Jump to content

  •  


   
Where Flight Simulation Enthusiasts Gather from Around the World!

There have been 491 of your fellow community members and guests in the forums and elsewhere on AVSIM within the last 15 minutes!

SUBMIT YOUR NEWS TO AVSIM

HOT SPOTS:
 rarrow.gif What's new in the Library
rarrow.gif The Market Place!

rarrow.gif What's New In the Market

rarrow.gif What's Popular In the Market

rarrow.gif Member Blogs

rarrow.gif AVSIM Social Groups - NEW!

rarrow.gif Member Reviews
rarrow.gif Bargain Hunters Forum
rarrow.gif Classified, Want, Swap Ads

rarrow.gif AVSIM Team Speak System - NEW!

rarrow.gif Video Library
rarrow.gif Live Video Streaming
rarrow.gif Image Gallery
rarrow.gif Community Links Library
rarrow.gif Tutorials

rarrow.gif FS9. FSX & P3D CTD Guide

rarrow.gif FSX / P3D Configuration Guide

rarrow.gif AVSIM Publications 



Simulation's Premier Resource!

AVSIM is a free service to the flight and simulation communities. Please help us keep it that way. Donate what you can today! Thank you for your support!




AVSIM Market Place
Featured Products!








. . .
Photo
- - - - -

B200 ADF and VOR Navigation Problem.

vor adf b200 king air navigation

  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 conrex1

conrex1

    Member

  • Members
  • 8 posts
  • Joined 1 Year, 7 Months and 10 Days Ago.

Posted 21 June 2013 - 06:23 PM

Hi,

 

I'm fairly new to the Carenado B200 King Air and I'm quickly getting use to it's systems in the cockpit. However there are a few navigation issues I'm having and would love some advice or help. 

 

Whenever I type in a VOR code, and are in limits of range my aircraft never seems to follow it, nor ADF. I'm not to sure what 'PRE, ACT or XFR' are on the course knob, but I'm convinced it's something to do with my problem. 

 

I'm doing everything else correct (I think) with the active bearing points, and I understand how the course control symbol works. I'm also pressing the 'NAV' button with my autopilot, but nothing seems to happen and my aircraft will just fly straight not turning towards the VOR/ADF.

 

If anyone could help me with this matter it would be gratefully appreciated.

 

Thank you,

 

Conner :) 



Help AVSIM continue to serve you!
Please donate today!

#2 Bert Pieke

Bert Pieke

    Member - 5,000+

  • Members
  • 6,193 posts
  • Joined 12 Years, 1 Month and 17 Days Ago.
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:CAM3, BC, Canada
  • My PC
  • My Simulator

Posted 21 June 2013 - 06:56 PM

OK, a couple of things.. flying towards an ADF has to be done manually in HDG mode, just like any other aircraft..

Flying towards a VOR, requires three steps:

- GPS in VLOC mode, not GPS mode

- VOR tuned in on the active NAV1 radio

- CDI deviation bar centered

You should see a CDI deviation on the HSI as you turn the CRS knob, if the VOR is tuned in.

#3 conrex1

conrex1

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Members
  • 8 posts
  • Joined 1 Year, 7 Months and 10 Days Ago.

Posted 22 June 2013 - 07:19 AM

Hi Bert,

Thanks for your reply.

My problem is all sorted now. Thanks for your help :-).

I do have one question. Is DME the same as ADF in terms of flying with normal heading with the autopilot ?

Thanks again,

Conner :-)

#4 Bert Pieke

Bert Pieke

    Member - 5,000+

  • Members
  • 6,193 posts
  • Joined 12 Years, 1 Month and 17 Days Ago.
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:CAM3, BC, Canada
  • My PC
  • My Simulator

Posted 22 June 2013 - 08:39 AM

Not really..

DME is a device for finding the Distance to a VOR.

http://en.wikipedia....uring_equipment

ADF is a device for finding the Direction to a non-directional radio beacon (NDB).

http://en.wikipedia....inder_.28ADF.29

#5 conrex1

conrex1

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Members
  • 8 posts
  • Joined 1 Year, 7 Months and 10 Days Ago.

Posted 22 June 2013 - 08:50 AM

Okay. Thanks for your reply Bert. Been a big help.

 

Conner



#6 no cigar

no cigar

    Member

  • Members
  • 9 posts
  • Joined 2 Years, 11 Months and 19 Days Ago.

Posted 21 March 2014 - 09:50 AM

Sorry to dig up an old thread but I just got this bird last night and was wondering about adjusting CRS and HDG from the pilot's side manual CDI. There appears to be no knobs except on the copilot side and they only adjust the digital CDI. Is this how all Kingair are? Or am I just missing something?

 

See the highlighted area for reference. http://imgur.com/FklpAGz

 

FklpAGz.jpg



#7 Bert Pieke

Bert Pieke

    Member - 5,000+

  • Members
  • 6,193 posts
  • Joined 12 Years, 1 Month and 17 Days Ago.
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:CAM3, BC, Canada
  • My PC
  • My Simulator

Posted 21 March 2014 - 11:21 AM

Your picture shows the RMI... no HDG or CRS adjustments there..

 

http://en.wikipedia....cator_.28RMI.29



#8 Jetblst

Jetblst

    Member

  • Members
  • 298 posts
  • Joined 4 Years, 1 Month and 9 Days Ago.
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Atlanta Georgia Area
  • My PC
  • My Simulator
  • About Me

Posted 29 March 2014 - 01:28 AM

To add to Bert's answer, you can use the push buttons on the RMI to select different NAV stations and sources.  You could have one needle pointing at an NDB (the ADF is the radio that receives the freq from the NDB) for now just know that one, or both of those arrows point at either an NDB, VOR, COMBO, or BOTH.  What that is helpful for is station passage of a Locator Outer Marker on the Instrument Landing System.

 

Normally you'd have one needle pointing at the LOM the other one pointing to the ILS on the ground.  OR you could use the other needle to point at a nearby VOR in order to establish a FIX (Intersection of a cross radial and the final approach course of an ILS) along in instrument approach in case of no outer marker, inner marker, or LOM as the case may be.

 

Now with the advent of GPS and Garmin 530s as we have in the B200 this sort of instrument is really not used as primary but as backup to the GPS as you have a lot better situational awareness with a moving GPS map.

 

I like an RMI as that was a really nice piece of equipment if you know how to use it, and you do not have a GPS.



#9 Jetblst

Jetblst

    Member

  • Members
  • 298 posts
  • Joined 4 Years, 1 Month and 9 Days Ago.
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Atlanta Georgia Area
  • My PC
  • My Simulator
  • About Me

Posted 29 March 2014 - 02:01 AM

It sort of appears not me that you are looking for the CDI and HDG knobs to be co-located on the HSI.  They are not.  They are located on the autopilot panel (SHIFT 4).  And yes that is how almost every King Air B200 is setup.  







   
Where Flight Simulation Enthusiasts Gather from Around the World!