Sign in to follow this  

My VOR tutorials: additional information

I posted two tutorials about how to use the VOR the way it was intended when they were invented... which is something else than the way they are usually used...! I got some reactions to that and I notice I need to make two things a bit more clear.The tutorials can be found here:http://forum.avsim.n...way-using-vors/http://forum.avsim.n...d-the-easy-way/First of all a 'disclaimer'. :wink: I never really understood how to use VORs the way everyone is using them. So I am no expert. The tutorials I posted are based on what I learned THIS week and it uses a completely different method than the common used one. The fact that I feel confident enough to post tutorials and this new topic about it proves imho that this 'new' method (which is in fact the original one!) is SIMPLE. A lot simpler then the usual VOR method.If you don't want to read this complete post, only read the bold lines.. but beware, I found out that people who are used to the common VOR method have a hard time really getting it! :wink:Ok, what I need to make clear is this:1. Forget everything you have learned about using VORs!2. The needle NEVER EVER tells you to go left or right. Looking at the reactions I've got point 2 is the most important one. To make sure you understand what point 2 means: I could also say 'you never simply fly left when the needle goes left or the other way around'. The VOR gauge is not a command instrument you simply follow, it is an instrument that needs to be read. I notice that people try to apply their current knowledge about VORs on my tutorial and that won't work. As said in point 1: you need to forget everything you've learned about VORs so also everything about reciprocal radials and reverse sensing. The funny thing is that as soon as people do that, things become COMPLICATED... while the method I used is meant to make VORs SIMPLE! :wink:With the usual method of using VORs you get a set of rules but... you a