Jump to content

  •  


   
Where Flight Simulation Enthusiasts Gather from Around the World!

There have been 464 of your fellow community members and guests in the forums and elsewhere on AVSIM within the last 15 minutes!

SUBMIT YOUR NEWS TO AVSIM

HOT SPOTS:
 rarrow.gif What's new in the Library
rarrow.gif The Market Place!

rarrow.gif What's New In the Market

rarrow.gif What's Popular In the Market

rarrow.gif Member Blogs

rarrow.gif AVSIM Social Groups - NEW!

rarrow.gif Member Reviews
rarrow.gif Bargain Hunters Forum
rarrow.gif Classified, Want, Swap Ads

rarrow.gif AVSIM Team Speak System - NEW!

rarrow.gif Video Library
rarrow.gif Live Video Streaming
rarrow.gif Image Gallery
rarrow.gif Community Links Library
rarrow.gif Tutorials

rarrow.gif FS9. FSX & P3D CTD Guide

rarrow.gif FSX / P3D Configuration Guide

rarrow.gif AVSIM Publications 



Simulation's Premier Resource!

AVSIM is a free service to the flight and simulation communities. Please help us keep it that way. Donate what you can today! Thank you for your support!




AVSIM Market Place
Featured Products!








. . .
Photo

777 freezing


  • Please log in to reply
225 replies to this topic

#26 NZ255

NZ255

    Member

  • Members
  • 130 posts
  • Joined 5 Years, 4 Months and 16 Days Ago.
  • Gender:Male

Posted 14 September 2013 - 06:04 AM

Me too, froze with sound for 10 minutes a couple of times. Was running rex wx, and the 777. No ezca.

Help AVSIM continue to serve you!
Please donate today!

#27 Dean_EGTC

Dean_EGTC

    Member

  • Members
  • 856 posts
  • Joined 12 Years, 1 Month and 18 Days Ago.
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:BedfordShire, UK
  • Interests:Photography

Posted 15 September 2013 - 03:56 PM

I bought the T7 today and have just ran the tutorial flight.  The whole trip was plagued by 4-5 sec freezes every 2 mins or so.  Extremely infuriating.



#28 Vic1

Vic1

    Member

  • Members
  • 441 posts
  • Joined 6 Years, 8 Months and 23 Days Ago.
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:15 mins from EGLL

Posted 15 September 2013 - 04:44 PM

couple of freezes here too. both unfroze after about 5 mins I opened task manager tried everything still heard sound was about to exit fs first time but fixed itself without my help it seemed and all fine for rest of flight. kav

#29 JC75

JC75

    Member

  • Members
  • 615 posts
  • Joined 6 Years, 3 Months and 1 Day

Posted 15 September 2013 - 05:13 PM

Just froze again, EGPH to EGLL, stutters everynow and then on flight down, then just on base to 27 at EGLL, froze, sound still playing(including the rain) but whole screen froze.

 

No EZCA removed that ages ago, 

Using OPUS for weather remoted from another PC.

Along with AES Remote on Another PC

 

UK200 Scenery and ORBX UK.

 

Have a go flight gear and flap unit, so that software is running in background.

Wasnt online but FSINN would have ran its FWINN copilot module in background

Linda running for some control mapping

FSPUIC latest version

 

 

Overclocked PC running i2600k at 4.8, 8gb ram, ati card, overclocked. running 3 22inch monitors.

Running on Windows 7  - Windows on a SSD, Fsx on its Own SSD, 

Unitstalled realtek Sound drivers.

 

Dont have pauses with NGX or any other aircraft.

 

Very difficult to understand why, as I have done long flights, with no big freeze other than the couple of second pauses.

Flight before this freeze was EGBB to EGPH no freeze, flown TNCM to KJFK no freeze and various other long hauls that have either had no freeze, have frozen or OOM.

 

Yet I have had multiple freezes before when taking off get to about 80kts and whole sim freezes and stays that way.

Have had various OOM on occasions, but seem to have fixed them.

 

In time its taken to write this its still frozen.

 

Back to m NGX I think - prefer it anyhow, 777 bit boring to fly, so automated virtually dont even need to touch it! Will be looking forward to the more manual 747 instead, for the long haul.

 

We so need someone to build us a better Simulator than FSX!



#30 Dicko

Dicko

    Member

  • Members
  • 771 posts
  • Joined 5 Years, 10 Months and 10 Days Ago.
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia
  • My PC
  • My Simulator

Posted 16 September 2013 - 03:53 AM

2 pauses for about 5 minutes while crossing the pond. Not happy.

#31 Richard McDonald Woods

Richard McDonald Woods

    Member

  • Members
  • 727 posts
  • Joined 7 Years, 8 Months
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Winchester, UK
  • Interests:Hiking, classical music, genetics, B777 simming, politics
  • My PC
  • My Simulator
  • About Me

Posted 17 September 2013 - 12:57 PM

Pause for ~3 minutes crossing the pond. PMDG777X and AS2012 only running.



#32 cyberpilot

cyberpilot

    Member

  • Members
  • 99 posts
  • Joined 9 Years, 11 Months and 17 Days Ago.

Posted 17 September 2013 - 03:22 PM

I've been plagued with pauses too, typically up to 5 minus in duration before everything resumes as normal. 

They are very erratic with some flights being pause-free while others get two or three. 

They nearly always occur 30 mins or so into the flight when the 777 is at cruise level.

Initially I suspected that OPUS was the culprit but I've pretty much ruled that out now.

Doesn't happen with any other aircraft and I have to say it's pretty darn frustrating.

Would be nice to think that a fix is on the way. :rolleyes:

 

Frank



#33 SKEWR

SKEWR

    Member

  • Members
  • 835 posts
  • Joined 4 Years, 10 Months and 6 Days Ago.
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:In and around KEWR/KLDJ
  • My PC
  • My Simulator

Posted 17 September 2013 - 07:34 PM

I was able to track down the source of my crashes/freezes. For me I had an idea it was the sound stuff as I was getting freeze/stutter at ~5% N1 on engine start. I noticed that there is a change in sound at around that point. I know I recently downloaded a CODEC for GOM player that I uninstalled and then I checked the FSX in game sound device. Turns out my FSX was NOT setup for my headphones. I changed it over and I have not had any issues on my three successful flights. I doubt my fixes are the cure for everyone, but I did want to share something that worked for me.



#34 cyberpilot

cyberpilot

    Member

  • Members
  • 99 posts
  • Joined 9 Years, 11 Months and 17 Days Ago.

Posted 17 September 2013 - 07:43 PM

Another 5 min freeze today while in the cruise.

Happened just as I clicked on Lvl Chg for a step climb.

 

Frank



#35 Richard McDonald Woods

Richard McDonald Woods

    Member

  • Members
  • 727 posts
  • Joined 7 Years, 8 Months
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Winchester, UK
  • Interests:Hiking, classical music, genetics, B777 simming, politics
  • My PC
  • My Simulator
  • About Me

Posted 18 September 2013 - 09:50 AM

Just had a torrid time into EGLL. 777 freezes about every 5 mins, so my hunch is that the position save (set to 5 mins) is causing this. I also suspect that my constant Squawkbox 4 disconnects are due to its detecting a loss of activity in the 777. Makes online approach to EGLL extremely difficult to handle.

Only a hunch, though.



#36 olli4740

olli4740

    Miser (unless it comes to FSX!)

  • Members
  • 4,301 posts
  • Joined 3 Years, 2 Months
  • Gender:Male
  • My PC
  • My Simulator

Posted 19 September 2013 - 05:26 AM

Had freezes with a variety of aircraft recently.

 

Updated FSUIPC (unregistered) to the latest version available and haven't noticed anóther freeze since.



#37 Morvious

Morvious

    Member

  • Members
  • 135 posts
  • Joined 9 Months and 24 Days Ago.
  • Gender:Male
  • My Simulator

Posted 19 September 2013 - 06:23 AM

I didn't had much trouble in my first flights with the 777 but now it seems to hang every flight for some time (5 till 10 minutes).

 

The first time it happened I was on a OMDB-KSFO route over Greenland and restarted FSX (Killing FSX). I thought it was caused by REX because that was the first time I used it again and the next flight it happened as well but todays flight was without REX.

 

At least now I know that if you don't touch the sim it won't crash.



#38 301ad

301ad

    Member

  • Members
  • 5 posts
  • Joined 2 Years, 1 Month and 2 Days Ago.
  • Gender:Male

Posted 19 September 2013 - 07:04 AM

I didn't had much trouble in my first flights with the 777 but now it seems to hang every flight for some time (5 till 10 minutes).

 

The first time it happened I was on a OMDB-KSFO route over Greenland and restarted FSX (Killing FSX). I thought it was caused by REX because that was the first time I used it again and the next flight it happened as well but todays flight was without REX.

 

 

Mine starts freezing over Greenland, too!

 

Flying KJFK-VHHH, she hums along nicely until somewhere over Greenland, then I see repeated freezes lasting 5 to 15 minutes, but if I let it go it eventually seems to somehow settle down after heading south over Asia and then I don't see any more freezes until the end of the flight.  I've been wondering whether the length of the flights I've been attempting has something to do with this.  It only seems to start when I'm a good 5 or 6 hours into a 15+ hour flight.

 

I've tried disabling all my extras, including FSUIPC autosave, Opus weather and UT2, but still get the freezes.

 

Another thing I tried was to delete my Logbook.bin file.  I found some old forum messages indicating that it could be a source of freezes.  That hasn't cured the problem, either, although at first it seemed that I was getting the freezes less frequently.

 

Frustrating.



#39 301ad

301ad

    Member

  • Members
  • 5 posts
  • Joined 2 Years, 1 Month and 2 Days Ago.
  • Gender:Male

Posted 19 September 2013 - 07:58 AM

Also, I've noticed that the 777 continues to burn fuel while in this frozen state.  When my freezes end, the plane has not moved during the duration of the freeze, but there is less fuel on board.

 

I wish I knew what that meant.



#40 hopskip

hopskip

    Member - 1,000+

  • Members
  • 1,920 posts
  • Joined 11 Years, 11 Months and 23 Days Ago.
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:YMML/YMEN
  • Interests:Flight Simulation, FSX, WorldFlight, VATSIM, Australia, youtube, Not being in a Virtual Airline
  • My PC
  • My Simulator
  • About Me

Posted 19 September 2013 - 09:13 AM


At least now I know that if you don't touch the sim it won't crash.


don't be so sure. I just froze mid pacific about 2 hrs into a klax-yssy.

Took off, monitoring VAS which never got above 2.1gb. Was watching TV for around an hour.

Freeze to white screen not responding without interacting with the pc at all for a little over an hour.


#41 pinlifter

pinlifter

    MD-11 Captain

  • Members
  • 925 posts
  • Joined 1 Year, 6 Months and 13 Days Ago.

Posted 19 September 2013 - 10:59 AM

FSUIPC autosave was the culprit on my machine.  I disabled autosave after about the 3rd flight and have not had a single freeze since.



#42 chargersrt10

chargersrt10

    Member

  • Members
  • 12 posts
  • Joined 1 Year, 9 Months and 4 Days Ago.
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Toronto,Ontario
  • Interests:FSX, Cars, Automotive, Aviation,
  • My PC
  • My Simulator
  • About Me

Posted 19 September 2013 - 11:39 AM

Does said "Autosave" occur on a NON regestered version of FSUIPC. If so, how does one go about disabling it?



#43 301ad

301ad

    Member

  • Members
  • 5 posts
  • Joined 2 Years, 1 Month and 2 Days Ago.
  • Gender:Male

Posted 19 September 2013 - 11:53 AM

Unfortunately, although it seems to have helped some people, disabling autosave did not stop my freezes.



#44 yycvor

yycvor

    Member

  • Members
  • 272 posts
  • Joined 3 Years, 8 Months and 5 Days Ago.
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:CYYC
  • Interests:Aviation, Hockey, Baseball

Posted 19 September 2013 - 10:50 PM

DISREGARD POST, specific issue I had and posted about, has been solved



#45 pete_auau

pete_auau

    Member - 3,000+

  • Members
  • 3,579 posts
  • Joined 5 Years, 10 Months and 9 Days Ago.
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:australia
  • My Simulator

Posted 20 September 2013 - 12:34 AM

Any of you running REX? I had this issue as well, stopped using REX the freezing stopped. I'll check for REX updates and see if I can use it on long haul flights.

Cheers,
Todd

Using  rexe here  with no issues



#46 canuck21a

canuck21a

    New Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 3 Years, 1 Month and 18 Days Ago.

Posted 20 September 2013 - 05:05 PM

I am a recent purchaser of PMDG and the 777.

 

I have just started to go through the tutorial after making certain that my FSX and PC configuration were up to recommendations.

 

While programming the CDU I noticed that FSX would stall for about 15-30 seconds and then continue.

This carried on throughout the setup.

 

I was able to get started and get part way through the flight but the stalls just got worse even with little scenery.

 

I saved the flight and restarted the PC, reloaded the flight and after 3 or 4 minutes the stalls started again.

 

This does not happen with any other aircraft.

 

I note that others are also having this type of problem.

 

I shall simply put the plane away until I see some concrete responses from PMDG as it is not useable in its present state.

 

Darryl Wightman

Georgetown Ont.

ORDERID IS:  238685

 

 



#47 olli4740

olli4740

    Miser (unless it comes to FSX!)

  • Members
  • 4,301 posts
  • Joined 3 Years, 2 Months
  • Gender:Male
  • My PC
  • My Simulator

Posted 21 September 2013 - 06:23 AM

Had freezes with a variety of aircraft recently.

 

Updated FSUIPC (unregistered) to the latest version available and haven't noticed anóther freeze since.

 

 

Now I've been experiencing freezes again (but also with other aircraft).

 

And on my last arrival in the T7 the airport buildings were missing. Just gates without terminals ...



#48 Morvious

Morvious

    Member

  • Members
  • 135 posts
  • Joined 9 Months and 24 Days Ago.
  • Gender:Male
  • My Simulator

Posted 21 September 2013 - 06:43 AM

Yesterdays flight was a big mess with long freezes and eventually a CTD on the final stages of the flight. I then descided I could no longer fly like this so changes were made.

The CTD was related by a scenery. After deleting that scenery that was solved. Now the freezes.

1: deleted the realtek drivers as prompted on the forum.

2: cleaned dll.cfg and exe.cfg

3: tuned my FSX setup (smooth running cockpit now)

Still had little hangups though so other things needed to be done.

4: disabled FSUIPC autosafe feature

Little hangups were now solved

5: i noticed I had more then 3000 autosafe files in the PMDG 777 panelstate folder which I deleted all.

Problem seemed to be solved for me now. Did a test flight from EDDP to ENGX without any problems. Even the little hangups were gone. Note though that this was a small test flight and only one so far.

I think my problems were related to the autosafe and massive panelstate database. Especially the last one because the problem seemed to get worse after each flight with the database growing and growing offcourse. I will test more tomorrow on a long flight. If all goes well I will try to reinstall things to see if I can repoduce these problems.

#49 graeme1

graeme1

    graeme1

  • Members
  • 15 posts
  • Joined 3 Years, 10 Months and 27 Days Ago.
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:larbert, stirlingshire, scotland. uk.
  • Interests:flightsim, guitar. pub.
  • My PC
  • My Simulator
  • About Me

Posted 21 September 2013 - 09:36 AM

Well there goes another flight wasted due to the inherent freezing with the T7
not just freezing also lost ezca & fsuipc from menu bar, i bought this addon
on the 1st day of release, the only time i did not have any problems was with the
tutorial, in the dozen or so flights since, each time i have had a freezing problem
that never happened with any of my other aircraft, including ngx.reading the forums
i have tried all suggested fixes by other contributers & still problems i would say
in fact it seems to be getting worse as i have just killed fsx 3/4 way through flight
fromm vhhh - vabb as it was freezing & unresponsive every few minutes, this situation
cannot continue, and i will not be flying it again either until there is permanent fix, i have a fairly high end i5 machine only 18 months old & fsx dedicated so it
is'nt the computer imo all my settings have been reduced and a clean cfg with recommended tweeks by froogle etc.hopefully pmdg will have a permanent fix soon
as like many who have paid a premium for this product i don't think i should have
to go messing with the innards of my machine, just to get this one plane flying
while at the same time destroying configs for every other aircraft in my hanger
(and i do have a few)You woul have thought this freezing problem would have been
picked up during beta testing as it seems to me there are a huge amount of people
posting the same kind of problems.so far the only official response seems to be
reduce sliders amd scenerey. Sorry but we do need a permanent fix for this issue, as
so many other posters have said, the T7 at the moment, for me is unflyable too!
Granted there are some who don't have any problems with freezing and i wish them well
however please do'nt post replies unless you have a genuine fix. thank you.

best regards
graeme crawford.
  • Like x 1
  • List

#50 winsling13

winsling13

    New Member

  • Members
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 3 Years, 7 Months and 1 Day

Posted 21 September 2013 - 09:47 AM

Hello,

 

the same thing for me too.

 

It happens with preloading panel state "long" while standing on the runway, when the fans are spooling up and I press the TOGA clickspot.

 

T7 freezes (I waited for 20 minutes) and I had to end FSX.

 

Regards,

 

Falko