Sign in to follow this  
PilotRob

Tutorial 8: Transitioning to jets

Hi

Forgive me if this has already been addressed but I've searched and can't find an answer

I'm pretty new to FSX and have progressed to Tutorial 8 without too much trouble. Now I'm having a throttle issue with the jet (CRJ700)

The N1 thrust never seems to reach the lower limits that I set ,staying at a minimum of around 44%

On approach to Glasgow, I'm told to throttle to idle and descend, using approx 7 deg dive to keep speed to 210 kts. As my engines don't drop below 40%, I can't easily achieve 210 kts, then i'm told to decrease speed more and there's nothing to do except nose up.

In general the instructors instructions don't correspond to what the aircraft is doing/needs (i.e. increase thrust to keep speed up when I'm already struggling to keep speed DOWN)

The required thrust (white triangle) follows my slider setting so I'm sure that the controller is fine.

I can actually get the aircraft on the ground in one piece but not in the way my instructor suggests, I feel like I'm in an episode of "Mayday"

Am I missing something or is there a bug in the mission.

Cheers

Rob

MS FSX SP1

Thrustmaster Top Gun Pro Joystick (Pretty old but still works)

Windows 7 ultimate

Reasonable spec PC

Might be your thrust lever needs calibration? Try using the F1 (idle) and F4 (full throttle) keys and compare to the range of your thrust lever. You could try the flight using Free Flight mode instead of the mission to see if it works any differently.

I haven't done that mission in a while, but I remember once landing without actually getting clearance. The instructor seemed quite embarrassed. :blush:

Barry Friedman