Jump to content

  •  


   
Where Flight Simulation Enthusiasts Gather from Around the World!

HOT SPOTS:
 rarrow.gif The 2014 Demographic Survey! - NEW!

rarrow.gif What's new in the Library

rarrow.gif Member Blogs

rarrow.gif Member Reviews - Contribute a Review!
rarrow.gif Bargain Hunters Forum
rarrow.gif Classified, Want, Swap Ads

rarrow.gif AVSIM Team Speak System

rarrow.gif Video Library
rarrow.gif Image Gallery
rarrow.gif Community Links Library
rarrow.gif Tutorials

rarrow.gif FS9. FSX & P3D CTD Guide

rarrow.gif FSX / P3D Configuration Guide

rarrow.gif AVSIM Publications 



Simulation's Premier Resource!

AVSIM is a free service to the flight and simulation communities. Please help us keep it that way. Donate what you can today! Thank you for your support!











. . .
Photo

Big improvement with replacement clouds


  • Please log in to reply
50 replies to this topic

#1 Muskoka

Muskoka

    Member

  • Members
  • 624 posts
  • Joined 3 Years, 7 Months and 2 Days Ago.

Posted 20 February 2012 - 03:10 PM

Guys, I just tried out these replacement clouds http://maxx-xp.hikin...om/?page_id=147 and my frame rates have jumped from a low of 7-8 when almost in or around the default clouds, to a low of 18 in the same conditions with these replacements. If I was just "near" the clouds with the default, my fps would be in the mid teens, with these they stayed high 20's to low 30's. Not only that, they look just as good to me. I also downloaded the replacement sky, and I like the look, a little more blue. It better matches what I see out the window today.Just make sure to back up you originals first. The install is real easy, replace a few texture files, that's it. These replacements have allowed me to fly with real weather again, and what I would consider to be very high settings. Haven't tried with HDR on yet, next thing to try. A few screen shots....Glen[attachment=39028:clouds1 (Medium).jpg][attachment=39029:cloud2 (Medium).jpg]

Edited by Muskoka, 20 February 2012 - 03:11 PM.


Help AVSIM continue to serve you!
Please donate today!

#2 Comanche

Comanche

    Member - 2,000+

  • Members
  • 2,372 posts
  • Joined 9 Years, 3 Months and 16 Days Ago.

Posted 20 February 2012 - 03:38 PM

Looks promising! Ill give them a try later.Thanks for pointing these out.Rob

#3 fly_like_an_eagle

fly_like_an_eagle

    Member

  • Members
  • 129 posts
  • Joined 5 Years, 2 Months and 5 Days Ago.

Posted 20 February 2012 - 03:38 PM

that sounds promising. I was already giving up on XPX again after experiencing as low as 5 fps in clouds with 40% setting on a 4 GHz 6core i7. still worries me that the XPX developer can not come up with a product that provides acceptable fps out of the box. going from 40 with NO down to 4 fps WITH clouds doesn't sound like efficient programming to me. using 6 cores at 4 GHz and the latest directx11, NVidia Gforce 470 accelerator and all I got is lousy 4-5 fps. not impressed. I will give this a try, thanks for sharing.

#4 Muskoka

Muskoka

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Members
  • 624 posts
  • Joined 3 Years, 7 Months and 2 Days Ago.

Posted 20 February 2012 - 03:59 PM

After looking at the texture files it appears they have just been reduced in size, cloud_puff0, 1, and 2 have been reduced from 1024 down to 512. Could probably just do that with the defaults. Anyways, the reduction works, that's all that matters at this point, and they still look nice. Might even try them at 256, that might be pushing it a little low though.Posted ImageGlen

#5 fly_like_an_eagle

fly_like_an_eagle

    Member

  • Members
  • 129 posts
  • Joined 5 Years, 2 Months and 5 Days Ago.

Posted 20 February 2012 - 04:21 PM

what I find disturbing is the fact that when you are in clouds and see the least scenery, fps drop most. with clever programming this should not have to be the case, only when in solid fog or zero visibility clouds do fps rise again. the software should detect that once in clouds those other "TONS of - melting your cpu" cloud puffs hidden by the front row could be discarded, thus saving fps. not?

#6 rojantrojan

rojantrojan

    Member

  • Members
  • 494 posts
  • Joined 5 Years, 7 Months and 6 Days Ago.

Posted 20 February 2012 - 04:46 PM

using 6 cores at 4 GHz and the latest directx11,

Didn't really understand why X-plane 10 system requirements asks for: "a DirectX 10-capable (DX11 preferred) video card with 1 GB of on-board, dedicated VRAM."http://www.x-plane.c...m-requirements/I thought it was programmed in OpenGL? CheersRhydian
Posted Image

#7 alpilotx

alpilotx

    Member

  • Members
  • 630 posts
  • Joined 8 Years, 7 Months and 7 Days Ago.

Posted 20 February 2012 - 04:56 PM

Didn't really understand why X-plane 10 system requirements asks for:

Because thats what most cards are marketed with, and what users - and humble salesperson - can more easily "understand". And the text says it: "capable". For the devs, this ensures, that if people buy a card with DX capabilities of this evel, then the card can do that in OpenGL too.
Andras Fabian / Alpilotx
Visit www.alpilotx.net, a site about X-plane scenery
You can see some landscape and other photographs from me here:
http://www.flickr.co...s/weathermaker/

#8 deetee

deetee

    Member

  • Members
  • 935 posts
  • Joined 7 Years, 6 Months and 23 Days Ago.

Posted 20 February 2012 - 04:59 PM

I was just starting to warm to the demo when I tried real weather, and BOOM!... fps dropped like a brick. :(It almost feels like 2006 all over again (FSX launch)!Roads too kill my fps when above default.What's incredible is it's doing that on an i7@4Ghz with a GTX580 and 12Gb ram.This is a beta though so let's hope LR have a few tricks up their sleeve before they arrive at a RC version.Now if I could find a nice plane where the knobs worked with the mouse wheel like in FS I would be a little happier. :-/
Dave

Looking for a friendly VA that provides the variety to keep you interested? Enjoyment is priority at Worldwide Virtual  B) 
2q1ulw7.jpg379304.png

#9 alpilotx

alpilotx

    Member

  • Members
  • 630 posts
  • Joined 8 Years, 7 Months and 7 Days Ago.

Posted 20 February 2012 - 05:02 PM

what I find disturbing is the fact that when you are in clouds and see the least scenery, fps drop most. with clever programming this should not have to be the case, only when in solid fog or zero visibility clouds do fps rise again. the software should detect that once in clouds those other "TONS of - melting your cpu" cloud puffs hidden by the front row could be discarded, thus saving fps. not?

What I never understand is, why so many people think, that they are smarter than hardcore 3D developers working in the industry for many years and coding with this kind of technology since many generations of the simulator. Believe me: even though they are no gods, and are prone to errors / suboptimal decisions ... they still have a very good understanding of what is possible with 3D technology, and what might be the best approach in a given situation with goals set by the concept of their simulator (even if there are always obstacles, to achieve all that they want) ...And don't forget, programming 3D engines (and a simulator in general) means much more than what meets the eye ...
Andras Fabian / Alpilotx
Visit www.alpilotx.net, a site about X-plane scenery
You can see some landscape and other photographs from me here:
http://www.flickr.co...s/weathermaker/

#10 N1G

N1G

    Member - 1,000+

  • Members
  • 1,777 posts
  • Joined 3 Years, 10 Months and 3 Days Ago.

Posted 20 February 2012 - 05:20 PM

I hope this cloud issue is not a coding problem which has pushed the devs into a corner. In other words, is it a bad coding design, which at this stage the dev team might be looking at each other saying "uh oh".If true, it would sound quite a bit like FSX in certain aspects.Bob

Edited by N1G, 20 February 2012 - 05:22 PM.


#11 HiFlyer

HiFlyer

    Member - 4,000+

  • Members
  • 4,068 posts
  • Joined 2 Years, 6 Months and 15 Days Ago.

Posted 20 February 2012 - 05:43 PM

When we discuss these problems with the clouds, do we mean in HDR, or in normal mode?

Hi! Devon

"An optimist may see a light where there is none, but why must the pessimist always run to blow it out?" Rene Descartes

 

"Diplomacy is the art of saying "Nice doggie" until you can find a rock. Will Rogers


#12 Muskoka

Muskoka

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Members
  • 624 posts
  • Joined 3 Years, 7 Months and 2 Days Ago.

Posted 20 February 2012 - 05:56 PM

Normal mode for me, HDR is just too much of a performance hit. I have to turn too many things way down to use HDR. If my video card even sees a cloud it turns and runs. These replacements do help. You could just reduce the default cloud textures and get the same results. The author has tweaked these a bit I think, other than just a reduction in size.Glen

Edited by Muskoka, 20 February 2012 - 07:18 PM.


#13 HiFlyer

HiFlyer

    Member - 4,000+

  • Members
  • 4,068 posts
  • Joined 2 Years, 6 Months and 15 Days Ago.

Posted 20 February 2012 - 06:06 PM

I suspect people will have to post their settings and what version of the beta they are using before any Xplane forum gurus will be able to offer help with possible cloud problems. The reduced texture clouds sound interesting, though.

Hi! Devon

"An optimist may see a light where there is none, but why must the pessimist always run to blow it out?" Rene Descartes

 

"Diplomacy is the art of saying "Nice doggie" until you can find a rock. Will Rogers


#14 fly_like_an_eagle

fly_like_an_eagle

    Member

  • Members
  • 129 posts
  • Joined 5 Years, 2 Months and 5 Days Ago.

Posted 20 February 2012 - 06:16 PM

"What I never understand is, why so many people think, that they are smarter than hardcore 3D developers working in the industry for many years and coding with this kind of technology since many generations of the simulator."coding for many years alone does not automatically guarantee expertise in all graphics engine subjects. or take the flawed flight model. but all these "so many people" can still compare XPX with other products. just take a look at the Unigine demo to see what is possible on todays graphics hardware, you don't have to be a "hardcore 3D developer working in the industry for many years" to appreciate the superiority of the latest NVidia and ATI graphics demos:http://www.nvidia.com/object/cool_stuff.htmlhttp://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QMgofmIQElEhttp://unigine.com/products/heaven/

#15 N1G

N1G

    Member - 1,000+

  • Members
  • 1,777 posts
  • Joined 3 Years, 10 Months and 3 Days Ago.

Posted 20 February 2012 - 06:19 PM

Has there been any noise from the developers on this? It does not seem that this cloud issue is just affecting a specific hardware config, but is widespread. I don't know, I just think there should be some customer service to some degree.I don't own it, but I am keeping my eye on some of the threads.Bob