Sign in to follow this  
kencnnrs

Flashing LCD's

Hi all, tried googling this with no success, after watching numerous real world 737 videos (not only 737's do this) I've noticed, particularly on takeoff and landing that the LCDS tend to be flashing as if shorting out.  I was wondering if anyone knew the cause or reason for this.  Just curious is all.

If you mean in RW videos, its a "video illusion". I don't really know how else to describe it. Basically the camera is filming at enough FPS to capture the LCD's refreshing at 60Hz (or whatever their refresh rate is). 

The same thing happens if you look at videos with older computer monitors (think CRT) in the background. 

As for when it becomes more apparent, maybe vibration differences from the engines running at certain speeds is making is easier for the camera to pick up on it at those particular times.

I'm not a camera expert. At all. I'm sure someone can give a more detailed/accurate answer. 

Just a video illusion was the last thing I would have thought it was.  Learn something everyday.   Thanks.

Stroboscopic effect:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rVSh-au_9aM

As Dave mentioned, it's the collisions between the refresh rates of the electronics and the capture rate of the video.

Also of note for newer simple cameras (GoPro, Contour, and smartphone cameras) is their use of CMOS processing (which is very vulnerable to vibration distortion):

Both effects could be causing the flashing that is not present in the real aircraft.  This is one of several reasons I always harp on YouTube "evidence."  Most people don't understand the shortcomings of recording equipment.

Kyle Rodgers

That guitar video was amazing.