Sign in to follow this  
fs_av

FSX or Prepar3d ?

What's a better deal, FSX or the Prepar3D Academic with an eye towards the future, assuming ofcourse that one has never owned FSX ?With Prepar3D Academic making improvements whilst FSX is frozen for the forseeable future, hoping MS wakes up from the Flight fiasco, how can one pass up on Prepar3d Academic at $50 ?http://www.prepar3d.com/prepar3d-academic/

I still think FSX is, and will be the leader for quite some time. Pprepar3d is good and it is gaining support, but it has a long way to go before it can hold a candle to FSX. P3D seems to be more stable, but I just purchased the academic version yesterday so I'm no expert on that platform. But like I said, if your looking to extend the life and immersion of your sim, then FSX is still the way to go. There are a plethora of add-ons for it and it just keeps growing.

Christopher Edwards

While FSX is frozen as far as MS is concerned. Everytime you add a 3rd party DLL to it, you are expanding it's functionality, so overall it's hardly frozen. Look just in the past month, we have products like GSX, and AccuFeel. I don't see that dwindling anytime soon. As for Prepar3d, it has great potential, especially when V2.0 is released with GPU support. However people have got to get it through their heads, this product wasn't made for this community. The EULA still states, it can not be used for Home entertainment use. While it's good that they are expanding acceptable usage to "Academic " Use, The reality is for most that is not how it will be used. Academic use doesn't mean, if you are a student of some kind it a license to use it for entertainment. It's intended to be used in conjunction with said Academic regimen. Let's face it, for the majority of us that is not how it will be used.

Thanks

Tom

My Youtube Videos!

http://www.youtube.com/user/tf51d

Guest treeman