Jump to content

  •  


   
Where Flight Simulation Enthusiasts Gather from Around the World!

HOT SPOTS:
 rarrow.gif The 2014 Demographic Survey! - NEW!

rarrow.gif What's new in the Library

rarrow.gif Member Blogs

rarrow.gif Member Reviews - Contribute a Review!
rarrow.gif Bargain Hunters Forum
rarrow.gif Classified, Want, Swap Ads

rarrow.gif AVSIM Team Speak System

rarrow.gif Video Library
rarrow.gif Image Gallery
rarrow.gif Community Links Library
rarrow.gif Tutorials

rarrow.gif FS9. FSX & P3D CTD Guide

rarrow.gif FSX / P3D Configuration Guide

rarrow.gif AVSIM Publications 



Simulation's Premier Resource!

AVSIM is a free service to the flight and simulation communities. Please help us keep it that way. Donate what you can today! Thank you for your support!











. . .
Photo
- - - - -

FSX, will great FPS ever be achievable consistently?


  • Please log in to reply
37 replies to this topic

#1 G-BANX

G-BANX

    Member

  • Members
  • 59 posts
  • Joined 3 Years, 1 Month and 29 Days Ago.

Posted 06 March 2013 - 05:52 PM

Over the last 12 months I have spent time effort and money upgrading my aircraft, scenery and equipment to enhance my flight simulator experience. I'm still not receiving good fps all the time and really it's frustrating. I'm hoping if I post my info then people will be able to offer advice and info on how I can improve my fps if its possible. Here's the specs:

HARDWARE
i5 3.3 overclocked to 4.4
Twin frozr GeForce 570 2gb
8gb ram
1tb SATA drive with a seperate partition for FSX

FSX
fsx delux and acceleration
******* 'Bojote' Altuve CFG tweaking tool
Uiautomation.dll
Bufferpools tweak set to 40000000
Fsx fps set to unlimited and 3rd party fps limiter in place (40fps)
Run from batch file a friend set up for me
Running ORBX England
Running UK2000 scenery across all areas + bristol xtreme and Manchester xtreme
Running Rex weather
Running ultimate traffic 2
Using PMDG 737ngx


That's my full set up. My fps is great in all UK2K airports except the Xtreme or any London area when flying pmdg when they drop to 10/15fps. Also at airports such as Amsterdam schiphol where I'm running 0 scenery add-ons the frames drop right down. If anyone can suggest helping me improve to just a steady 25+ at the airports would be great. I would love to enhance my experience without the extra cash but maybe it just isn't achievable and ill have to buy a new system?

Help AVSIM continue to serve you!
Please donate today!

#2 Fox-Bat

Fox-Bat

    Member

  • Members
  • 227 posts
  • Joined 2 Years, 6 Months and 29 Days Ago.

Posted 06 March 2013 - 06:15 PM

FSX, will great FPS ever be achievable consistently?



Yeah, when pigs fly :(

#3 G-BANX

G-BANX

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Members
  • 59 posts
  • Joined 3 Years, 1 Month and 29 Days Ago.

Posted 06 March 2013 - 06:22 PM

Yeah, when pigs fly http://forum.avsim.net/public/style_emot...

LOL I think what I'm getting at is, am I doing anything wrong?

#4 NikkiA

NikkiA

    Member

  • Members
  • 298 posts
  • Joined 2 Years, 11 Months and 14 Days Ago.

Posted 06 March 2013 - 06:28 PM

Consistently? No, never. That's a goal that's simply not achievable with a significant amount of UGC.
"It's too small, IT'S....TOO...SMALL"

#5 RWFeldman

RWFeldman

    Member - 2,000+

  • Banned
  • 2,470 posts
  • Joined 2 Years, 2 Months and 25 Days Ago.

Posted 06 March 2013 - 06:29 PM

I'm beginning to wonder what I'm doing wrong? I have always had a constant 30 FPS with my current build. With every addon imaginable. well. it may drop to 28 FPS. Including about all PMDG, ORBX eyt products. Im not bragging, It really is strange when I read these post?

Rendi

 

KAB200_sig4.jpg

 

Rendi


#6 Fatback

Fatback

    Member

  • Members
  • 522 posts
  • Joined 2 Years, 6 Months and 28 Days Ago.

Posted 06 March 2013 - 06:35 PM

FSX's architecture (32 bit, cpu bound, etc. etc.) means that it will never fully take advantage of modern hardware. And the big advances in CPU speed and power are gone as Intel has moved to improving onboard graphics and energy consumption. So it will improve, but not at the same rate it has over the last few years and it will never be silky smooth and reliable flight sim platform in imho. But I'm enjoying it anyway!! :)

#7 G-BANX

G-BANX

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Members
  • 59 posts
  • Joined 3 Years, 1 Month and 29 Days Ago.

Posted 06 March 2013 - 06:44 PM

I'm loving it too but I just don't understand why I'm getting the 10/15fps slap in the face its driving me towards wiping out my bank account on a new system lol

If anyone has any suggestions on what I can do please comment

I'm beginning to wonder what I'm doing wrong? I have always had a constant 30 FPS with my current build. With every addon imaginable. well. it may drop to 28 FPS. Including about all PMDG, ORBX eyt products. Im not bragging, It really is strange when I read these post?

you're very lucky! Could you share your specs?

#8 UAE77L

UAE77L

    Member

  • Members
  • 335 posts
  • Joined 1 Year, 9 Months and 4 Days Ago.

Posted 06 March 2013 - 06:49 PM

When Lockheed Martin completely redevelops P3D i,e true 64bit, improved autogen, night lights improvements, proper weather engine that can imitate real life METARs with accuracy and no delays in order to simulate weather as it happens in real life, take advantage of GPU, real life physics, default scenery improvement such as landscape, able to run on all available cores, GPUs & rams (spreading out work load equally) and last but not least... give us some amazing fps 60+ (we're talking 4.3ghz 2500k or better)!

Boeing777_Banner_Pilot.jpg

Lionel

 


#9 Nathan3219

Nathan3219

    Stop Global Whining

  • Members
  • 691 posts
  • Joined 4 Years and 4 Days Ago.

Posted 06 March 2013 - 07:17 PM

When Lockheed Martin completely redevelops P3D i,e true 64bit, improved autogen, night lights improvements, proper weather engine that can imitate real life METARs with accuracy and no delays in order to simulate weather as it happens in real life, take advantage of GPU, real life physics, default scenery improvement such as landscape, able to run on all available cores, GPUs & rams (spreading out work load equally) and last but not least... give us some amazing fps 60+ (we're talking 4.3ghz 2500k or better)!


When this happens, let's hope that P3D doesn't suddenly become a Lockheed in-house only simulator with no public availability.

N. Carlin

My FSX Screenshots: http://s933.photobuc...FSX Screenshots

simcheck_sig_banner_cargo.jpg

 

 


#10 Bert Pieke

Bert Pieke

    Member - 5,000+

  • Members
  • 6,664 posts
  • Joined 12 Years, 5 Months and 19 Days Ago.

Posted 06 March 2013 - 07:37 PM

LOL I think what I'm getting at is, am I doing anything wrong?


You are not doing anything wrong - the detailed addon airports can bring any system to it's knees, especially with high traffic settings. Try lowering some settings (starting with traffic and weather) and see how far you have to go to get acceptable performance.
Bert

#11 vc10man

vc10man

    Member - 3,000+

  • Members
  • 3,015 posts
  • Joined 4 Years, 8 Months and 11 Days Ago.

Posted 06 March 2013 - 08:18 PM

London Airport scenery has been known to bring FPS down. I'm in a similar boat. Using Aerosoft's MegaAirports series, the FS2004-reworked London Heathrow is a crawler. Apparently Aerosoft are planning a newer version of it.
Rick Almeida

#12 TechguyMaxC

TechguyMaxC

    Member - 3,000+

  • Members
  • 3,312 posts
  • Joined 5 Years, 9 Months and 9 Days Ago.

Posted 06 March 2013 - 08:36 PM

I get 30-40 FPS in the NGX @ night in heavy weather @ FSDT KJFK in the ground, until UT2 kicks in and knocks that down to 20-25. If you can live without traffic 30+ FPS is achievable. Who wants that though?

Is your computer experiencing Blue screen errors? Download BlueScreenView and post a screenshot of the error.
BSODs related to overclocking and their solutions can be found in this thread @ Xtremesystems.
Want to get the most out of your shiny new Ivy Bridge/Haswell CPU? De-lid that bad boy!

R6025 errors? Read this.


#13 OldMaintChief

OldMaintChief

    Member

  • Members
  • 458 posts
  • Joined 6 Years, 4 Months and 10 Days Ago.

Posted 06 March 2013 - 10:13 PM

The BP is way too high (8M). That card should be 0. You, as others, might have better luck with Kosta's Guide.

Dave

#14 Scorp

Scorp

    Scorp

  • Members
  • 63 posts
  • Joined 4 Years, 11 Months and 29 Days Ago.

Posted 06 March 2013 - 10:32 PM

Ok people turn off the frame counter and watch the screen, if it is fluid with no stutters you have no problem. Really, the only way most people can see more than about 15 fps is with a counter. if you are getting 15 fps in heavy scenery with full AI and weather you don't have a problem !!!
Tommy

#15 DJJose

DJJose

    JoseCFII

  • Members
  • 1,963 posts
  • Joined 10 Years, 2 Months and 5 Days Ago.

Posted 06 March 2013 - 10:44 PM

I'm not sure if we will ever have high fps in FSX without lowering the settings and using lower AA settings.

FSX is CPU speed dependent and it looks like more cores is the future and not faster speeds. Therefore, we might never be able to run FSX as high as we would like to.

For now, buy a CPU (4 cores) and great cooler and OC the hell out of it. Then play with the FSX settings until you achieve acceptable fps.

Jose





   
Where Flight Simulation Enthusiasts Gather from Around the World!