Jump to content

  •  


   
Where Flight Simulation Enthusiasts Gather from Around the World!

HOT SPOTS:
 rarrow.gif The 2014 Demographic Survey! - NEW!

rarrow.gif What's new in the Library

rarrow.gif Member Blogs

rarrow.gif Member Reviews - Contribute a Review!
rarrow.gif Bargain Hunters Forum
rarrow.gif Classified, Want, Swap Ads

rarrow.gif AVSIM Team Speak System

rarrow.gif Video Library
rarrow.gif Image Gallery
rarrow.gif Community Links Library
rarrow.gif Tutorials

rarrow.gif FS9. FSX & P3D CTD Guide

rarrow.gif FSX / P3D Configuration Guide

rarrow.gif AVSIM Publications 



Simulation's Premier Resource!

AVSIM is a free service to the flight and simulation communities. Please help us keep it that way. Donate what you can today! Thank you for your support!











. . .
Photo

Windows 8 & X-plane 10


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Comanche

Comanche

    Member - 2,000+

  • Members
  • 2,371 posts
  • Joined 9 Years, 3 Months and 6 Days Ago.

Posted 29 February 2012 - 11:34 PM

I don't mind being a Guinea Pig, so I downloaded and installed the Windows 8 consumer preview (against my better judgment) over my Win 7 ultimate 64 bit. It took about a 1/2 hour and several reboots, but everything is working fine, including X-plane 10. No increase in FPS with Win 8 and its running stable, but so was win 7. I don't care much for the Metro desktop thing, but you don't have to use it and my desktop looks and works pretty much the same as before. The only thing I had to do was re-install my sound card drivers and downloaded Win 8 64bit version of the latest Nvidia drivers. Bottom line, if your using Win 7 and have no problems, Win 8 wont do much more for you, at least not with X-plane. Rob

Help AVSIM continue to serve you!
Please donate today!

#2 ohsirus

ohsirus

    Member - 2,000+

  • Members
  • 2,313 posts
  • Joined 3 Years, 9 Months and 29 Days Ago.

Posted 01 March 2012 - 05:58 AM

Thanks for taking one for the team.

#3 FloB

FloB

    Member

  • Members
  • 247 posts
  • Joined 2 Years, 11 Months and 18 Days Ago.

Posted 17 July 2012 - 12:00 PM

Glad I found this one, saves me lot of time. Thanks for sharing.

Flo

#4 Bobsk8

Bobsk8

    Member

  • Members
  • 699 posts
  • Joined 2 Years, 2 Months and 13 Days Ago.

Posted 17 July 2012 - 08:45 PM

Windows 8 is only good if you have a tablet, if you have a desktop, don't waste your time with it.
Wow, Flight is like flying a real plane!!!!!

#5 Trancepilot

Trancepilot

    Member

  • Members
  • 8 posts
  • Joined 2 Years, 1 Month and 7 Days Ago.

Posted 18 July 2012 - 07:51 PM

Excellent stuff... Thanks for the info.

#6 vhuber

vhuber

    New Member

  • Members
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 1 Year, 8 Months and 25 Days Ago.

Posted 25 November 2012 - 11:57 AM

Thanks on Comanche.

What do folks think about a "metro" based x-plane? I expect to see lots of win 8 tablets, so a version similar to the iPad would make sense to me. I'd buy it!

#7 MdMax

MdMax

    Member - 1,000+

  • Members
  • 1,559 posts
  • Joined 10 Years, 10 Months and 25 Days Ago.

Posted 25 November 2012 - 12:17 PM

What do folks think about a "metro" based x-plane? I expect to see lots of win 8 tablets, so a version similar to the iPad would make sense to me. I'd buy it!


I think a tablet is very nice for displaying charts or controlling a CDU, but not for rendering detailed graphics for a desktop flight simulator.

^_^

A "Metro" based X-Plane would only work with Windows 8, and no more on most operating systems like Windows XP, Vista, Windows 7, Fedora, OpenSUSE, Red Hat, Debian, Ubuntu, Mint or Mac OS. So I think a "Metro" based X-Plane would be a waste of time for Laminar Research.

If you want a mobile version of X-Plane, you can already use a version for iOS and a version for Android.

There's already a confusion between the mobile (and very light) version of X-Plane, and the desktop version. A "Metro" version for Windows 8 or Windows 8 RT would only bring more confusion. Is there really a market for this ?

#8 HughesMDflyer4

HughesMDflyer4

    Helicopter Forum Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 1,274 posts
  • Joined 4 Years, 2 Months and 25 Days Ago.

Posted 25 November 2012 - 07:46 PM

Windows 8 is only good if you have a tablet, if you have a desktop, don't waste your time with it.


Uh, the only thing different is the Metro start screen. Other than that, there are significant speed improvements and optimizations. It's the same Windows OS, just with a different start menu and better performance. You only have to get used to Metro.

Not trying to get this thread off-topic, just saying...

brandon_forum_sig_a2a172_090213.png

Brandon Filer






   
Where Flight Simulation Enthusiasts Gather from Around the World!