Jump to content

  •  


   
Where Flight Simulation Enthusiasts Gather from Around the World!

tom-mourning.png
 
HOT SPOTS:
 rarrow.gif What's new in the Library
rarrow.gif Member Blogs
rarrow.gif Member Reviews - Contribute a Review!
rarrow.gif Bargain Hunters Forum
rarrow.gif Classified, Want, Swap Ads

rarrow.gif AVSIM Team Speak System
rarrow.gif Video Library
rarrow.gif Image Gallery
rarrow.gif Community Links Library
rarrow.gif Tutorials

rarrow.gif FS9, FSX & P3D CTD Guide - UPDATED V2!
rarrow.gif FSX / P3D Configuration Guide
rarrow.gif AVSIM Publications 



Simulation's Premier Resource!

AVSIM is a free service to the flight and simulation communities. Please help us keep it that way. Donate what you can today! Thank you for your support!











. . .
Photo
- - - - -

Proper Nvidia Inspector settings wiht DX10 fixer?


  • Please log in to reply
105 replies to this topic

#1 riccardo74

riccardo74

    Member

  • Members
  • 849 posts
  • Joined 7 Years, 4 Months and 15 Days Ago.

Posted 16 November 2013 - 07:47 PM

Hi guys, please could be someone so kind to help me on proper setting of NI for use with DX10 Fixer? I've reinstalled FSX from scratch and gone a bit missed. 1) which are the basic setting in NI? 2) the latest version of fixer? I downloaded now from FSStore, suppose is the last. 3) in FSX: AA on and AF on trilinear? 4) setting FXAA on NI what means, does it improve graphics or performance? 5) do you use bloom? do you find it reduce performance? Many many thanks

Riccardo Milan

 

vpa309.png

 

1034752.png


Help AVSIM continue to serve you!
Please donate today!

#2 spirit_66

spirit_66

    Member

  • Members
  • 906 posts
  • Joined 2 Years, 9 Months and 27 Days Ago.

Posted 17 November 2013 - 04:51 AM

I recommend to study the "How-To" thread and also look around at the forum. There are many, many samples to find.

Spirit



#3 riccardo74

riccardo74

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Members
  • 849 posts
  • Joined 7 Years, 4 Months and 15 Days Ago.

Posted 22 November 2013 - 06:40 AM

I recommend to study the "How-To" thread and also look around at the forum. There are many, many samples to find.
Spirit


Thanks Spirit, I know that guide, I was referring to how specifically setting up NI with DX10 Fixer, not with Shader Fixer.

So the NI settings is the same?

Riccardo Milan

 

vpa309.png

 

1034752.png


#4 jcomm

jcomm

    Member - 5,000+

  • Members
  • 6,091 posts
  • Joined 3 Years, 5 Months and 17 Days Ago.

Posted 22 November 2013 - 08:30 AM

I'll take a screeshot of mine when I arrive home tonight and will post it here.


José 

Flight Simulation is the Virtual Materialization of a Dream...
I'm grateful to All of those who make that Possible...

 

 


#5 TrafficPilot

TrafficPilot

    Member

  • Members
  • 786 posts
  • Joined 6 Years, 4 Months and 5 Days Ago.

Posted 22 November 2013 - 09:57 AM

Am I the only one not using Nvidia Inspector?

 

I have it installed but find settings are fine as they are without tweaking.

 

I've tried various tweaks suggested here and elsewhere but always end up going back to a "vanilla" setup which improves performance and FPS.

 

Just wondering!



#6 jcomm

jcomm

    Member - 5,000+

  • Members
  • 6,091 posts
  • Joined 3 Years, 5 Months and 17 Days Ago.

Posted 22 November 2013 - 10:27 AM

On my rig it makes a difference, undoubtedly!


José 

Flight Simulation is the Virtual Materialization of a Dream...
I'm grateful to All of those who make that Possible...

 

 


#7 Paul J

Paul J

    Member - 5,000+

  • Members
  • 5,964 posts
  • Joined 9 Years, 8 Months and 18 Days Ago.

Posted 22 November 2013 - 11:11 AM

Here is a "normal" Inspector setting, Riccardo. All of these settings apply to FSX when using DX10 - whether the shader patches or using the retail DX10 Fixer. 

 

Nov_19.jpg

 

1). The first setting is under "Compatibility", at the very top:-

"AntiAliasing compatibility (DX1x)" .........set this to "BioShock". (Courtesy of "VeryBumpy")

This will fix the AA for aircraft shadows on the ground.

 

2). AntiAliasing - Behavior Flags - "None", as AA is controlled from FSX.

 

3). AntiAliasing - Mode - "Application-controlled" - because Inspector cannot force AA with FSX DX10. AA must be ticked in the FSX "Settings" facility.

 

4). AntiAliasing - Setting - "Application-controlled/Off".  Same reason.

 

5). AntiAliasing - TransparencySuperSampling - "4x SGSS" (in this case) to control shimmering in water  and trees, etc. This number should be the same as the MultiSamplesPerPixel, as set by the DX10 Fixer entry in the FSX.cfg, under [Graphics]  Usually set to 2x, 4x or 8x (8x is a big load on the system)

 

6). Nvidia Pre-defined FXAA Usage - "Allowed". (if you wish) This will clean up the spinning aircraft jaggies, and will add some post-processing AA.

 

7). Toggle FXAA On/Off - "Off" (in this case) I don't care whether the spinning aircraft has jaggies or not.

 

8). Anisotropic Filtering Mode - "Application-controlled" - set in FSX's Settings

 

9). Anisotropic Filtering setting - "16x" - for good non-blurry lines, edges as the objects recede. Study a yellow taxi line with this on and off, to see the result.

 

10). LOD Bias - Set to "-1.0000", re this doc. to compensate for blurring caused by SGSS.

 

11). Texture Filtering - Negative LOD Bias - Set to "Allow" so that 10). above can work.

 

12). The next three are fairly self-explanatory.

 

13) and 14). These two are required for fullscreen Vsync control, and will need "DisablePreLoad=1" in the fsx.cfg (under [Main]), and "30" fps being set as the UpperFrameLimit under [Display]

 

OK!


6dfuecbymy0s0t74g.jpg

 


#8 riccardo74

riccardo74

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Members
  • 849 posts
  • Joined 7 Years, 4 Months and 15 Days Ago.

Posted 22 November 2013 - 02:33 PM

Here is a "normal" Inspector setting, Riccardo. All of these settings apply to FSX when using DX10 - whether the shader patches or using the retail DX10 Fixer.

http://s18.postimg.org/oojn1nid1/Nov_19....

1). The first setting is under "Compatibility", at the very top:-
"AntiAliasing compatibility (DX1x)" .........set this to "BioShock". (Courtesy of "VeryBumpy")
This will fix the AA for aircraft shadows on the ground.

2). AntiAliasing - Behavior Flags - "None", as AA is controlled from FSX.

3). AntiAliasing - Mode - "Application-controlled" - because Inspector cannot force AA with FSX DX10. AA must be ticked in the FSX "Settings" facility.

4). AntiAliasing - Setting - "Application-controlled/Off". Same reason.

5). AntiAliasing - TransparencySuperSampling - "4x SGSS" (in this case) to control shimmering in water and trees, etc. This number should be the same as the MultiSamplesPerPixel, as set by the DX10 Fixer entry in the FSX.cfg, under [Graphics] Usually set to 2x, 4x or 8x (8x is a big load on the system)

6). Nvidia Pre-defined FXAA Usage - "Allowed". (if you wish) This will clean up the spinning aircraft jaggies, and will add some post-processing AA.

7). Toggle FXAA On/Off - "Off" (in this case) I don't care whether the spinning aircraft has jaggies or not.

8). Anisotropic Filtering Mode - "Application-controlled" - set in FSX's Settings

9). Anisotropic Filtering setting - "16x" - for good non-blurry lines, edges as the objects recede. Study a yellow taxi line with this on and off, to see the result.

10). LOD Bias - Set to "-1.0000", re this doc. to compensate for blurring caused by SGSS.

11). Texture Filtering - Negative LOD Bias - Set to "Allow" so that 10). above can work.

12). The next three are fairly self-explanatory.

13) and 14). These two are required for fullscreen Vsync control, and will need "DisablePreLoad=1" in the fsx.cfg (under [Main]), and "30" fps being set as the UpperFrameLimit under [Display]

OK!


Thank you very much Paul, it's very kind of you.

Riccardo Milan

 

vpa309.png

 

1034752.png


#9 flyinion

flyinion

    Member

  • Members
  • 325 posts
  • Joined 2 Years and 3 Days Ago.

Posted 22 November 2013 - 02:52 PM

Thanks Paul!!  I thought I'd read somewhere about not using a LOD bias (don't remember what it was in relation to now but I thought something with DX10) so I've had it on clamp.  However as you mention while SGSS is great at transparency AA and stopping the cockpit shimmers, it also makes things a bit fuzzy.  Thankfully not NEARLY as bad as DX9 though for whatever reason. I'll definitely be testing with LOD bias on now.

 

I used to run SweetFX with the lumasharpen effect on to counteract the fuzzy, but that was in DX9 and it would randomly kill FSX on me. I never bothered to set it up and re-tweak for DX10 because I found my settings file reacted differently in DX10 with much stronger contrast etc. from the curves effect and some others.


Charles Paluda


#10 Kuragiman

Kuragiman

    Autoland is Skynet in disguise!

  • Members
  • 787 posts
  • Joined 1 Year, 9 Months and 12 Days Ago.

Posted 22 November 2013 - 03:17 PM

I wonder if Vsyc works at all when working across 3 monitors.    Even with Half-Refresh and FPS locked at 30fps I get tears, especially when panning up quickly.   I have tried everything.  Maybe I have mistyped something but it is making the process of doing videos daunting as I can't eliminate the tears.


SWA-Logo.jpg
Captain K-Man FlightBlog Channel: https://www.youtube....mIMuAzJvDAZPkWQ

Brian Navy


#11 Paul J

Paul J

    Member - 5,000+

  • Members
  • 5,964 posts
  • Joined 9 Years, 8 Months and 18 Days Ago.

Posted 22 November 2013 - 04:14 PM

I wonder if Vsyc works at all when working across 3 monitors. 
- Yup, it do, Kuragi, but saying that - I'm assuming you're talking about FSX (and Windows) seeing the three monitors as one single wide monitor, as with the Matrox TH2Go system, or Nvidia's Surround system - right? 

 

Many times people use two plus one, or some other such configuration, and have lots of problems - some fixable, some not.


6dfuecbymy0s0t74g.jpg

 


#12 Kuragiman

Kuragiman

    Autoland is Skynet in disguise!

  • Members
  • 787 posts
  • Joined 1 Year, 9 Months and 12 Days Ago.

Posted 22 November 2013 - 09:00 PM

- Yup, it do, Kuragi, but saying that - I'm assuming you're talking about FSX (and Windows) seeing the three monitors as one single wide monitor, as with the Matrox TH2Go system, or Nvidia's Surround system - right? 

 

Many times people use two plus one, or some other such configuration, and have lots of problems - some fixable, some not.

 

 

Yeah.  It's configured in 3 screen as 1 mode.   All my 3rd party add-ons that have displays and stuff run on my laptop next to my PC via SimConnect and WideFS such as Aivlasoft's EFB so I don't need or want to fly in windowed mode.    My frames are smooth for the most part just can't seem to rid myself of tearing.


SWA-Logo.jpg
Captain K-Man FlightBlog Channel: https://www.youtube....mIMuAzJvDAZPkWQ

Brian Navy


#13 Paul J

Paul J

    Member - 5,000+

  • Members
  • 5,964 posts
  • Joined 9 Years, 8 Months and 18 Days Ago.

Posted 22 November 2013 - 09:12 PM

Hmmm good stuff! Well, Kuragi, here's an Inspector example that works - just copy the bottom two lines, set "30" in your FSX settings or [Display]Upper_FrameRate_Limit, and put "DisablePreLoad=1" under [Main].

 

This will give you Vsync in FullScreen.

 

C'mon back if it doesn't!

 

pj


6dfuecbymy0s0t74g.jpg

 


#14 Kuragiman

Kuragiman

    Autoland is Skynet in disguise!

  • Members
  • 787 posts
  • Joined 1 Year, 9 Months and 12 Days Ago.

Posted 23 November 2013 - 01:13 AM

Hmmm good stuff! Well, Kuragi, here's an Inspector example that works - just copy the bottom two lines, set "30" in your FSX settings or [Display]Upper_FrameRate_Limit, and put "DisablePreLoad=1" under [Main].

 

This will give you Vsync in FullScreen.

 

C'mon back if it doesn't!

 

pj

 

And of course the ForceVsync line as well?     4xSGSS.... T_T    If only that setting didn't utterly absolutely destroy my frame rate whenever a cloud appears on the screen.     I use 1024 clouds and weather I am at 60 miles or my preferred 100 miles draw distance, clouds murder me if I turn on SGSS.  With it off, smooth as glass but a get a few shimmering pixels here and there in the cockpit.


SWA-Logo.jpg
Captain K-Man FlightBlog Channel: https://www.youtube....mIMuAzJvDAZPkWQ

Brian Navy


#15 Paul J

Paul J

    Member - 5,000+

  • Members
  • 5,964 posts
  • Joined 9 Years, 8 Months and 18 Days Ago.

Posted 23 November 2013 - 08:58 AM

And of course the ForceVsync line as well?  

No. 

ForceWindowedVsync=1  <<<<<<   This one is the only one which should be used inside the fsx.cfg, It makes FSX manage it's Vsync when in the windowed mode. When using fullscreen it is better to let the GPU driver do it.

 

Did you try 2x SGSS?


6dfuecbymy0s0t74g.jpg

 






   
Where Flight Simulation Enthusiasts Gather from Around the World!