Jump to content

  •  


   
Where Flight Simulation Enthusiasts Gather from Around the World!

HOT SPOTS:
 rarrow.gif The 2014 Demographic Survey! - NEW!

rarrow.gif What's new in the Library

rarrow.gif Member Blogs

rarrow.gif Member Reviews - Contribute a Review!
rarrow.gif Bargain Hunters Forum
rarrow.gif Classified, Want, Swap Ads

rarrow.gif AVSIM Team Speak System

rarrow.gif Video Library
rarrow.gif Image Gallery
rarrow.gif Community Links Library
rarrow.gif Tutorials

rarrow.gif FS9. FSX & P3D CTD Guide

rarrow.gif FSX / P3D Configuration Guide

rarrow.gif AVSIM Publications 



Simulation's Premier Resource!

AVSIM is a free service to the flight and simulation communities. Please help us keep it that way. Donate what you can today! Thank you for your support!











. . .
Photo

'Refueling' for second leg


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 AlexMD11

AlexMD11

    Member

  • Members
  • 166 posts
  • Joined 6 Years, 7 Months and 17 Days Ago.

Posted 09 September 2013 - 01:56 PM

During my latest two longhaul flights (both consisting of two legs; loving the auto time compression feature!) I noticed this little quirk in the FMC. While setting up the aircraft for the second leg, I manually set the fuel through the FS actions menu in the FMC (not using ground ops). However, the FMC does not show this amount of fuel on the perf init page.
The first time this went unnoticed and I kept getting insufficient fuel messages during flight with the legs page showing 0.0 fuel left at destination. The second time I noticed this on the perf init page. This can be easily be overcome by setting it there manually, but I am wondering what the reason might be that the FMC does not do this automatically?

Help AVSIM continue to serve you!
Please donate today!

#2 scandinavian13

scandinavian13

    Member - 8,000+

  • Members
  • 9,265 posts
  • Joined 7 Years, 8 Months and 23 Days Ago.

Posted 09 September 2013 - 02:04 PM


However, the FMC does not show this amount of fuel on the perf init page.

 

Did you manually override the fuel on the PERF INIT page without clearing it later?



#3 AlexMD11

AlexMD11

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Members
  • 166 posts
  • Joined 6 Years, 7 Months and 17 Days Ago.

Posted 09 September 2013 - 02:11 PM

Did you manually override the fuel on the PERF INIT page without clearing it later?


No, I manually override the fuel amount in the fsx actions menu. The manual override in the PERF INIT page is just the solution for the issue at hand (and since I only do this for the second leg, I don't set the fuel again after that so it does not need further updating on the PERF INIT page). Fuel on the PERF INIT was only about half the fuel needed for the flight.

#4 scandinavian13

scandinavian13

    Member - 8,000+

  • Members
  • 9,265 posts
  • Joined 7 Years, 8 Months and 23 Days Ago.

Posted 09 September 2013 - 02:15 PM


No, I manually override the fuel amount in the fsx actions menu.

 

Can you give me the exact steps to reproduce?

 

First flight, weights, route, etc.

What you did - exactly - from shutting down until ready to depart.

Second flight weights, route, etc.



#5 downscc

downscc

    Member - 5,000+

  • Members
  • 7,636 posts
  • Joined 8 Years, 5 Months and 22 Days Ago.

Posted 09 September 2013 - 02:23 PM

I need to double check, but I thought the PERF page had to be manually updated by resetting ZFW. Maybe.

#6 Burnspot

Burnspot

    Member

  • Members
  • 219 posts
  • Joined 5 Years, 3 Months and 14 Days Ago.

Posted 09 September 2013 - 02:42 PM

I experienced something similar to this while doing some Air Hauler flights yesterday...unfortunately, I don't have the details in terms of the weights (at work).

 

First leg was KGJT to KAUS. At KAUS, while GSX was doing its thing, I refueled and loaded payload per my AH job, using the FS Actions menu, and then loaded up my flight plan to KPIT. I worked through the usual PERF stuff to get ready for departure, pushed back, and taxied out. During the long taxi, a Fuel Disagree message came up on the MFD. Using the non-normal checklist, I determined that the Calculated Fuel amount was incorrect and used the Totalizer amount to sync everything back up in the FMC. The flight continued normally. Upon landing in KPIT and going through the same process in preparation for my next leg, LEIB, I got the same MFD message on taxi out (I had loaded significantly more fuel for this leg). Didn't bother with the checklist this time and just used the method used earlier using the totalizer amount to sync things back up (PROG, page 2 IIRC). Flight to LEIB was normal.

 

I figured that maybe I did something procedurally wrong to create the fuel disagree message (though I'm pretty certain I re-entered everything on the PERF page), but was completely jazzed to get a non-normal issue out of the blue like that and have to work through it to a solution.  :P

 

I have AH set to let me load the plane manually and I verify that it doesn't touch anything out of habit. I perform the fuel and payload setup before doing anything in the FMC side (INIT, PERF, etc.). FSX/777 ran flawlessly the entire day, without any restarts.



#7 downscc

downscc

    Member - 5,000+

  • Members
  • 7,636 posts
  • Joined 8 Years, 5 Months and 22 Days Ago.

Posted 09 September 2013 - 02:55 PM

The Fuel Disagree message was discussed in the beta testing channel last Thursday. It's come up a couple of times so I asssume what ever is causing this anomoly will be fixed.

#8 EricLilly

EricLilly

    Member

  • Members
  • 19 posts
  • Joined 3 Years, 8 Months and 2 Days Ago.

Posted 09 September 2013 - 03:44 PM

I read somewhere where PMDG suggest you shut down FSX after a flight before starting a new flight and start over.. This will help with the "running out of memory problems" some people are having...



#9 Burnspot

Burnspot

    Member

  • Members
  • 219 posts
  • Joined 5 Years, 3 Months and 14 Days Ago.

Posted 09 September 2013 - 03:59 PM

I read somewhere where PMDG suggest you shut down FSX after a flight before starting a new flight and start over.. This will help with the "running out of memory problems" some people are having...

Not an issue here; no OOM's.



#10 scandinavian13

scandinavian13

    Member - 8,000+

  • Members
  • 9,265 posts
  • Joined 7 Years, 8 Months and 23 Days Ago.

Posted 10 September 2013 - 10:19 AM

I read somewhere where PMDG suggest you shut down FSX after a flight before starting a new flight and start over.. This will help with the "running out of memory problems" some people are having...

 

It can help, yes.  Try it without doing that, and if you're fine, you're fine.  It's just an option for those having an issue.



#11 Ceri Hurlow

Ceri Hurlow

    Member

  • Members
  • 129 posts
  • Joined 3 Years, 9 Months and 20 Days Ago.

Posted 10 September 2013 - 01:51 PM

The ground operations feature works great. The only thing is in the manual it says the uplift is the actual fuel on board where it appears to me to be the amount it needs to put in to make it up to the plannd fuel. So if you land from the first leg with 20,000lb of fuel and the planned fuel for the next sector is 80,000lb, the uplift would be 60000lb. To watch the fuel going in is great on a turnaround. Just remember not so set your V speeds untill you aircraft is at the planned fuel weight.

 

Ceri