Sign in to follow this  
bojote

TextureMaxLoad vs TEXTURE_MAX_LOAD

What is troubling to me is that when monitoring the GPU, I find that my GPU on average is only utilized 45 to 60%. When monitoring other games, I have found that the GPU is heavily utilized along with Video Memory. So, what is the cause of this?
I'll give my best shot at trying to answer the question...but first, you need to understand what 'user mode' is vs 'system' mode.. you also need to be aware that 'CPU' usage or GPU usage is based on counters... and having 100% CPU utilization is NO WAY to determine a particular component is being stressed out... My background is 100% in the UNIX world, I have a basic understanding of how 'windows' work, but, in essence, its exactly the same thing... the 'queue lenght' or command 'ring' buffers which are the 'buckets' where you 'send' commands are 'finite' if you saturate them, they get overwritten or can stall other components GPU/CPU, so CPU usage is NOT the best way to measure if it is being stressed... you need to take into account what is happening in system mode (at the kernel level) yes.. I know is probably more technical than most would like to hear (and the explanation is overly simplified), but I can't think of another way of explaining it that makes sense.... I you had a linux box and run the top command you'll probably understand what I'm trying to say.. in the UNIX world, the CPU usage is irrelevant... the single most important thing is load average and I/O wait they take into account EVERYTHING thats going on the system. Windows (or in this case) GPU monitoring tools (the ones you are looking at) simply show you how much of the CPU is being used, without taking into consideration factors like I/O or the time it takes for the GPU to fetch the data from the command buffer... so, the numbers you see for GPU usage, are unreliable. No other game (and I mean it) is able to stress the GPU more than FSX, you don't have any idea of the incredibly high n