Jump to content

  •  


   
Where Flight Simulation Enthusiasts Gather from Around the World!

HOT SPOTS:
 rarrow.gif The 2014 Demographic Survey! - NEW!

rarrow.gif What's new in the Library

rarrow.gif Member Blogs

rarrow.gif Member Reviews - Contribute a Review!
rarrow.gif Bargain Hunters Forum
rarrow.gif Classified, Want, Swap Ads

rarrow.gif AVSIM Team Speak System

rarrow.gif Video Library
rarrow.gif Image Gallery
rarrow.gif Community Links Library
rarrow.gif Tutorials

rarrow.gif FS9. FSX & P3D CTD Guide

rarrow.gif FSX / P3D Configuration Guide

rarrow.gif AVSIM Publications 



Simulation's Premier Resource!

AVSIM is a free service to the flight and simulation communities. Please help us keep it that way. Donate what you can today! Thank you for your support!











. . .
Photo
- - - - -

Making of a new FSX.cfg file


  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 ctiger

ctiger

    Member

  • Members
  • 935 posts
  • Joined 9 Years, 11 Months and 16 Days Ago.

Posted 19 May 2012 - 06:28 PM

Hi All,

I removed several planes from the SimObjects folder including some FSX default planes that I no longer use and saved them to a separate folder. Now the load times to acquire a new plane is much faster.
After reading Srdan’s Software Guide I decided to start a new FSX.cfg file as suggested by his guide. I have run into a problem. After giving permissions during a new FSX.cfg, when I get to “free flight the plane lacks any texture, just an outline. That includes any of my payware planes as well. If I replace the new fsx.cfg with my old config. everything is ok. Is this problem caused by removing some of fsx default files form the SimObject folder or is it something else I am not aware of?

This has just not been a good week for me in FSX!

Thanks again for any suggestions.
Carl
_____________________________________________________________________________________

Help AVSIM continue to serve you!
Please donate today!

#2 DanW

DanW

    Member - 1,000+

  • Gallery Owner
  • 1,002 posts
  • Joined 2 Years, 5 Months and 8 Days Ago.

Posted 19 May 2012 - 06:42 PM

Yes, many planes refer to default planes textures etc.

To disable them instead of moving them out you should rename Panel.cfg to Panel.disabled. Then they are still there for AI or other addons to use.

Dan.W

Banner_MJC9.png


#3 ctiger

ctiger

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Members
  • 935 posts
  • Joined 9 Years, 11 Months and 16 Days Ago.

Posted 19 May 2012 - 08:21 PM

Thanks I will give it a try. Learn something new everyday.


Carl
_____________________________________________________________________________________

#4 DanW

DanW

    Member - 1,000+

  • Gallery Owner
  • 1,002 posts
  • Joined 2 Years, 5 Months and 8 Days Ago.

Posted 19 May 2012 - 11:04 PM

I learnt the same way, I did exactly what you did ;)

So many great pay ware planes out there.

Mind you there is a few good ones from default that I keep:
-The Trike
-The Maule
-The Goose

If you upgrade the Panels with the friendly panels Navpack (very good value) they are even better, and OzX did a HD texture pack for the Goose. Although I don't fly it much anymore because I bought the Catalina.

Dan.W

Banner_MJC9.png


#5 ctiger

ctiger

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Members
  • 935 posts
  • Joined 9 Years, 11 Months and 16 Days Ago.

Posted 20 May 2012 - 04:13 PM

Unfortunately, that is not the cause. Loaded all fsx default planes back into the SimObects folder and same "ghost planes" show up. Noticed the new config file that was made didn't even have the graphics card listed, which is usually shown as;
[DISPLAY.Device.ATI Radeon HD 5700 Series.0]
Mode=1600x900x32
AntiAlias=1
Anisotropic=1

I added that line but sitll came up with "ghost planes". For the time being I went back to my most recent config file that is working even without the default planes in the SimObject folder.
Carl
_____________________________________________________________________________________

#6 CoolP

CoolP

    close to sane

  • Members
  • 6,126 posts
  • Joined 10 Years, 2 Months and 21 Days Ago.

Posted 20 May 2012 - 04:37 PM

Can you post a screenshot of such a ghost plane, Carl? Would help to determine what may be wrong. Strange thing that it happens by just starting with a fresh fsx.cfg. :huh:

#7 Gear Up and Off

Gear Up and Off

    Member - 1,000+

  • Members
  • 1,548 posts
  • Joined 3 Years, 6 Months and 16 Days Ago.

Posted 20 May 2012 - 04:42 PM

Sounds like you had the shader3 installed in your last config but not the new fsx.cfg file

David Alexander


#8 ctiger

ctiger

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Members
  • 935 posts
  • Joined 9 Years, 11 Months and 16 Days Ago.

Posted 20 May 2012 - 05:31 PM

Can you post a screenshot of such a ghost plane,


CoolP,

Picture is worth a thousand words. Yes,as soon as I can figure out how to post a screen shot I will. Got to go read the instructions first. Can't beleive I have been on the fourm for all those years and never tried to post a pic.
Carl
_____________________________________________________________________________________

#9 Gear Up and Off

Gear Up and Off

    Member - 1,000+

  • Members
  • 1,548 posts
  • Joined 3 Years, 6 Months and 16 Days Ago.

Posted 20 May 2012 - 06:22 PM

Did you have useshader30 in your last fsx config file? Put all those lines in the new one too

David Alexander


#10 ctiger

ctiger

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Members
  • 935 posts
  • Joined 9 Years, 11 Months and 16 Days Ago.

Posted 20 May 2012 - 06:57 PM

This is a copy of my new config, which gives me the ghost planes at start of "free flight". When I go to an airport there are textures; however, the plane has detached parts i.e propeller is in mid air, door is missing etc I have tried to get a screen shot; however I am unable to figure out how to put in my reply. The screen shot is reformated to jpeg 44kb but still learning how to paste in my message.

The only reference to shader in the config that is working is the same as shown in the new config below.

[GRAPHICS]
SHADER_CACHE_PRIMED_10=1693500672
SHADER_CACHE_PRIMED=1693500672
TEXTURE_MAX_LOAD=1024
NUM_LIGHTS=8
AIRCRAFT_SHADOWS=1
AIRCRAFT_REFLECTIONS=1
COCKPIT_HIGH_LOD=1
LANDING_LIGHTS=1
AC_SELF_SHADOW=1
EFFECTS_QUALITY=2
GROUND_SHADOWS=0
TEXTURE_QUALITY=3
IMAGE_QUALITY=0
See_Self=1
Text_Scroll=1
[SOUND]
AmbientUIMusicVolume=-6.000000
PrimaryDevice={00000000-0000-0000-0000-000000000000}
VoiceDevice={00000000-0000-0000-0000-000000000000}
SOUND=1
SOUND_QUALITY=2
SOUND_LOD=0
UISound=1
AmbientUI=1
[Display]
ChangeTime=4.000000
TransitionTime=4.000000
ActiveWindowTitleTextColor=255,255,255
ActiveWindowTitleBackGroundColor=0,28,140,64
NonActiveWindowTitleTextColor=255,255,255
NonActiveWindowTitleBackGroundColor=24,33,87,64
InfoUpperRightTextColor=255,0,0
InfoUpperRightBackGroundColor=0,0,0,0
InfoLowerLeftTextColor=255,255,255
InfoLowerLeftBackGroundColor=255,0,0,128
InfoLowerRightTextColor=255,255,255
InfoLowerRightBackGroundColor=255,0,0,128
InfoBrakesEnable=True
InfoParkingBrakesEnable=True
InfoPauseEnable=True
InfoSlewEnable=True
InfoStallEnable=True
InfoOverspeedEnable=True
BLOOM_EFFECTS=0
SKINNED_ANIMATIONS=1
TEXTURE_BANDWIDTH_MULT=40
UPPER_FRAMERATE_LIMIT=20
WideViewAspect=False
[Main]
User Objects=Airplane, Helicopter
SimObjectPaths.0=SimObjects\Airplanes
SimObjectPaths.1=SimObjects\Rotorcraft
SimObjectPaths.2=SimObjects\GroundVehicles
SimObjectPaths.3=SimObjects\Boats
SimObjectPaths.4=SimObjects\Animals
SimObjectPaths.5=SimObjects\Misc
ProcSpeed=7349
PerfBucket=7
Maximized=1
Location=439,119,1481,909,\\.\DISPLAY1
HideMenuNormal=0
HideMenuFullscreen=1
[PANELS]
IMAGE_QUALITY=1
QUICKTIPS=1
PANEL_OPACITY=100
PANEL_MASKING=1
PANEL_STRETCHING=1
UNITS_OF_MEASURE=0
[Weather]
WindshieldPrecipitationEffects=1
MinGustTime=10
MaxGustTime=500
MinGustRampSpeed=1
MaxGustRampSpeed=200
MinVarTime=5
MaxVarTime=50
MinVarRampSpeed=10
MaxVarRampSpeed=75
TurbulenceScale=1.000000
WeatherServerAddress=fs2k.zone.com
WeatherServerPort=80
WeatherGraphDataInDialog=0
AdjustForMagVarInDialog=1
DynamicWeather=2
DownloadWindsAloft=0
DisableTurbulence=0
CLOUD_DRAW_DISTANCE=3
DETAILED_CLOUDS=1
CLOUD_COVERAGE_DENSITY=8
THERMAL_VISUALS=0
[DISPLAY.Device.ATI Radeon HD 5700 Series.0]
Mode=1024x768x32
[AccelerationPack]
ControlsFirstRun=0
HomePageFirstRun=0
[CONTROLS]
Controls_Default=Standard
Controls_Current=Standard
KBDAIL=64
KBDELEV=64
KBDRUD=64
[TextInfo.1]
Latitude=1,1
Longitude=1,2
Altitude=1,3
Heading=1,4
AirSpeed=1,5
WindDirectionAndSpeed=1,6
[TextInfo.2]
FrameRate=1,1
LockedFrameRate=1,2
GForce=1,3
FuelPercentage=1,4
[TextInfo.3]
Latitude=1,1
Longitude=1,2
Altitude=1,3
Heading=1,4
AirSpeed=1,5
WindDirectionAndSpeed=1,6
FrameRate=2,1
LockedFrameRate=2,2
GForce=2,3
FuelPercentage=2,4
[SlewTextInfo.1]
Latitude=1,1
Longitude=1,2
Altitude=1,3
Heading=1,4
AirSpeed=1,5
[SlewTextInfo.2]
FrameRate=1,1
LockedFrameRate=1,2
[SlewTextInfo.3]
Latitude=1,1
Longitude=1,2
Altitude=1,3
Heading=1,4
AirSpeed=1,5
FrameRate=2,1
LockedFrameRate=2,2
[Trusted]
C:\Flight Simulator X\fsdreamteam\couatl\couatl.exe.iwhtorrkrocwiiiinanbezzazhqblclnwcqblbzi=1
C:\Program Files (x86)\Real Environment Xtreme 2.0\rexwxengine2.exe.iqtwwzoabwiehlzuoueoolhbioqzkhcahueiehnr=1
C:\Flight Simulator X\bglmanx.dll.kztqhzwwnknnilentlzntauizztoeraiwrziikqa=1
C:\Flight Simulator X\ORBX\FTX_NA\FTX_AA_KBVS\Scenery\Objectflow_KBVS.dll.iwzrrbenbtzoqqunozicbwlctkhbwkhznttthqqb=1
C:\Flight Simulator X\ORBX\FTX_NA\FTX_AA_0S9\scenery\Objectflow_0S9.dll.iwzrrbenbtzoqqunozicbwlctkhbwkhznttthqqb=1
C:\Flight Simulator X\ORBX\FTX_NA\FTX_AA_CEJ4\scenery\ObjectFlow_cej4.dll.iwzrrbenbtzoqqunozicbwlctkhbwkhznttthqqb=1
C:\Flight Simulator X\ORBX\FTX_NA\FTX_AA_W52\scenery\ObjectFlow_W52.dll.wlcqihliktclwhboqozqlnhnltcwbellewozoteu=1
C:\Flight Simulator X\ORBX\FTX_NA\FTX_AA_S43\Scenery\ObjectFlow_S43.dll.iwzrrbenbtzoqqunozicbwlctkhbwkhznttthqqb=1
C:\Flight Simulator X\ORBX\FTX_NA\FTX_AA_PAKT\Scenery\ObjectFlow_PAKT.dll.iwzrrbenbtzoqqunozicbwlctkhbwkhznttthqqb=1
C:\Flight Simulator X\ORBX\FTX_NA\FTX_AA_7S3\Scenery\ObjectFlow_7S3.dll.kqntwakouoakozwlnhblroiaqueinrerzlwlcbkk=1
C:\Flight Simulator X\ORBX\FTX_NA\FTX_AA_74S\Scenery\ObjectFlow_74S.dll.iwzrrbenbtzoqqunozicbwlctkhbwkhznttthqqb=1
C:\Flight Simulator X\Modules\LVLD.dll.herkkqkoqutwunznbauhkeoobiacoqnkloczakct=1
C:\Flight Simulator X\Modules\FSUIPC4.dll.qbaqwcoawbrtbawioizrloqaaiqewnzcceicelck=1
C:\Flight Simulator X\Captain_Sim\Captain_Sim.b757.menu.dll.ckzoquioqbwolkcucibhozzlutoqkouizqwlaqok=1
C:\Flight Simulator X\FSDX.dll.ntlkcqnqhewcetlhancquznwnhccetzhehccwurl=1
C:\Flight Simulator X\FeelThere\Legacy\LegacyXHUD.dll.zozwokhaewwqraaqtaarrqqhownonltwrqouttkk=1
C:\Program Files (x86)\FS Recorder for FSX\FSRecorder_FSX.dll.aqllilbteezawbaltzwrohtkukwihnuiqoqooell=1
C:\Flight Simulator X\Captain_Sim\707\cs.sound.dll.hiohlkakrhctwnurzoibnkncttihalqutoebhacl=1
C:\Flight Simulator X\Captain_Sim\520\cs.sound.dll.hiohlkakrhctwnurzoibnkncttihalqutoebhacl=1
C:\Flight Simulator X\Captain_Sim\757\cs.sound.dll.hiohlkakrhctwnurzoibnkncttihalqutoebhacl=1
C:\Flight Simulator X\MD80.dll.nnlnzioewwlkuhhwrqiknzrolcaoialtruuwcbtc=1
C:\Flight Simulator X\TCAS2v7.dll.orcwaobnilikbeqikohnhhtizokwbqicebtcriit=1
C:\Flight Simulator X\FeelThere\E170\EJetH.dll.ceteeozwkakuqwqoeurtikbbtenwarlwqtbzkakr=1
C:\Flight Simulator X\Modules\A2A_Feel.dll.ouqtukolnbwuuzkbwbzritqeqzaikawouwibiqql=1
C:\Flight Simulator X\Modules\AccuFeelMenu.dll.hnercqbhatbnrzoeanwlruocnuboohetztuilarq=1
C:\Flight Simulator X\Captain_Sim\737\cs.sound.dll.tuaqubihtwolitlqlrlhbhqahiwrilehuhbhkztk=1
C:\Flight Simulator X\VistaMare\ViMaCoreX.dll.beckounaclrzukoreanbihuwwlewolreerllbnni=1
C:\Flight Simulator X\GAUGES\Bendix_King_Radio.DLL.tralhoawukubezilqukubbourkzrtlbhkkkehccc=2
C:\Flight Simulator X\GAUGES\Magnetic_Compass.DLL.unzoiwkqiabnucctzneouaiuuuubcloubcocunct=2
[DynamicHeadMovement]
LonAccelOnHeadLon=-0.020000
LonAccelOnHeadPitch=-0.010000
RollAccelOnHeadLat=0.010000
YawAccelOnHeadLat=-0.100000
RollAccelOnHeadRoll=0.100000
MaxHeadAngle=5.000000
MaxHeadOffset=0.300000
HeadMoveTimeConstant=1.000000
[VirtualCopilot]
VirtualCopilotActive=1
[USERINTERFACE]
ShowAllACPaintSchemes=0
SelectAircraftManufacturer=All
SelectAircraftPublisher=All
SelectAircraftType=All
PageID=1
OpenATCOnCreate=0
SHOW_MISSION_CAPTIONS=0
PAUSE_ON_LOST_FOCUS=1
PROMPT_ON_EXIT=1
SITUATION=FLIGHTS\OTHER\FLTSIM
Map_Orientation=2
[ATC]
ShowATCText=1
COMM_MSG_NONE_COLOR=FFFFFFFF
COMM_MSG_ATC_USER_COLOR=FFB6FFB6
COMM_MSG_USER_ATC_COLOR=FFFFD21B
COMM_MSG_ATC_AI_COLOR=FF00FF00
COMM_MSG_AI_ATC_COLOR=FFFF7840
AutoOpenAirTrafficWindow=1
UsePilotVoice=1
PilotVoice=0
[PointOfInterestSystem]
CycleSetting=0
[MULTIPLAYER]
condAccoutPassword=0
[SCENERY]
LENSFLARE=1
DAWN_DUSK_SMOOTHING=1
IMAGE_COMPLEXITY=4
[TrafficManager]
AirlineDensity=20
GADensity=20
FreewayDensity=20
ShipsAndFerriesDensity=40
LeisureBoatsDensity=40
IFROnly=0
AIRPORT_SCENERY_DENSITY=3
[TERRAIN]
LOD_RADIUS=4.500000
MESH_COMPLEXITY=75
MESH_RESOLUTION=20
TEXTURE_RESOLUTION=25
AUTOGEN_DENSITY=3
DETAIL_TEXTURE=1
WATER_EFFECTS=7
[AContain]
ShowLabels=1
ShowUserLabel=0
ShowLabelManufacturer=1
ShowLabelModel=1
ShowLabelTailNumber=0
ShowLabelDistance=1
ShowLabelAltitude=1
ShowLabelAirline=0
ShowLabelAirlineAndFlightNumber=0
ShowLabelFlightPlan=0
ShowLabelContainerId=0
ShowLabelAirspeed=0
ShowLabelHeading=0
LabelDelay=1000
LabelColor=FFFF0000
[INTERNATIONAL]
ASLAT=2
ASLON=1
MEASURE=0
[REALISM]
PFactor=0.000000
Torque=0.000000
GyroEffect=0.000000
CrashTolerance=0.000000
General=0.000000
UnlimitedFuel=True
AllowEngineDamage=False
TrueAirspeed=False
AutoCoord=False
RealMixture=False
StressDamage=False
GEffect=False
ManualLights=False
GyroDrift=False
CrashWithDyn=False
CrashDetection=False
AutoTrim=False
[SIM]
SYSCLOCK=1
[STARTUP]
DEMO=0
SHOW_OPENING_SCREEN=1
STARTUP_DEMO=
LoadWindow=1
[FACILITIES]
COUNTRY=
STATE=
CITY=
GTL_BUTTON=4096
[Misc]
Com_Rate=7
Carl
_____________________________________________________________________________________

#11 CoolP

CoolP

    close to sane

  • Members
  • 6,126 posts
  • Joined 10 Years, 2 Months and 21 Days Ago.

Posted 20 May 2012 - 07:13 PM

the plane has detached parts i.e propeller is in mid air, door is missing etc

Gear Up and Off points in the right direction, this sounds like shader stuff. Are you using any mods from e.g. Bojote? If so, you need to add
ALLOW_SHADER_30=1
to the [GRAPHICS] section of the new fsx.cfg.

Independant from that, you can manually force a shader recompilation with doing the following.
Go to C:\Users\Carl\AppData\Local\Microsoft\FSX and delete the folders Shaders and Shaders10. This forces FSX to recompile them at the next start, so give him some time.

If you are unsure about the deleted folders, make a backup of both by e.g. copying them to your desktop. On next FSX startup, the shaders come in new, so to speak and your planes should look ok again. This will be visible on the preview screen (the rotating plane) at 'free flight'.

And if you still like to attach files, go to the extended view of the post and scroll down to the 'Attach Files' area. This should work fine. For screenshots, you can also use any image hoster service (most are free) and then post the link to the picture.

#12 DanW

DanW

    Member - 1,000+

  • Gallery Owner
  • 1,002 posts
  • Joined 2 Years, 5 Months and 8 Days Ago.

Posted 20 May 2012 - 09:05 PM

Also I'm not sure which entry denotes the directx choice, but have you selected directx10 by any chance?

Some addon planes don't support it, and they appear white.

Dan.W

Banner_MJC9.png


#13 ctiger

ctiger

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Members
  • 935 posts
  • Joined 9 Years, 11 Months and 16 Days Ago.

Posted 20 May 2012 - 09:09 PM

Thanks guys for all your help. I do think Bojote made some changes to my configuration thru his website overall a year ago. Will let you know when I try your suggestions.

I have not used Dxt10.


Sent by Asus transformer
Carl
_____________________________________________________________________________________

#14 ctiger

ctiger

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Members
  • 935 posts
  • Joined 9 Years, 11 Months and 16 Days Ago.

Posted 21 May 2012 - 10:28 AM

Gear Up and Off points in the right direction, this sounds like shader stuff. Are you using any mods from e.g. Bojote? If so, you need to add
ALLOW_SHADER_30=1
to the [GRAPHICS] section of the new fsx.cfg.


You guys are geniuses, Gear Up and Off you tried to tell me at the begining but I didn't listen. CooIP I added what you mentioned and the creation of a new FSX.cfg worked with no more "ghosts" and all is well.
Taipan, thanks for you help as well. This was another learning excerise for me. Now to get on with doing some tweaking using Srdan's Software Guide.
Carl
_____________________________________________________________________________________

#15 ghutcheon

ghutcheon

    Member

  • Members
  • 288 posts
  • Joined 6 Years, 8 Months and 16 Days Ago.

Posted 21 May 2012 - 11:48 AM

I had the exact same issue today when I tried to delete the fsx.cfg file - aircraft showed as ghosts in the selection window with ghost prop and landing gear floating above the aircraft and graphics in the sim awful - solid blue for water, trees as blocks etc. Was going to post on the forum for help but found this thread. I have the shader mod installed. Thanks to all! I wanted to delete my fsx.cfg file as for some reason I had 2 instances of my my new GTX 680 and one of my now removed GTX 480 listed under the [DISPLAY.Device.NVIDIA GeForce GTX x80.0] line in the file.
Greg Hutcheon