Jump to content

  •  


   
Where Flight Simulation Enthusiasts Gather from Around the World!

HOT SPOTS:
 rarrow.gif The 2014 Demographic Survey! - NEW!

rarrow.gif What's new in the Library

rarrow.gif Member Blogs

rarrow.gif Member Reviews - Contribute a Review!
rarrow.gif Bargain Hunters Forum
rarrow.gif Classified, Want, Swap Ads

rarrow.gif AVSIM Team Speak System

rarrow.gif Video Library
rarrow.gif Image Gallery
rarrow.gif Community Links Library
rarrow.gif Tutorials

rarrow.gif FS9. FSX & P3D CTD Guide

rarrow.gif FSX / P3D Configuration Guide

rarrow.gif AVSIM Publications 



Simulation's Premier Resource!

AVSIM is a free service to the flight and simulation communities. Please help us keep it that way. Donate what you can today! Thank you for your support!











. . .
Photo
- - - - -

FSrealWX lite - it keeps it's promises


  • Please log in to reply
96 replies to this topic

#1 adr179

adr179

    Member

  • Members
  • 142 posts
  • Joined 8 Years, 6 Months and 19 Days Ago.

Posted 16 February 2012 - 02:33 AM

I somehow always hated multipurpose software-for various reasons. So if you are looking for a weather importing software that won't chew up into your resources and will perform the task it was written for, then you may consider this little programmehttp://www.hanse-cod...?page=self&id=1I'm using it for a couple of months now and all I can say is am extremely happy with it. It does exactlly what it promises and does it 100%. My PC doesn't even know it's running and my FS X weather is rock-solid interpretation of METAR's that were downloaded and inserted into the sim. Oh, not to forget - it's free!

Help AVSIM continue to serve you!
Please donate today!

#2 mjrhealth

mjrhealth

    Member

  • Members
  • 672 posts
  • Joined 7 Years, 5 Months and 7 Days Ago.

Posted 16 February 2012 - 03:24 AM

Yes I have being using it for a year or so now, best freeware weather engine around ,really makes a difference and always improving, nice he got rid of the gltching when loading. Love it,

#3 Superpilotv2

Superpilotv2

    Member - 2,000+

  • Members
  • 2,981 posts
  • Joined 3 Years, 10 Months and 6 Days Ago.

Posted 16 February 2012 - 07:03 AM

Yeah, I´m using that too for a long time now. I got it as an replacement for Open Clouds which was also an freeware weather engine but after the dev made it payware I started to use FSrealWX Lite. It does what it should and paired with HDEv2 and the NGX flying is just perfect. The only thing I have on the negative side is that my sim shutters when the new weather is loaded but as soon as it´s done, everything is smooth again. And sometimes there are very rapid wind changes, esspecially anoying when on final approach (Open Clouds had an feature to prevent any weather changing when below a certain height, 3000ft or something else). But besides of that it´s perfect.

#4 SQUAWKIDENT

SQUAWKIDENT

    Member

  • Members
  • 848 posts
  • Joined 10 Years, 9 Months and 10 Days Ago.

Posted 16 February 2012 - 07:32 AM

+1 super program.Gives me a more realistic lasting overcast and accurate winds than ASE. Also not a resource hog. Tried them both - sticking with FSrealWX

#5 adr179

adr179

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Members
  • 142 posts
  • Joined 8 Years, 6 Months and 19 Days Ago.

Posted 16 February 2012 - 08:49 AM

@Superpilotv2FSrealWXlite has it's own wind control(not to be mixed with the FSUIPC's), so even if you don't have FSUIPC, there's an option that prevents wild wind variations. Make sure you have "Direct wind control" activated, found under options.

#6 Superpilotv2

Superpilotv2

    Member - 2,000+

  • Members
  • 2,981 posts
  • Joined 3 Years, 10 Months and 6 Days Ago.

Posted 16 February 2012 - 09:23 AM

Thst´s allready checked. But I had only one issue like that. Approching with the NGX in Reno and 30 kts crossind till about 1000ft above AGL. Then the wind chnaged to 5 kts in less then a second.

#7 adr179

adr179

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Members
  • 142 posts
  • Joined 8 Years, 6 Months and 19 Days Ago.

Posted 16 February 2012 - 09:39 AM

Somehow we all keep forgetting - this utility does import WX into FS. So if weather report is somehow "strange" in a way, maybe wrong coded, maybe partially downloaded or something like that, then results can be weird. But still puzzles me, why it wasn't smoothed out, even if on one occasion only. Overloaded hardware resources can also produce hickupps.

#8 Sekstifire

Sekstifire

    Member

  • Members
  • 978 posts
  • Joined 3 Years, 3 Months and 3 Days Ago.

Posted 16 February 2012 - 09:54 AM

The hiccups happen when the weather is injected into FSX's weather stations. The hiccups happens for the entire duration of the update. Its quite annoying, but hey, its a free program.

#9 PIC007

PIC007

    Member - 1,000+

  • Members
  • 1,939 posts
  • Joined 4 Years, 2 Months and 14 Days Ago.

Posted 16 February 2012 - 10:59 AM

To minimize the weather 'injections' just change the update interval in the Options. I also check 'No weather update in approach', and set Weather position to 100 miles and 'Only from Ahead' which minimizes loading as well. There are lots of options for a free program, it's all I use anymore.

#10 N1G

N1G

    Member - 1,000+

  • Members
  • 1,707 posts
  • Joined 3 Years, 9 Months and 4 Days Ago.

Posted 16 February 2012 - 12:17 PM

HiDoes this program allow for running itself on a client to inject the weather?ThanksBob

#11 mad dog

mad dog

    Member - 4,000+

  • Donor
  • 4,676 posts
  • Joined 9 Years, 8 Months and 25 Days Ago.

Donator

Posted 16 February 2012 - 12:19 PM

HiDoes this program allow for running itself on a client to inject the weather?ThanksBob

HelloYes

#12 N1G

N1G

    Member - 1,000+

  • Members
  • 1,707 posts
  • Joined 3 Years, 9 Months and 4 Days Ago.

Posted 16 February 2012 - 12:41 PM

HelloYes

Great I will check this out. Thanks mad dog.Bpb

#13 ryanbatcund

ryanbatcund

    Member - 8,000+

  • Members
  • 9,922 posts
  • Joined 7 Years, 10 Months and 27 Days Ago.

Posted 16 February 2012 - 01:42 PM

Does this fix that low level fog layer we get in FSX? You know the layer just above the airport where you can see through to the fence?

#14 MindYerBeak

MindYerBeak

    Member - 1,000+

  • Members
  • 1,427 posts
  • Joined 9 Years, 2 Months and 8 Days Ago.

Posted 16 February 2012 - 02:22 PM

It's strange I have both rex and as21012 but this free program here gives a better representation of overcast .At least this is the impression I got !

Edited by MindYerBeak, 16 February 2012 - 02:41 PM.


#15 Sekstifire

Sekstifire

    Member

  • Members
  • 978 posts
  • Joined 3 Years, 3 Months and 3 Days Ago.

Posted 16 February 2012 - 02:34 PM

Does this fix that low level fog layer we get in FSX? You know the layer just above the airport where you can see through to the fence?

Nah, not as far as I can see. We still get the layer of haze with this one.



   
Where Flight Simulation Enthusiasts Gather from Around the World!