Sign in to follow this  
Anxu00

Airport Runway misaligned with ILS approach for default KSEA

Hi,

Newbie here. I was trying my hand with the LD-767 following Mike Ray tutorial doing an autoland on runway 16L using ILS. The plane lands fine, but it was landing on the grass strip parallel to the runway. This happens with the default KSEA airport. The AIRAC cycle is the default 0701 that came with LD767. Can someone tell me what is wrong?

Thanks

Vu Pham

i7-10700K 5.2 GHz OC, 64 GB RAM, GTX4070Ti, SSD for Sim, SSD for system. MSFS2020

Not sure if this is the problem but I would update the AIRAC. A while back there was a real world update to a lot of airports runway heading due to a shift in the magnetic north pole. Updating MAY fix it.

Jay

Interesting. I would have thought that the default KSEA should be closer to the January 2007 AIRAC shipped with the LDS-767. It looks exactly like the airport runway shifted to the left, if the scenery would shift to the right by a few meters, the plane would land right on top of it. I heard of airport changes and runway got delete so using a later AIRAC would be correct in real world, but unless the FSX scenery is changed to match, you would see grass instead of asphalt. But this is weird. I gather no one see this but me.

Thanks

Vu Pham

i7-10700K 5.2 GHz OC, 64 GB RAM, GTX4070Ti, SSD for Sim, SSD for system. MSFS2020

I updated my AIRAC to 1209 and switched to ORBX PNW KSEA and I am still seeing this issue. It looks as if the plane lateral navigation is off by a few hundred meters to the left of the runway. Using ILS16R also has the same problem.

Vu Pham

Hi

Not sure what your installation is but this come sometimes happen with conflicting scenery files.

I am no expert but I have had this happen to me and caused the issue you report.

There is a bit of software called something like "fsx airport scanner (FAS)" that helps in detecting these conflicts.