Jump to content

  •  


   
Where Flight Simulation Enthusiasts Gather from Around the World!

HOT SPOTS:
 rarrow.gif The 2014 Demographic Survey! - NEW!

rarrow.gif What's new in the Library

rarrow.gif Member Blogs

rarrow.gif Member Reviews - Contribute a Review!
rarrow.gif Bargain Hunters Forum
rarrow.gif Classified, Want, Swap Ads

rarrow.gif AVSIM Team Speak System

rarrow.gif Video Library
rarrow.gif Image Gallery
rarrow.gif Community Links Library
rarrow.gif Tutorials

rarrow.gif FS9. FSX & P3D CTD Guide

rarrow.gif FSX / P3D Configuration Guide

rarrow.gif AVSIM Publications 



Simulation's Premier Resource!

AVSIM is a free service to the flight and simulation communities. Please help us keep it that way. Donate what you can today! Thank you for your support!











. . .
Photo
- - - - -

Here's the "apparent" fix to fsx crashing (Win 7 x64)


  • Please log in to reply
71 replies to this topic

#1 Bill_KA350

Bill_KA350

    Member

  • Members
  • 9 posts
  • Joined 5 Years, 6 Months and 27 Days Ago.

Posted 20 January 2010 - 12:38 AM

I've been searching in vein to find this fix, and seems to work, at least for me, and others who have tried it.For some reason, the core problem lies with the uiautomationcore.dll library in Windows 7. I can't speak for crash's in other OS versions, but from what I've read, its mostly with Win 7 (x64), where Vista and XP work fine.The trick is to use the Vista version of uiautomationcore.dll and place it into the Flight Simulator X folder. Some said that you have to register it, but just dropping it in the main directory where fsx.exe resides seems to work fine. Also, registering it is probably NOT a good idea, because it would then force any program running under Win 7 to use that Vista version, and may cause a crash of its own. You only want fsx.exe to use it exclusively.To my understanding, when an executable file is run, it will first look for any dll's locally in the same folder, then through its sub folders, then if it can't find it, the program will then look at the "system path" for it. In this case, the Vista version of uiautomationcore.dll would be in that local location, load that library, and ignore the Windows 7 version.Note that its very important to NOT delete or replace uiautomationcore.dll in the System folder.FYI, the Windows 7 version number of uiautomationcore.dll is 6.1.7600.16386 (733kb). The Vista version is 6.0.5840.16386 (155kb). Here's a link to the Vista uiautomationcore.dll DLL.Just to be sure I place the Vista verion in the Flight Simulator X folder, but temporary renamed it (*.dllx), and ran fsx until it crashed (almost a certainty). I then changed it back (*.dll), and of the half dozen times I've ran fsx, it hasn't crashed yet (see crossed fingers).Good luck, and hope this works for you.Bill

Help AVSIM continue to serve you!
Please donate today!

#2 Bill_KA350

Bill_KA350

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Members
  • 9 posts
  • Joined 5 Years, 6 Months and 27 Days Ago.

Posted 22 January 2010 - 11:18 PM

Update on 1/22. Flew for over 4 hours this evening, with many menu clicks, and no crash's.

#3 Kilo60

Kilo60

    Member

  • Members
  • 261 posts
  • Joined 5 Years, 2 Months and 12 Days Ago.

Posted 06 February 2010 - 09:42 AM

Would placing this .dll file in the FSX main folder also help with CTD's and Vista 64...I'm getting occasional random CTD's with my VISTA 64 system and FSX unfortunately.

Chris Camp


#4 andysim

andysim

    Andrew Simmons

  • Members
  • 757 posts
  • Joined 4 Years, 9 Months and 21 Days Ago.

Posted 20 March 2010 - 04:33 PM

After following the advice about the uiautomationcore.dll I can confirm its worked very well for me I just dropped the file into the FSX folder and that was that. I am not sure why but I also seem to have gained some FPS lol. Im flying the PMDG J41 at 26fps. Ive been flying around doing touch and goes for 2 hours and trying my hardest to get the sim to crash, I cant do it lol. Now bear im mine my PC is not all that fast I think thats really good and is all I need to fly stutter free. I cant wait for the PMDG 737NG now hehe.PS im using a vista 32 bit and nvidia card.
Andrew Simmons




Intel i7 950+Corsair H70.
6 Gig ram Kingston Hyperx 1600Mhz
ASUS GTX560 Ti (900mhz core/1800Shader/2100Memory)
1T Cavier Black HD + 1T Cavier Green for backup jobs.
Win7 64 Bit
Asus X58A-UD3R (Rev2)
OCZ 600w PSU




DA-20 Katana Diamond (Aerosoft)
A2A B377 (Captain of the Ship) Flightsim Labs ConcordeX.
TM Warthog/TIR5/REX2/ASE/Topcat/RadarContact4/FSX
PMDG MD-11/J41/Old737NG/747-400x /IFly737FSX/A2A Spitfire/A2A B-17 Accusim

#5 Inactive Member_jahman_***

Inactive Member_jahman_***
  • Guests
  • Joined 44 Years, 8 Months and 2 Days Ago.

Posted 24 March 2010 - 02:30 PM

After following the advice about the uiautomationcore.dll I can confirm its worked very well for me I just dropped the file into the FSX folder and that was that. I am not sure why but I also seem to have gained some FPS lol. Im flying the PMDG J41 at 26fps. Ive been flying around doing touch and goes for 2 hours and trying my hardest to get the sim to crash, I cant do it lol. Now bear im mine my PC is not all that fast I think thats really good and is all I need to fly stutter free. I cant wait for the PMDG 737NG now hehe.PS im using a vista 32 bit and nvidia card.

This is very odd!The uiautomationcore.dll bug is for 64-bit versions of uiautomationcore.dll found in 64-bit versions of Windows (Vista and 7, I don't know about XP) and the fix consists in getting FSX to use the 32-bit version of uiautomationcore.dll rather than the 64-bit one.But if you are already using Vista-32, then you are not using the 64-bit version of uiautomationcore.dll anyway, so dropping the file into your FSX directory would do nothing at all for you, except get you to use a different version of uiautomationcore.dll (could be an older one or a newer one.)Please help by posting information on the version of uiautomationcore.dll in your C:\WINDOWS\system32 vs. the version of the uiautomationcore.dll you placed in your FSX directory. (You can check the versions by right-clickinng on the file name with the mouse, then clicking on "Properties" and "File Version".)Thanks!- jahman.

#6 Inactive Member_jahman_***

Inactive Member_jahman_***
  • Guests
  • Joined 44 Years, 8 Months and 2 Days Ago.

Posted 24 March 2010 - 02:38 PM

For some reason, the core problem lies with the uiautomationcore.dll library in Windows 7. I can't speak for crash's in other OS versions, but from what I've read, its mostly with Win 7 (x64), where Vista and XP work fine.

Bill,My understanding was that the uiautomationcore.dll bug was with the 64-bit version of uiautomationcore.dll found in Vista and W7 (and perhaps also XP?) and that the fix was to replace the 64-bit version of uiautomationcore.dll with the 32-bit one.See: http://forums1.avsim...p;#entry1712856Cheers,- jahman.

#7 Tim_Capps

Tim_Capps

    Bearrister & Aviator

  • Members
  • 953 posts
  • Joined 5 Years, 3 Months and 8 Days Ago.

Posted 22 June 2010 - 11:37 PM

Brilliant solution to a very annoying problem. I don't know how someone figured this out, but I'm glad they did.

519l.jpg

 

Bicentennial Pilot: Captain Sim L1011, 737-200; Flight 1 / Coolsky DC-9

Class, Not Glass: 1976 and the NO SMOKING Light is OFF


#8 Inactive Member_firehawk44_***

Inactive Member_firehawk44_***
  • Guests
  • Joined 44 Years, 8 Months and 2 Days Ago.

Posted 27 June 2010 - 04:29 PM

Please help by posting information on the version of uiautomationcore.dll in your C:\WINDOWS\system32 vs. the version of the uiautomationcore.dll you placed in your FSX directory. (You can check the versions by right-clickinng on the file name with the mouse, then clicking on "Properties" and "File Version".)

I have never suffered this CTD and I have Win 7, 64 bit version installed as well as FSX/Acceleration.My Windows 7 version of the UIautomationCore.dll is 6.1.7600.16385 dated 7/13/2009 (this differs from the one posted above by Bill_KA350). I have the Windows 7 Home Premium Edition installed. It sits in my System32 folder.I do not have this .dll installed in any FSX directory.Best regards,Jim

#9 Inactive Member_bratonabike_***

Inactive Member_bratonabike_***
  • Guests
  • Joined 44 Years, 8 Months and 2 Days Ago.

Posted 10 July 2010 - 11:50 AM

Bill,My understanding was that the uiautomationcore.dll bug was with the 64-bit version of uiautomationcore.dll found in Vista and W7 (and perhaps also XP?) and that the fix was to replace the 64-bit version of uiautomationcore.dll with the 32-bit one.See: http://forums1.avsim...p;#entry1712856Cheers,- jahman.

but then if you switched the 64 bit dll with the 32 bit dll, what about the other things you want to run? (vegas pro 9 for example)

#10 HyperionXL

HyperionXL

    Member

  • Members
  • 179 posts
  • Joined 4 Years, 6 Months and 19 Days Ago.

Posted 02 August 2010 - 04:26 AM

Everytime I reinstall FSX, I have to look for this file. I vote this thread be pinned.

#11 mdcahslax

mdcahslax

    New Member

  • Inactive Members
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 3 Years, 7 Months and 17 Days Ago.

Posted 17 January 2011 - 12:17 PM

I have this exact same problem and i have windows 7. i have searched for the windows 7 .dll on the website with the windows vista .dll but cannot find it. could someone please direct me to it? Thank you so much

#12 Pablo30

Pablo30

    Member

  • Members
  • 54 posts
  • Joined 5 Years, 9 Months and 4 Days Ago.

Posted 18 January 2011 - 09:43 AM

Where is the FSX.exe located?

#13 Inactive Member_firehawk44_***

Inactive Member_firehawk44_***
  • Guests
  • Joined 44 Years, 8 Months and 2 Days Ago.

Posted 18 January 2011 - 04:49 PM

Where is the FSX.exe located?

Normally at C:/Program Files (x86)/Microsoft Games/Microsoft Flight Simulator X/fsx.exeBest regards,Jim

#14 FS737Pilot

FS737Pilot

    Member

  • Members
  • 437 posts
  • Joined 3 Years, 8 Months and 13 Days Ago.

Posted 31 July 2011 - 09:29 PM

Normally at C:/Program Files (x86)/Microsoft Games/Microsoft Flight Simulator X/fsx.exe Best regards,Jim

I've been searching in vein to find this fix, and seems to work, at least for me, and others who have tried it. For some reason, the core problem lies with the uiautomationcore.dll library in Windows 7. I can't speak for crash's in other OS versions, but from what I've read, its mostly with Win 7 (x64), where Vista and XP work fine. The trick is to use the Vista version of uiautomationcore.dll and place it into the Flight Simulator X folder. Some said that you have to register it, but just dropping it in the main directory where fsx.exe resides seems to work fine. Also, registering it is probably NOT a good idea, because it would then force any program running under Win 7 to use that Vista version, and may cause a crash of its own. You only want fsx.exe to use it exclusively. To my understanding, when an executable file is run, it will first look for any dll's locally in the same folder, then through its sub folders, then if it can't find it, the program will then look at the "system path" for it. In this case, the Vista version of uiautomationcore.dll would be in that local location, load that library, and ignore the Windows 7 version. Note that its very important to NOT delete or replace uiautomationcore.dll in the System folder. FYI, the Windows 7 version number of uiautomationcore.dll is 6.1.7600.16386 (733kb). The Vista version is 6.0.5840.16386 (155kb). Here's a link to the Vista uiautomationcore.dll DLL. Just to be sure I place the Vista verion in the Flight Simulator X folder, but temporary renamed it (*.dllx), and ran fsx until it crashed (almost a certainty). I then changed it back (*.dll), and of the half dozen times I've ran fsx, it hasn't crashed yet (see crossed fingers). Good luck, and hope this works for you. Bill

Do you literally just paste it into the list of things like "autogen" and "addon sceenery" in >Microsoft Flight Simulator X or is there something more to it than that? Someone said in another forum post about shift right clicking "open command prompt here"
Mitch Brown
Private Pilot | Aerospace Engineering Major

#15 Bill_KA350

Bill_KA350

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Members
  • 9 posts
  • Joined 5 Years, 6 Months and 27 Days Ago.

Posted 31 July 2011 - 10:33 PM

Do you literally just paste it into the list of things like "autogen" and "addon sceenery" in >Microsoft Flight Simulator X or is there something more to it than that? Someone said in another forum post about shift right clicking "open command prompt here"

If this file is not already in your Windows system folder, the UIAutomationCore.dll file would then be located under the core FSX folder (the same folder that fsx.exe is in). My suggestion is (if it already exists in FSX) to just rename the origional UIAutomationCore.dll file to something like UIAutomationCore.dll.orig, then copy the Vista version in the same folder. Remember, if this dll exists in your Windows system folder, do not delete, copy, or rename the existing UIAutomationCore.dll file.





   
Where Flight Simulation Enthusiasts Gather from Around the World!