Jump to content




Where Flight Simulation Enthusiasts Gather from Around the World!




Simulation's Premier Resource!

AVSIM is a free service to the flight and simulation communities. Please help us keep it that way. Donate what you can today! Thank you for your support!



Follow Us!


IMPORTANT: In order to use the new library, which we will bring online no later than the end of May, you will need to be a registered user of AVSIM. Please register on AVSIM today. Your existing library registration will NOT WORK when the new library comes online!

There are currently 877 of your fellow community members in the forums and elsewhere on AVSIM!

Scam: FlightProSim and ProFlightSimulator


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 MdMax

MdMax

    Member

  • Members
  • 645 posts
  • Local time: 04:28 PM
  • 0 reviews
  • 43 topics
  • Joined 25-September 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France
  • Interests:X-Plane
    FlightGear
    FS2004

Posted 06 December 2010 - 10:27 AM

Hello !As many people will be aware, there is a (self described) "new" flight simulator product that is being widely and actively marketed at the moment under various names - Flight Pro Sim, Pro Flight Simulator, etc. These "new" simulators are simply a rebranding of the FlightGear open-source flight simulator. However, the marketing tactics of the Flight Pro Sim guys have caused more than a bit of confusion with end users. To help provide some clarity and answer some common questions, we (the core FlightGear development team) felt it was appropriate to make a statement, and provide a FAQ.Read more about this here:http://www.flightgear.org/flightprosim.htmlPosted ImageBest regards and happy flying !  :(

Help AVSIM continue to serve you!
Please donate today!

#2 MdMax

MdMax

    Member

  • Members
  • 645 posts
  • Local time: 04:28 PM
  • 0 reviews
  • 43 topics
  • Joined 25-September 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France
  • Interests:X-Plane
    FlightGear
    FS2004

Posted 07 December 2010 - 07:36 AM

Different name, same scam ! Now you can also find "Earth Flight Sim" on EarthFlightSim.com.What will be their next name ?  :( FlightGear is free software distributed under the GNU General Public License and you can find it here for free:http://www.flightgear.org/

#3 dennypayne

dennypayne

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 3 posts
  • Local time: 08:28 AM
  • 0 reviews
  • 0 topics
  • Joined 03-April 11

Posted 03 February 2012 - 05:50 PM

View PostMdMax, on 07 December 2010 - 07:36 AM, said:

What will be their next name ?  http://static.avsim....efault/wink.gifFlightGear is free software distributed under the GNU General Public License and you can find it here for free:http://www.flightgear.org/
Apparently it's Flight Simulator Plus.  I saw an ad on Facebook for it, and when I googled it, they have obviously seeded tons of favorable "reviews" and trumped up their Google ranking by doing so.  There was no mention of the name here on Avsim though, so it took me a while to figure out that it's just a scam.

#4 gsagostinho

gsagostinho

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 2 posts
  • Local time: 03:28 PM
  • 0 reviews
  • 1 topics
  • Joined 09-February 12

Posted 09 February 2012 - 12:54 PM

I just found a new website from these guys. This whole thing is just disgusting... have a look at this quotation: "However Microsoft FSX came out in 2006 and is now a bit outdated. I was looking for a newer and better Flight Sim, where i would not have to pay for each addon and extra aircraft. My friend intoduced me to Pro Flight Simulator, which is a new Flight Sim based on an open source software. It offers so much more than Microsofts FSX. Read on to see the facts, why this is my best Flight simulation game for 2012." - remember that Flight Gear was released in 1996!The full text can be found here: http://www.squidoo.c...simulator-gamesSeriously, this is just awful. After you read the whole thing, you will find some "comments" below the page, of people saying "interesting! I'll give it a try". All those profiles are fake or also advertise the same scam.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users