Jump to content

  •  


   
Where Flight Simulation Enthusiasts Gather from Around the World!

HOT SPOTS:
 rarrow.gif The 2014 Demographic Survey! - NEW!

rarrow.gif What's new in the Library

rarrow.gif Member Blogs

rarrow.gif Member Reviews - Contribute a Review!
rarrow.gif Bargain Hunters Forum
rarrow.gif Classified, Want, Swap Ads

rarrow.gif AVSIM Team Speak System

rarrow.gif Video Library
rarrow.gif Image Gallery
rarrow.gif Community Links Library
rarrow.gif Tutorials

rarrow.gif FS9. FSX & P3D CTD Guide

rarrow.gif FSX / P3D Configuration Guide

rarrow.gif AVSIM Publications 



Simulation's Premier Resource!

AVSIM is a free service to the flight and simulation communities. Please help us keep it that way. Donate what you can today! Thank you for your support!











. . .
Photo
- - - - -

Nvidia FXAA Injector


  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 tangerine

tangerine

    Member

  • Members
  • 123 posts
  • Joined 10 Years, 9 Months and 29 Days Ago.

Posted 22 August 2011 - 12:58 PM

Hello there my friends...anyways i was searching the web for some tools for my Nvidia, and found out this new AA method http://www.forum-3dc...ad.php?t=510658 It's pretty well know on guru3d and such...tried it on FSX and worked perfectly, so maybe you can give it a chance. You can even use ENB Series http://www.forum-3dc...ad.php?t=512678 I don't understand a thing of German...but Google Chrome helped me with it. Give it a try and you will see what im talking about... using less AA and getting almost the same quality look of those higher AA settings.

Help AVSIM continue to serve you!
Please donate today!

#2 marwanhamed

marwanhamed

    Member

  • Members
  • 16 posts
  • Joined 4 Years, 4 Months and 14 Days Ago.

Posted 22 August 2011 - 01:20 PM

can you please elaborate on how to use it with ENB?i didn;t quiet get the translation, but it seems it uses it's own module apart from the ENB one

#3 paulnd

paulnd

    Member

  • Members
  • 74 posts
  • Joined 8 Years, 10 Months and 25 Days Ago.

Posted 22 August 2011 - 02:31 PM

I also discovered FXAA in the last few days and have used this injecter version with FSX which has similar processing effects as the ENB series http://www.assembla....ject/documents# This AA method is still in beta but could be promising
Paul Dumke

#4 Kosta

Kosta

    Member - 8,000+

  • Members
  • 9,086 posts
  • Joined 11 Years and 23 Days Ago.

Posted 22 August 2011 - 04:31 PM

It's pretty well know on guru3d and such...tried it on FSX and worked perfectly, so maybe you can give it a chance.

So what did you do exactly to make it work on FSX? And which files did you install?

#5 Lenny

Lenny

    Member

  • Members
  • 150 posts
  • Joined 9 Years, 8 Months and 3 Days Ago.

Posted 23 August 2011 - 03:25 AM

I downloaded the latest version. The instructions mention to place the files in your FSX main folder. (folder where .exe file is)After that, not sure how to proceed. Currently I have my GPU settings through nHancer.Should I disable my 8xSQ settings and force them to FXAA? tia

Lennart

Banner_MJC11.png


#6 AlexMD11

AlexMD11

    Member

  • Members
  • 172 posts
  • Joined 6 Years, 8 Months and 19 Days Ago.

Posted 23 August 2011 - 11:33 AM

I am also wondering how to get this to work! It all sounds pretty nice.
Best regards,

Alexander Rietveld

#7 Capt Lalle

Capt Lalle

    Member

  • Members
  • 165 posts
  • Joined 7 Years, 11 Months and 21 Days Ago.

Posted 24 August 2011 - 03:33 PM

Can somebody pls explain in detail how FXAA works in FSX and how to setup Nvidia Inspector?Some comparison shoots concerning IQ would also be appreciated.
Regards,
Mats Weinberger

#8 JimmiG

JimmiG

    Member - 3,000+

  • Members
  • 3,582 posts
  • Joined 12 Years, 5 Months and 26 Days Ago.

Posted 29 August 2011 - 05:02 AM

More info on FXAA:http://www.hardocp.c...ing_technology/ It should be faster than the current method of using supersampling to fix shimmering autogen trees. Going to try this later today. It hooks to d3d.dll just like ENBseries, so it's just a matter of plonking all the files into your FSX folder and it will load automagically. There doesn't seem to be a proxy library feature, so it can't be combined with other utilities that also use d3d.dll, such as Antilag. However, it should be possible to use together with ENB Series, if you load ENB first and then call the FXAA injector dll from the [PROXY] section of your enbseries.ini file. In that case, you probably want to disable Bloom and the other post-processing effects in the injFX_Settings.h of FXAA injector so they don't conflict. FXAA injector currently supports Bloom, but HDR is not yet implemented. If you're using Nvidia Inspector, you need to edit your FSX profile.You should disable FSAA completely, so set Antialiasing Mode and Setting to Application-controlled and disable FSAA in FSX.

#9 paulnd

paulnd

    Member

  • Members
  • 74 posts
  • Joined 8 Years, 10 Months and 25 Days Ago.

Posted 29 August 2011 - 05:35 AM

Here's a screen shot (not mine) of how to setup NV Inspector: http://i265.photobuc.../globalfxaa.png original post http://forums.steamp....php?p=22935488
Paul Dumke

#10 vgbaron

vgbaron

    Member - 2,000+

  • Members
  • 2,817 posts
  • Joined 12 Years, 5 Months and 5 Days Ago.

Posted 29 August 2011 - 12:25 PM

Have I missed something here? In reading about FXAA it appears that it must be included in the title - meaning the product has to be programmed to accept the settings. FSX does not have this capability so other than wishful thinking, I do not see how this can affect FSX one way or the other. How can you turn "on" a switch that is not there in the first place. As I said, have I missed something obvious? Vic

#11 dazz

dazz

    Member - 4,000+

  • Members
  • 4,947 posts
  • Joined 4 Years, 9 Months and 13 Days Ago.

Posted 29 August 2011 - 11:25 PM

Gracias Tangerine :) Great find It works for sure. I can clearly see how much blurrier everything is, there is zero shimmering, but it's too blurry to read the displays in the NGX (4096 textures), even worse in the MD-11Performance hit seems to be nonexistant also. I think it's a matter of trying different settingsLooks promising to me
Posted Image

#12 JimmiG

JimmiG

    Member - 3,000+

  • Members
  • 3,582 posts
  • Joined 12 Years, 5 Months and 26 Days Ago.

Posted 02 September 2011 - 06:49 PM

Have I missed something here? In reading about FXAA it appears that it must be included in the title - meaning the product has to be programmed to accept the settings. FSX does not have this capability so other than wishful thinking, I do not see how this can affect FSX one way or the other. How can you turn "on" a switch that is not there in the first place. As I said, have I missed something obvious? Vic

That's what the modified d3d9.dll file that comes with the tool does - it not only flicks the switch, it *is* the switch :) FXAA is a full-screen post-processing effect. Since it's inserted as a post-processing effect, no significant re-write of the 3D engine is required. The effect can simply be "injected" at the end of the rendering pipeline just like ENB Series does with its HDR effects. It's not so different from applying a series of filters in Photoshop to an FSX screenshot, only it's done by your graphics card on every frame, before it's sent to the monitor. Finally had the chance to play around with it today. It definitely works. It makes everything very sharp without causing much aliasing. I think I'll maybe reduce the sharpening effect a notch or too, because it was almost too much. The bloom effect is not as pronounced as the one in ENB Series, and HDR is not yet functional. Might look into combining it with ENB Series using the proxy library feature.

#13 vgbaron

vgbaron

    Member - 2,000+

  • Members
  • 2,817 posts
  • Joined 12 Years, 5 Months and 5 Days Ago.

Posted 02 September 2011 - 07:14 PM

Jimmi - Thanx for the explanation. Now it makes sense. Vic

#14 Wynthorpe

Wynthorpe

    Member

  • Members
  • 546 posts
  • Joined 5 Years, 7 Months and 12 Days Ago.

Posted 03 September 2011 - 10:19 AM

This seems really promising, just the problem of blurring textures in the NGX and also not enough AA for my liking, but if it gets improved it will be awesome.

Simon Roberts

 

 


#15 Wynthorpe

Wynthorpe

    Member

  • Members
  • 546 posts
  • Joined 5 Years, 7 Months and 12 Days Ago.

Posted 04 September 2011 - 03:34 AM

Just been reading Timothy Lottes blog (the guy from Nvidia who came up with this) and hopefully AF and more AA will be able to be added in his net version.

Simon Roberts

 

 






   
Where Flight Simulation Enthusiasts Gather from Around the World!