Jump to content

  •  


   
Where Flight Simulation Enthusiasts Gather from Around the World!

HOT SPOTS:
 rarrow.gif The 2014 Demographic Survey! - NEW!

rarrow.gif What's new in the Library

rarrow.gif Member Blogs

rarrow.gif Member Reviews - Contribute a Review!
rarrow.gif Bargain Hunters Forum
rarrow.gif Classified, Want, Swap Ads

rarrow.gif AVSIM Team Speak System

rarrow.gif Video Library
rarrow.gif Image Gallery
rarrow.gif Community Links Library
rarrow.gif Tutorials

rarrow.gif FS9. FSX & P3D CTD Guide

rarrow.gif FSX / P3D Configuration Guide

rarrow.gif AVSIM Publications 



Simulation's Premier Resource!

AVSIM is a free service to the flight and simulation communities. Please help us keep it that way. Donate what you can today! Thank you for your support!











. . .
Photo

Flight Planner for PMDG


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 THibben

THibben

    Member

  • Members
  • 326 posts
  • Joined 12 Years, 5 Months and 15 Days Ago.

Posted 21 December 2011 - 07:03 PM

Please, I need help. I have FSBuild updated to the latest version and I can't load an IFR flight plan into PMDG 737NGX. Is there any flight planner out there that will do the job?Thanks,Tom Hibben

Help AVSIM continue to serve you!
Please donate today!

#2 NM5K

NM5K

    Member

  • Members
  • 570 posts
  • Joined 10 Years and 13 Days Ago.

Posted 21 December 2011 - 07:11 PM

I was under the impression that after SP1b, you were not supposed to do this. ??But.. that you can build the plan in the FMC, and then save it for future use.Or to put it another way, you were only supposed to use saved plans made inthe FMC, due to some problems that were occurring with ones from 3rd partyplanning programs. I'm sure others that know will chime in.
Mark Keith

#3 wanabflyer

wanabflyer

    Member - 1,000+

  • Members
  • 1,909 posts
  • Joined 3 Years, 10 Months and 7 Days Ago.

Posted 21 December 2011 - 07:15 PM

Please, I need help.I have FSBuild updated to the latest version and I can't load an IFR flight plan into PMDG 737NGX. Is there any flight planner out there that will do the job?Thanks,Tom Hibben

You should have no problem at all loading a flight plan into the NGX. FSBUILD is an exellent flight planner. Did you follow all of the set up steps outlined in the manual as far as the file paths and export preferences?

Rick Hobbs

Boeing777_Banner_Pilot.jpg

 


#4 wanabflyer

wanabflyer

    Member - 1,000+

  • Members
  • 1,909 posts
  • Joined 3 Years, 10 Months and 7 Days Ago.

Posted 21 December 2011 - 07:26 PM

I was under the impression that after SP1b, you were not supposed to do this. ??But.. that you can build the plan in the FMC, and then save it for future use.Or to put it another way, you were only supposed to use saved plans made inthe FMC, due to some problems that were occurring with ones from 3rd partyplanning programs. I'm sure others that know will chime in.

This is in reference to the SIDS and STARS. I still build my flight plans from A to B but clearing the SIDS, STARS & Runways boxes, leaving this part for manual entry into the FMC when i know my departure runway after which comes the SID and then the star which you can also do before you take off, if you are not using ATC and just want to fly your own flight. Similar to the Tutorial1.Regards,

Rick Hobbs

Boeing777_Banner_Pilot.jpg

 


#5 THibben

THibben

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Members
  • 326 posts
  • Joined 12 Years, 5 Months and 15 Days Ago.

Posted 21 December 2011 - 10:28 PM

Hi Rick,Thanks for the reply. I did create a plan using the FMC. I am also using REX and the downloaded weather which had rain and a 500ft ceiling. When I got to the runway and asked for T/O clearance it was denied because I wasn't cleared for IFR. I have tried using FSBuild, as you described, but it won't load into PMDG flight plans/NG. It says it downloaded my plan but I don't have a clue where. I guess I could just takeoff and ignore ATC.Any thoughts appreciated. Thanks for the help.Tom Hibben

#6 wanabflyer

wanabflyer

    Member - 1,000+

  • Members
  • 1,909 posts
  • Joined 3 Years, 10 Months and 7 Days Ago.

Posted 21 December 2011 - 11:36 PM

Hi Rick,Thanks for the reply. I did create a plan using the FMC. I am also using REX and the downloaded weather which had rain and a 500ft ceiling. When I got to the runway and asked for T/O clearance it was denied because I wasn't cleared for IFR. I have tried using FSBuild, as you described, but it won't load into PMDG flight plans/NG. It says it downloaded my plan but I don't have a clue where. I guess I could just takeoff and ignore ATC.Any thoughts appreciated. Thanks for the help.Tom Hibben

Just to be clear on what is actually happening. When you enter the name of your flight plan you created in FSBUILD into your scratch pad ( like for instance: KSFOKPDX), does the FMC not accept the COROUTE ?

Rick Hobbs

Boeing777_Banner_Pilot.jpg

 


#7 THibben

THibben

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Members
  • 326 posts
  • Joined 12 Years, 5 Months and 15 Days Ago.

Posted 22 December 2011 - 12:12 AM

Hi Rick,That is correct it does not accept it. The plan also does not show in the FSXPMDGFLIGHTPLANSNG file.I have tried several more times with FSBuild and still nothing.Thanks again,Tom Hibben

#8 opherben

opherben

    Member

  • Members
  • 310 posts
  • Joined 11 Years and 4 Days Ago.

Posted 22 December 2011 - 12:12 AM

Works like a charm as it always did. Ensure the PMDG flightplan folder path is correct. If not, it will issue a warning after BUILD. SIDs and STARs can be avoided in the plan by checking the relevant preference.STARS are often entered during cockpit preparation, even for very long flights. STAR selection is based on destination airport routine, known weather trends and forecast
Regards, Opher Ben Peretz
Posted Image

#9 wanabflyer

wanabflyer

    Member - 1,000+

  • Members
  • 1,909 posts
  • Joined 3 Years, 10 Months and 7 Days Ago.

Posted 22 December 2011 - 04:32 PM

Hi Rick,That is correct it does not accept it. The plan also does not show in the FSXPMDGFLIGHTPLANSNG file.I have tried several more times with FSBuild and still nothing.Thanks again,Tom Hibben

Hi Tom. Just a few more questions:1) In the "Options folder", is the path to your PMDG flight plans correct: E:Flight Simulator XPMDGFlight Plans. (E is my drive)2) In the "Settings" tab in Options, is the PMDG737 box checked?3) in this same dialog, did you hit the "SAVE CONFIG OPTIONS" button when finished?4) In the "EXPORT" menu at the top, is PMDG737/747/MD11/J41 (MSFS) checked?Are you familiar with FSBUILD? If not, the mistake i made when first setting up FSBUILD was not exiting it and then restarting it after first time set up.If you've done everything right and it still doesn't work, then Ernie Alston over at the support forum is really helpful.

Rick Hobbs

Boeing777_Banner_Pilot.jpg

 


#10 THibben

THibben

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Members
  • 326 posts
  • Joined 12 Years, 5 Months and 15 Days Ago.

Posted 22 December 2011 - 05:34 PM

Hi Rick,I had done all you suggested EXCEPT check the PMDG 737. For whatever reason I didn't catch the drop down tab. Can I blame it on "old age"?...grinWe must think in the same area as I have also installed to E: FSX..... I have not tried another build yet but I am sure you found the problem.Thanks for you kind support and hope you have a Joyous Christmas and a Happy New Year.Tom Hibben

#11 wanabflyer

wanabflyer

    Member - 1,000+

  • Members
  • 1,909 posts
  • Joined 3 Years, 10 Months and 7 Days Ago.

Posted 22 December 2011 - 05:48 PM

Hi Rick,I had done all you suggested EXCEPT check the PMDG 737. For whatever reason I didn't catch the drop down tab. Can I blame it on "old age"?...grinWe must think in the same area as I have also installed to E: FSX..... I have not tried another build yet but I am sure you found the problem.Thanks for you kind support and hope you have a Joyous Christmas and a Happy New Year.Tom Hibben

I hope that does it for you Tom. (Please let me know some time) Merry Christmas and a happy New Year to you too.

Rick Hobbs

Boeing777_Banner_Pilot.jpg

 


#12 THibben

THibben

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Members
  • 326 posts
  • Joined 12 Years, 5 Months and 15 Days Ago.

Posted 22 December 2011 - 06:34 PM

Hi Rick,I just did a build and the .rte file is in my PMDG Flight plans folder. I had to copy it over into the NGX folder.SUCCESS!!! Thanks again,Tom

#13 wanabflyer

wanabflyer

    Member - 1,000+

  • Members
  • 1,909 posts
  • Joined 3 Years, 10 Months and 7 Days Ago.

Posted 22 December 2011 - 11:40 PM

Glad to have helped. Happy flying,

Rick Hobbs

Boeing777_Banner_Pilot.jpg

 


#14 OzWhitey

OzWhitey

    Member

  • Members
  • 741 posts
  • Joined 3 Years, 10 Months and 14 Days Ago.

Posted 23 December 2011 - 12:40 AM

Tom, you should be fine to leave it in the default pmdg folder where fsbuild creates it. Ngx is clever enough to look both there and the ngx subfolder for coroutes.
Rob Whitehead
Home: YPPD, in Australia's great northwest
"The ultimate responsibility of the pilot is to fulfill the dreams of the countless millions of earthbound ancestors who could only stare skyward and wish."

#15 anthonyrees

anthonyrees

    Member

  • Members
  • 163 posts
  • Joined 9 Years, 1 Month and 23 Days Ago.

Posted 23 December 2011 - 04:26 AM

I wish PMDG would spend some time and capital on a simple FS Navigator styled addon (drag and drop), which we could visually build routes and export them to the various flight management systems of the aircraft they produce.In it, we could set up our SIDS / STARS / WAYPOINTS etc from TOGO to touchdown, then export as a comapny route.FSNav was one of FS2004's greatest addons and died with FSX.Please could PMDG explore this idea and action it to simply things a bit?RegardsAnthony ReesCape TownSouth Africa





   
Where Flight Simulation Enthusiasts Gather from Around the World!