Jump to content

  •  


   
Where Flight Simulation Enthusiasts Gather from Around the World!

HOT SPOTS:
 rarrow.gif The 2014 Demographic Survey! - NEW!

rarrow.gif What's new in the Library

rarrow.gif Member Blogs

rarrow.gif Member Reviews - Contribute a Review!
rarrow.gif Bargain Hunters Forum
rarrow.gif Classified, Want, Swap Ads

rarrow.gif AVSIM Team Speak System

rarrow.gif Video Library
rarrow.gif Image Gallery
rarrow.gif Community Links Library
rarrow.gif Tutorials

rarrow.gif FS9. FSX & P3D CTD Guide

rarrow.gif FSX / P3D Configuration Guide

rarrow.gif AVSIM Publications 



Simulation's Premier Resource!

AVSIM is a free service to the flight and simulation communities. Please help us keep it that way. Donate what you can today! Thank you for your support!











. . .
Photo

How to set AA in FS9 and FSX for Nvidia's 2xx.xx drivers (now with working Transparency AA!)


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
148 replies to this topic

#1 Tabs

Tabs

    PMDG Support

  • Commercial Member
  • 13,269 posts
  • Joined 12 Years, 5 Months and 12 Days Ago.

Posted 31 July 2010 - 02:44 PM

THREAD IS NOW SUPERSEDED BY VERSION 2.0 AVAILABLE HERE:http://forum.avsim.n...f-all-settings/EDIT: 12/16/2010Starting with 1.93, Nvidia Inspector adds all the functionality that used to be present in nHancer and now includes a GUI for editing profiles - no more cryptic feature names!Get the latest version here:http://blog.orbmu2k....-inspector-toolHere's how I have it set - same settings for both FS9 and FSX (I decided to switch to override mode in FSX vs. enhance soley because people reported issues using FSInn and other apps that run inside of FS when it was set to enhance) - the settings that are grayed out should be left alone, they're inherited down from the global profile, which should be left at its defaults so as to not mess up other games you may run besides FS.Just run Nvidia Inspector and edit the MS Flight Simulator X and/or FS9 profile to match the settings in bold shown here - there is no need to open the default Nvidia Control Panel and edit anything there like this post used to describe prior to version 1.93.Posted Image

Ryan Maziarz

Boeing777_Banner_DevTeam.jpg

For fastest support, please submit a ticket at http://support.precisionmanuals.com


Help AVSIM continue to serve you!
Please donate today!

#2 clum

clum

    Member

  • Members
  • 664 posts
  • Joined 5 Years, 6 Months and 22 Days Ago.

Posted 31 July 2010 - 03:06 PM

Great post Ryan. I've been holding off the new series of drivers until an updated nhancer is released, but with all this info in one place I might as well try them out now.Has anyone seen a noticeable improvement in fs9 with these? Undoubtedly I've seen improvements on my gaming machine in several games but i've left the 197.45's on my fs computer as I'm not really expecting any difference.
i7 2600k @ 5.1Ghz, ASUS Sabertooth P67, 8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600Mhz, EVGA GTX 580 @ 950MHz, OCZ Vertex II 240GB, ASUS Xonar DG, Thermaltake Toughpower XT 875W PSU, Antec KÜHLER 620 W/C, Corsair 600T SE White

My FS9 Screens - http://fs9screens.blogspot.com/

Callum Richardson

#3 Turbine777

Turbine777

    Member - 2,000+

  • Members
  • 2,947 posts
  • Joined 5 Years, 9 Months and 16 Days Ago.

Posted 31 July 2010 - 03:18 PM

Thanks for taking the time to put this together Ryan!
Posted Image

i7-920 3.80GHz ~ ASUS P6T6 WS Revolution ~ 12Gb Corsair 1600 DDR3 ~ EVGA GTX 480 ~ Win 7 Ultimate ~ FsX Gold

#4 Tabs

Tabs

    PMDG Support

  • Topic Starter
  • Commercial Member
  • 13,269 posts
  • Joined 12 Years, 5 Months and 12 Days Ago.

Posted 31 July 2010 - 03:36 PM

Great post Ryan. I've been holding off the new series of drivers until an updated nhancer is released, but with all this info in one place I might as well try them out now.Has anyone seen a noticeable improvement in fs9 with these? Undoubtedly I've seen improvements on my gaming machine in several games but i've left the 197.45's on my fs computer as I'm not really expecting any difference.

I think the idea of new drivers actually doing anything specific to improve performance in games that are so many years old like FS9 and FSX is pretty much placebo effect unless it relates to some kind of global optimization Nvidia did that speeds every game up. Both Nvidia and ATI publish the game-specific fixes/improvements in each driver in the release notes and it's been years since I've seen anything relating to FS in them.The big reason people like me update drivers is because I'm a gamer outside of FS too - for example there's bound to be a new driver release in the coming days or weeks that optimizes performance in Starcraft II, I was standing in line for that game at midnight this past week haha, so you can bet I want it to perform as well as it can.If all you use your system for is FS, then by all means stay on the 197.45 driver that still works with nHancer.

Ryan Maziarz

Boeing777_Banner_DevTeam.jpg

For fastest support, please submit a ticket at http://support.precisionmanuals.com


#5 Ioan92

Ioan92

    Member - 1,000+

  • Members
  • 1,377 posts
  • Joined 4 Years, 6 Months and 15 Days Ago.

Posted 31 July 2010 - 03:37 PM

It should however be mentioned that those with older cards can simply use 197.xx:)EDIT: Damn, beat me to it.
Posted ImagePosted Image

#6 N330DG

N330DG

    Member

  • Members
  • 398 posts
  • Joined 10 Years, 6 Months and 25 Days Ago.

Posted 31 July 2010 - 04:03 PM

Thanks a lot Ryan! I had to get a new graphics card, because my old one died yesterday and was quiet despaired because nHancer didn't work no more. Your solution works like a charm!
---------------------------
Blue Skies,

Gottfried
www.blueskyscenery.com

#7 dazz

dazz

    Member - 4,000+

  • Members
  • 4,941 posts
  • Joined 4 Years, 9 Months and 2 Days Ago.

Posted 31 July 2010 - 04:49 PM

Be advise that many of these AA modes listed here don't actually work or will cause strange issues. If you can run it, just stick to the 8xS one.)

did I get this right and you can't really get any more AA than 8xS to work properly in FSX?does this mean that people who claim SLI helps with increased levels of AA are not really seeing more AA?
Posted Image

#8 Tabs

Tabs

    PMDG Support

  • Topic Starter
  • Commercial Member
  • 13,269 posts
  • Joined 12 Years, 5 Months and 12 Days Ago.

Posted 31 July 2010 - 11:46 PM

did I get this right and you can't really get any more AA than 8xS to work properly in FSX?does this mean that people who claim SLI helps with increased levels of AA are not really seeing more AA?

No no, I'm just saying that SOME of the modes present in that list do not work correctly on all cards/configurations and can cause issues. That list includes what nHancer called "experimental" modes. Nvidia considers even 8xS to be one of these - it's not available in the driver control panel, you have to use one of these utilities to enable it. You're certainly free to try whatever you like, I don't think it can actually hurt anything, just that the sim may not actually run, you may see weird artifacts/issues etc. All of the standard modes that are present in the driver control panel will work for sure, but stuff outside of that may be up in the air depending on exactly what config you have.SLI doing higher AA levels absolutely is true - those modes become visible in the driver control panel when you have SLI.

Ryan Maziarz

Boeing777_Banner_DevTeam.jpg

For fastest support, please submit a ticket at http://support.precisionmanuals.com


#9 qnh

qnh

    Member

  • Members
  • 839 posts
  • Joined 11 Years, 7 Months and 12 Days Ago.

Posted 01 August 2010 - 12:58 AM

Thanks Ryan - works like a charm :)

Scott
Boeing777_Banner_Pilot.jpg


#10 dazz

dazz

    Member - 4,000+

  • Members
  • 4,941 posts
  • Joined 4 Years, 9 Months and 2 Days Ago.

Posted 01 August 2010 - 02:38 AM

Ok, thanks again Ryan. I wonder if those modes look that much better.BTW, has your new 460 arrived yet? I'd love to hear what you think of it. I know you play other games, but I'd like to know what you see in FSX with the 460 please, and if the massive OC those cards do helps at all in FSX

SLI doing higher AA levels absolutely is true - those modes become visible in the driver control panel when you have SLI.


Posted Image

#11 frank1223

frank1223

    Member

  • Members
  • 297 posts
  • Joined 5 Years, 1 Month and 8 Days Ago.

Posted 01 August 2010 - 03:20 AM

Hi RyanDo I select Anisotropic in FSX-DISPLAY or trilinear?
Frank Cao
Posted Image

#12 McCrash

McCrash

    Member - 2,000+

  • Members
  • 2,484 posts
  • Joined 10 Years, 11 Months and 28 Days Ago.

Posted 01 August 2010 - 06:51 AM

For FSX I am currently using:(AA box is UN-checked and Trilinear selected)a. Antialiasing - Behavior Flags: AA_BEHAVIOR_FLAGS_DISABLE_ENHANCEb. Antialiasing - Mode: AA_MODE_SELECTOR_OVERRIDEc. Antialiasing - Setting: AA_MODE_METHOD_MIXEDSAMPLE_32Xd. Antialiasing - Transparent Multisampling: 0x00000000e. Antialiasing - Transparent Supersampling: AA_MODE_REPLAY_TRANSPARENCY_DEFAULT

#13 trisager

trisager

    Member - 1,000+

  • Members
  • 1,753 posts
  • Joined 6 Years, 7 Months and 10 Days Ago.

Posted 01 August 2010 - 07:09 AM

Very useful, Ryan - thanks!
Tom Risager

NGX tutorial: http://library.avsim...ftp&DLID=162360
SIDs & STARs Worked Examples: LOWI-UUDD, KSEA-KLAX, EKCH-ENGM, YSCB-YPAD

#14 Heaven

Heaven

    Member

  • Members
  • 16 posts
  • Joined 5 Years, 2 Months and 5 Days Ago.

Posted 01 August 2010 - 08:52 AM

With AA_MODE_METHOD_MIXEDSAMPLE_8X i have smooth edges but the image it`s very blurry. :(Ex:Using nvidia default settings: (Use my preference emphasizing: Quality)Posted ImageUsing Tabs settings with AA_MODE_METHOD_MIXEDSAMPLE_8XPosted ImageUsing Tabs setting with AA_MODE_METHOD_MIXEDSAMPLE_8X_SKEWED_8TAPPosted Image
Posted Image

| AMD Athlon 64 X2 5600+ Windsor 2.8GHz | Gigabyte M52S-S3P v1 | GForce 8600GT 512MB | 3 GB DDR2 @ 800Mhz | 320 GB HDD | DELL U2311H 23″ | WinXp sp3 x86 |

#15 dazz

dazz

    Member - 4,000+

  • Members
  • 4,941 posts
  • Joined 4 Years, 9 Months and 2 Days Ago.

Posted 01 August 2010 - 01:32 PM

Ryan? :(

has your new 460 arrived yet? I'd love to hear what you think of it. I know you play other games, but I'd like to know what you see in FSX with the 460 please, and if the massive OC those cards do helps at all in FSX


Posted Image