Sign in to follow this  

The big VOR topic

it seems quite a few people are learning more and more about VOR navigation thanks to Flight. Probably because there is no GPS yet in the popular Maule and RV-6A. The lack of GPS isn't a bad thing, though. Using VOR is far more fun then simply following a line on a small screen (or following a yellow destination marker...).

I am one of those people who learned to use VOR thanks to Flight. Which means I am pretty new to it all. So I'm no expert! But I am able to get anywhere using VOR and to keep my situational awareness as high as possible. I just don't know or use the right terminology every now and then... :wink: Using VOR is a lot of fun because it keeps you busy (and entertained) during your flights!

I did not start this topic to tell you how VOR works but I started this topic to create a place to talk about VOR. I myself hijacked another topic shortly after Flight was released and I see questions about VOR popping up every now and then in various topics. Right now a topic about Flight becoming a combat game has been transformed into an online class about VOR usage: that's great and fun but even though I had posted something in it I had trouble myself finding the topic again because the link between 'combat game' and 'VOR' isn't a logical one... :wink: So I thought it would be a nice idea to start a topicc dedicated to VOR navigation, where you can learn about it, share tips, links, whatever. One topic that is easy to find thanks to a logical topic title. :wink:

So feel free to ask all your questions here and to share your knowledge!

Let me begin with a link the THE site about VOR navigation (and navigation in general):

http://www.navfltsm.addr.com/vor-nav.htm

There also already is a basic VOR tutorial on this forum:

http://forum.avsim.net/tutorials/article/32-simple-radio-navigation-tutorial-for-microsoft-flight/

And here is a video that really helped me to learn more about VOR: