Sign in to follow this  
Matt00

Realistic Drag during Flight?

Hello all future NGX owners ;)In the old 737 I was always wondering how the drag works. My experience is that if the speedbrakes are extended the plane only decelerates very slow, also when using a low vertical speed. Is this an realistic behaviour or was this a not perfect realization of the speed brake function in the old bird?So, I would like to know how the NGX behaviour is in the case speedbrakes are extended? Does it react realistic? And what is realistic? Does the speed decreases faster or slower when speedbrakes are extended? In my opinion the break efficiency is too low but I am not a real pilot so please apologize if I am wrong ;)Is my objection legitimate or am I just a bad pilot?

I thought the speed was supposed to decrease quicker with speebrakes deployed and engines at idle. But what do I know? I'm just an aspiring pilot. And realistically, the speedbrakes on the NGX should be as realistic as it gets with PMDG...

Kenny Lee
"Keep climbing"
pmdg_trijet.jpg

The word "speedbrakes" might be a little misleading when it comes to the Boeing 737NG series. If you deploy them below 10.000 feet you won't see the effect at all.... So if you want to slow down you better do it above 10.000. And even up there you just feel a little turbolense and a weak noise (and only a very small amount of slowing the aircraft down) - they simply do not provide the amazing brake experience some flight simmers are expecting. (Not pointing my fingers at anyone!)Where I fly, we have a word for the speedbrake handle.. Just don't remember what it is Batting%20Eyelashes.gifEDIT: Don't get me wrong. They DO work. Just not as much as someone would expect :(