Sign in to follow this  
cvearl

Optimal settings for ATI users with FSX - Great Results!

Hello. Long time nVidia user here but I have been using ATI for a few years now and currently own a factory overclocked 2GB 6950 from HIS with great results. The last few nights I have been using FSX on another computer with a new 3GB 7950 from HIS. It worked fantastic as well. In both cases I am getting glass smooth framerates locked at 30 in ORBX scenery. On that note, occasionally I see posts from people not having the same luck and thought I would chime in on the best settings I have found for ATI in FSX after a few years experience.

These are MUST HAVE settings I would like to point out. Screenshots follow of these settings. With my 6950 I get fantastically smooth experience locked at 30 with Scenery Complexity set to Very high and Autogen to Dense. With the settings listed, I get no tearing, blurring, stutter or otherwise. I can go higher on autogen with the 7950 as well.

IN GAME SETTINGS

Lock Framerates at 30 (best practice)
Do NOT check Anti-aliasing. (enabling AA in game produces stutters when SSAA is enabled in driver)
Anisotropic must be enabled in game

IN ATI CCC DRIVER

Set AA to Override and AA to 4X
Filter = Standard Filter
Method = Super Sampling or you will get hard to read gauges
Anisotrophic to 16X
Quality set to High Quality
Surface Format Optimization Off Or you will get shimmering bad (critical setting)
Wait for Vertical Refresh OFF, unless application specifies

FSX CONFIG - The holy trinity.

Add these. This seems the best and cleanest from testing. I've tried allot of others to get same or degraded experience overall.

[Display]
WideViewAspect=True

[GRAPHICS]
HIGHMEMFIX=1
ForceFullScreenVSync=1

50DnH.jpg
yxch4.jpg

• Upvote 5

If you do not know where to find the FSX.CFG file to add those three lines to the config, in Windows 7 it is right here...

C:\Users\*yourusername*\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\FSX