Jump to content

  •  


   
Where Flight Simulation Enthusiasts Gather from Around the World!

HOT SPOTS:
 rarrow.gif The 2014 Demographic Survey! - NEW!

rarrow.gif What's new in the Library

rarrow.gif Member Blogs

rarrow.gif Member Reviews - Contribute a Review!
rarrow.gif Bargain Hunters Forum
rarrow.gif Classified, Want, Swap Ads

rarrow.gif AVSIM Team Speak System

rarrow.gif Video Library
rarrow.gif Image Gallery
rarrow.gif Community Links Library
rarrow.gif Tutorials

rarrow.gif FS9. FSX & P3D CTD Guide

rarrow.gif FSX / P3D Configuration Guide

rarrow.gif AVSIM Publications 



Simulation's Premier Resource!

AVSIM is a free service to the flight and simulation communities. Please help us keep it that way. Donate what you can today! Thank you for your support!











. . .
Photo
- - - - -

DX10 Preview WITH Anti-Aliasing - SMAA Injector


  • Please log in to reply
38 replies to this topic

#1 CryogenicPilot

CryogenicPilot

    Member

  • Members
  • 58 posts
  • Joined 5 Years, 8 Months and 6 Days Ago.

Posted 13 July 2012 - 12:16 AM

Yes, it's true. Lo and behold...

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

Here is how you do it:

1) Download the injectSMAA package:

http://mrhaandi.blog...injectsmaa.html

2) Extract the appropriate DX10 files and place them in your main FSX directory...

C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Games\Microsoft Flight Simulator X

3) Load FSX in DX10 Preview Mode and make sure AA is NOT checked (it doesn't work anyway).

You should no longer have unsightly "jaggies" marring your DX10 flight experience :lol:

If you combine this with the DX10 shader fixes for flickering runway textures, night lighting, etc., you should have an almost perfect DX10
experience MS and Aces Studio originally intended.

BONUS: The package also contains a DX9 version, too. This will allow FSX to run in DX9 with AA, but with no performance hit compared to using
the in-game AA setting. So, all DX9 users have to do is extract the corresponding DX9 files to your main FSX directory and UNTICK the Anti Aliasing
setting in the Display properties... Yet you will still have AA in-game!

Disclaimer: I tested this on an ATI 4870x2, so I don't know if it will work with Nvidia. However, there is no reason it shouldn't since both types of cards
are capable of Subpixel Morphological Antialiasing and have been for a long time, actually.

If you have any questions, post them here and I will try and help.

I discovered this AA "utility" because I play the"Grand Theft Auto IV" games on the PC and the console ports have no AA, so the games looks horrible without
this graphical mod even at 1080, my native resolution.

Help AVSIM continue to serve you!
Please donate today!

#2 dhwang

dhwang

    Member

  • Members
  • 63 posts
  • Joined 5 Years, 9 Months and 20 Days Ago.

Posted 13 July 2012 - 02:26 AM

Nice pictures!

Could you test flying over Manhattan with Max Scenery and tell us your FPS? Thanks!

#3 gboz

gboz

    Member

  • Members
  • 651 posts
  • Joined 4 Years, 1 Month and 7 Days Ago.

Posted 13 July 2012 - 07:06 AM

Tried this with my GTX670 but unfortunately for me it did not work at all under DX10 preview.
I get better results with straight in-game AA.

gb.

#4 gliderdriver

gliderdriver

    Member

  • Members
  • 212 posts
  • Joined 4 Years, 8 Months and 13 Days Ago.

Posted 13 July 2012 - 07:16 AM

Good call CP - I confirm this works for ATI HD5870, but oh dear, we still get the image tearing, no vsync thing me for DX10, and I can't detect any increase in frame rates.

You might care to try JSGME enabler:

http://forum.1cpubli...ead.php?t=28978

This is a lovely little utility, so easy to use, that injects DX9 or DX 10 SMAA and FSAA into your game, and just as easily takes it all out again at the click of a button, from those nice people over at IL2 Cliffs of Dover.

Make sure you turn all your CCC AA switches to 'Application controlled' and then turn off AA in FSX.

I use the DX9 SMAA, because it gives a nice crisp image, no jaggies, good frame rates and I don't have to ponder over those over-complicated CCC settings I can't be bothered to learn about.

#5 toedv

toedv

    Member

  • Members
  • 138 posts
  • Joined 2 Years, 7 Months

Posted 13 July 2012 - 08:11 AM

Tried it. Now I get a black screen when starting FSX. Have to do a hard re-boot to get out of it. Be careful.

#6 TheBFG

TheBFG

    Member

  • Members
  • 366 posts
  • Joined 4 Years, 11 Months and 13 Days Ago.

Posted 13 July 2012 - 08:40 AM

Be careful.


Why? If it works, keep it. If it doesn't, delete a couple of files. It's not "dangerous" :)

#7 toedv

toedv

    Member

  • Members
  • 138 posts
  • Joined 2 Years, 7 Months

Posted 13 July 2012 - 09:08 AM

Why? If it works, keep it. If it doesn't, delete a couple of files. It's not "dangerous" :)

OK, Don't be careful.

#8 CryogenicPilot

CryogenicPilot

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Members
  • 58 posts
  • Joined 5 Years, 8 Months and 6 Days Ago.

Posted 13 July 2012 - 09:17 AM

Good call CP - I confirm this works for ATI HD5870, but oh dear, we still get the image tearing, no vsync thing me for DX10, and I can't detect any increase in frame rates.

You might care to try JSGME enabler:

http://forum.1cpubli...ead.php?t=28978


Thanks, for the heads up! :lol:

According to the thread, it's the same utility? Well, injectSAA is based on the one in the thread it seems, so they are at the very least cousins.

As stated, this utility might not work for everybody depending on hardware and graphics card control panel settings.

However, I can assure you it is not dangerous. It will not damage your hardware. The hard crash another poster experienced was probably due to it being
incompatible with something else on their system because I have had ZERO crashes, and the benefits -- DX10 with AA -- Are why I thought I would share this with
the FS Community considering significant progress is being made getting DX10 playable for a lot of simmers, finally, and breathing even more life back into FSX.

#9 CryogenicPilot

CryogenicPilot

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Members
  • 58 posts
  • Joined 5 Years, 8 Months and 6 Days Ago.

Posted 13 July 2012 - 09:36 PM

Nice pictures!

Could you test flying over Manhattan with Max Scenery and tell us your FPS? Thanks!


I'll do you one better:

Posted Image

Posted Image

These scaled down screencaps were done using Aerosoft's Manhattan X in DX10 with the SMAA injector active at 1920 x 1080.

I was able to maintain a steady 31 FPS (locked) vs. 15-21 FPS with DX9, and the SMAA injector active.

The settings I use for the Aerosoft cities (San Francisco, and New York) are "Very Dense" for the Scenery Complexity and Autogen Density.
No traffic (land or air). Anything above these setting while using these particular addons and my system drops to single digits. This is why
the "U.S. Cities" series are a good benchmark tool considering how demanding they are.

#10 dhwang

dhwang

    Member

  • Members
  • 63 posts
  • Joined 5 Years, 9 Months and 20 Days Ago.

Posted 14 July 2012 - 01:06 AM

I was able to maintain a steady 31 FPS (locked) vs. 15-21 FPS with DX9, and the SMAA injector active.


Thanks for the comparison. However, My Nvidia GTX560 Ti doesn't seem to work in DX10 with SMAA. DX9 is better but there is a shimmering problem. Another problem is SMAA doesn't work well with very thin line like the ones of AirCreation Trike Ultralight.

#11 paula

paula

    Member

  • Members
  • 448 posts
  • Joined 4 Years, 4 Months and 4 Days Ago.

Posted 14 July 2012 - 10:47 AM

I would like to give it a try but the rare thing is, as soon as I click preview and restart than the fsx comes up with a very little screen.
Even if I reset the size within fsx (i.e 3840x1080)than with fly button it comes again with the small one.
Any idea?
paula

#12 dhwang

dhwang

    Member

  • Members
  • 63 posts
  • Joined 5 Years, 9 Months and 20 Days Ago.

Posted 14 July 2012 - 10:19 PM

I would like to give it a try but the rare thing is, as soon as I click preview and restart than the fsx comes up with a very little screen.
Even if I reset the size within fsx (i.e 3840x1080)than with fly button it comes again with the small one.
Any idea?


I guess it is a bug of SMAA Injector. Try changing your desktop resolution to 3840x1080 before running FSX.

#13 paula

paula

    Member

  • Members
  • 448 posts
  • Joined 4 Years, 4 Months and 4 Days Ago.

Posted 15 July 2012 - 03:04 AM

my desktop is always at that size.
I noticed if I do not have smaa than the problem is still there.
that means if I use preview anyhow that the screen is small.
so probebly something wrong with that button although I remember that in the beginning the preview worked.
may be I should try the repair fsx but some people say that repair is not good of fsx.
paula

#14 francy25

francy25

    Member

  • Members
  • 25 posts
  • Joined 4 Years, 4 Months and 15 Days Ago.

Posted 15 July 2012 - 03:40 AM

Tried this with my GTX670 but unfortunately for me it did not work at all under DX10 preview.
I get better results with straight in-game AA.

gb.


Same here!
My FSX runs on a GTX670 (ASUS DCII) with an i7 2600 ocked at 4 Ghz. (My signature is out-of-date)
On 3D models this SMAA works, but with textures (especially with the NGX textures and with runway and taxyway lines) it seems that there isn't any AA!
The only way to get it working, is to set the AA from nVidia Inspector (8xSQ + 2xSS + FXAA).

Francesco Monzeglio, Italy.

My Specs: MoBo: ASRock Extreme 6 Z77 CPU: Intel i7-3770K @ 4.5 Ghz GPU: Nvidia  GeForce GTX780Ti 3 Gb DDR5 RAM: Corsair LP 4x4 Gb DDR3 1600 Mhz
PMDG JS4100, B737 NGX, B777-200LR/F/300
Let's fly together!

 


#15 Inactive Member_firehawk44_***

Inactive Member_firehawk44_***
  • Guests
  • Joined 44 Years, 9 Months

Posted 15 July 2012 - 08:01 AM

It didn't work for me. Got a black screen on my 30 inch monitor but zoomed in graphics began to show on my 24 inch monitor and fps went to 1 fps. Aircraft windows had Microsoft logo. I have nVidia Inspector and a 580GTX video card. Thanks for posting anyway.

Best regards,
Jim





   
Where Flight Simulation Enthusiasts Gather from Around the World!