Sign in to follow this  
bob34

Upgrade with decent results for FSX

Just reporting results because I know how sensitive the Intel / AMD / ATI / Nvidia owners all are because we all put money into our rigs and don't need to hear which is better.

Background:

I'm good with hardware installs and troubleshooting, and I understand what I read fairly well when I look at a spec sheet - but I'm far from an expert on the technical differences on how ATI/AMD/Intel/Nvidia handle different operations in FSX. It's just too mind boggling and in the end - I just want better performance.

FSX Platform:

Win 8 Pro - UT USA - AS-2012 (w/graphics @1024), GEX, MyTraffic and a host of commercial aircraft and freeware AFCAD's to get my airports somewhat realistic with the AI. I fly offline.

Test Aircraft - PMDG 737-900 NGX in the Virtual Cockpit w/ Track IR

Old Hardware - AMD 965 Phenom II @3.4 w/ Asus M4A88T-M/USB 3 and 8gb Corsair DDR3 @1366 - Samsung 500gb SSD    -   Video Card - ATI Radeon HD 5770 w/ 1gb

My video card settings are all "application controlled" since anything I did w/ AA/AF seemed to blur the heck out of the menus. And my FPS never changed much despite the mountains of advice on video settings.

FSX Settings

In game I've got traffic @40% w cars and boats @5%.  Weather @70mi I believe.   LOD @large     Scenery Complexity maxed and Autogen @ Normal. Water=Low 2x   Mesh/Texture 19m / 2m. Frames are set to unlimited.

Bojotie's shaders are installed and fsx.cfg is tweaked pretty much by his tool.

Old System Performance = Crazy. Nice frame rates based on numerous factors and bad frame rates on others. But to me - I can't accept reducing my scenery or weather - and I can't accept less than 15fps on major airport in the Virtual Cockpit.     So I went for the hardware upgrade on a budget of $500.

New Setup

Against a lot of advice, I couldn't help myself wondering what the AMD FX-8350 8 core CPU would do for me.