screen stays displayed for about 25 seconds, then i get a error window: "A fatal error occurred."I don't know whether this is progress or not.To be continued:RTH

Repair option from the DVD?



#9 spilok

spilok

    Member - 2,000+

  • Members
  • 2,420 posts
  • Joined 13 Years, 3 Months and 21 Days Ago.

Posted 23 November 2009 - 08:07 PM

Looks like a delete and re-install to me. You might be happier and better off. I've done it and it's not like the end of the world. Sometimes, it's the best solution for FSX and for YOU.Stan

#10 rhodges

rhodges

    Member - 2,000+

  • Topic Starter
  • Members
  • 2,302 posts
  • Joined 12 Years, 6 Months and 27 Days Ago.

Posted 23 November 2009 - 11:25 PM

Well, I was just about ready to agree with Stan, reformat, and reinstall, but may have found a way to get off of the hook.I copied my entire backup of Flight Simulator X letting it overwrite everything. FSX is back up now and appears to be working correctly. No assumptions though, time will tell and I will keep an eye on it with caution for a while.The repair and restore functions sure were not the answer. Things got progressively worse.I have no idea what originated this problem after a shutdown of a healthy working FSX, going away for a while, and then trying to crank FSX up again. I also am puzzled by the demo bit. I have never had a trial version of FSX.AT any rate, hopefully everything is back to go now.Thanks for the suggestions everybody.Respectfully:RTH

#11 Geofa

Geofa

    Geof Applegate

  • Members
  • 9,490 posts
  • Joined 13 Years, 3 Months and 22 Days Ago.

Posted 23 November 2009 - 11:49 PM

Looks like a delete and re-install to me. You might be happier and better off. I've done it and it's not like the end of the world. Sometimes, it's the best solution for FSX and for YOU.Stan

Stan-I just did the full reinstall and it was almost like the end of the world-at the very least like doing taxes. 100 or so add ons and their codes/upgrades/patches...I lost at least 5-6 paywares-one I really cared about (due to win7 64 bit)-and now I am getting a few wierd acting things that will take time to sort out.In any case I am happy to have fsx back with most of my favorite add ons-but I don't think I could take the whole process more than once every 3 years... :( I still say a great opening for an add on-a program that catalogs all your codes/patches/programs etc. and with one click reinstalls everything..
Geofa
WANTED DEAD OR ALIVE-the best Flight Sim!

#12 rhodges

rhodges

    Member - 2,000+

  • Topic Starter
  • Members
  • 2,302 posts
  • Joined 12 Years, 6 Months and 27 Days Ago.

Posted 24 November 2009 - 06:40 AM

Good morning Geofa:I concur completely on how big a hassle it can be. My i7 upgrade plus getting everything back working literally took weeks (well almost everything working). I went the Win XP Pro 64 bit route. I finally adopted and upgraded an archived secondary computer with Win XP Pro 32 bit in order to retain some software and hardware that was not compatible with the 64 bit OS. At least this finally convinced me to implement WideFS and SimConnect for some FS programs.I also dreaded with a passion having to possibly completely clean the slate and start over with FSX. However, so far it appears that my SyncBackSE Backups may have saved the day. I simply copied and overwrote with my backups of the Flight Simulator X Folder, and the Documents and Settings\Administrator\Application Data\Microsoft\FSX folder and it appears that everything is flying ok again in FSX.In the process of getting everything working again, I found that I don't have the latest updates for GEX and FEX. I am downloading them now.One thing I always do after a new and clean installation of FS9 and/or FSX (plus the patches) is to immediately copy a backup of the default installations. This has saved me a world of pain in troubleshooting at times relative to the process of identifying the culprit by a process of elimination. Then periodical backups of the modified installations with all the addons are a must as well. However, this is included with my periodical total backup of all harddrives. I use to automatically do this every night, but NOD32 causes some errors that really were of no real importance, but I have chosen to just do the backups periodically with NOD32 disabled.Happy flying:RTH

Stan-I just did the full reinstall and it was almost like the end of the world-at the very least like doing taxes. 100 or so add ons and their codes/upgrades/patches...I lost at least 5-6 paywares-one I really cared about (due to win7 64 bit)-and now I am getting a few wierd acting things that will take time to sort out.In any case I am happy to have fsx back with most of my favorite add ons-but I don't think I could take the whole process more than once every 3 years... http://forum.avsim.net/public/style_emot... I still say a great opening for an add on-a program that catalogs all your codes/patches/programs etc. and with one click reinstalls everything..



#13 spilok

spilok

    Member - 2,000+

  • Members
  • 2,420 posts
  • Joined 13 Years, 3 Months and 21 Days Ago.

Posted 24 November 2009 - 07:36 AM

Stan-I just did the full reinstall and it was almost like the end of the world-at the very least like doing taxes. 100 or so add ons and their codes/upgrades/patches...I lost at least 5-6 paywares-one I really cared about (due to win7 64 bit)-and now I am getting a few wierd acting things that will take time to sort out.In any case I am happy to have fsx back with most of my favorite add ons-but I don't think I could take the whole process more than once every 3 years... http://forum.avsim.net/public/style_emot... I still say a great opening for an add on-a program that catalogs all your codes/patches/programs etc. and with one click reinstalls everything..

Geofa,I would pay without question for a program like that. I wonder if it can be done? Whenever I had to do a re-install of FSX, I tried to look at it like the "glass is half full", not "half empty". Many of my addons weren't worth the money after purchase because I rarely used them. They only contributed to slowing down the whole experience. Therefore, they didn't get loaded on the re-install. I keep all my purchases in a "receipts" folder in Outlook, so when I have to get the information on an FSX purchase, it's usually in there. All my passwords and registration keys are also organized in my documents folder. I really hate having to reinstall, but after it's done, FSX usually runs much better.I, too, wouldn't relish doing it more than once every several years...so a one click program would be welcome indeed.Stan





   
Where Flight Simulation Enthusiasts Gather from Around the World!