I don't know about other games, all I'm doing is sharing my experience in FSX cause actually I don't know much about hardware in general, but I've had a P2 x4 965@ 3.7GHz, then the 1090T @ 4 and finally this I5 750the x4 is the same thing as the x6, but the x6 are hexas (I'm sure you know that) and overclock a bit better. The 965 performance was almost the same as the 1090T (see dez's comment) so by all means, if you want to go with AMD for some reason, pick the 955 (there's a 95W version now that will overclock great)Again, I think that FOR FSX the I3 will be the best bang for the buck by far, and will definitely outperform any AMD chip, but if you want a quad no matter what, I think for the price difference, the I5 7xx is still a much better choice than a Phenom II x4 955.

Thanks, I have been a long time AMD builder but am seriously considering the dark side.What about the Phenom II X4 (on the lower end, cost/benefit)? Tom's hardware had a fairly convincing write-up (vs. i3-540) linked to by Bangoman.
In a lot of gaming situations, a higher clocked quad is more use than a slower clocked 6/4 core, so it really depends on the game.

I don't know about other games, all I'm doing is sharing my experience in FSX cause actually I don't know much about hardware in general, but I've had a P2 x4 965@ 3.7GHz, then the 1090T @ 4 and finally this I5 750the x4 is the same thing as the x6, but the x6 are hexas (I'm sure you know that) and overclock a bit better. The 965 performance was almost the same as the 1090T (see dez's comment) so by all means, if you want to go with AMD for some reason, pick the 955 (there's a 95W version now that will overclock great)Again, I think that FOR FSX the I3 will be the best bang for the buck by far, and will definitely outperform any AMD chip, but if you want a quad no matter what, I think for the price difference, the I5 7xx is still a much better choice than a Phenom II x4 955.
Thanks again Dario, I think I will go the i3 route.