Sign in to follow this  
rsrandazzo

Multi-Platform Pricing Policy Expectations FSX/P3D/Xplane

Captains-

There seems to be some Utopian GroupThink Discussion that FSX users will be given some type of magic pass to move their product licenses over to P3D or Xplane, or that suddenly PMDG's development priorities have shifted magically with an announcement tonight.

None of these are the case.  Today's announcements are an effort to collect and consolidate a few years of posts on the topic of FSX, P3D and Xplane development.  Any user who sees our announcements today as anything other than an explanation of where we are going and what we are working on would be best served to read carefully.

As I have been saying for almost 18 months:  PMDG is working to expand our ability to push products on three platforms:  FSX, Xplane and P3D.

I am frequently misquoted as having said that PMDG will not develop for P3D.  What I have said all along is that we will not develop a consumer product for P3D due to Lockheed Martin's EULA restrictions.  The products we produce for P3D will be enterprise products, and will be licensed quite differently than our FSX products have been licensed.  P3D is a different platform with different requirement for PMDG and our license partners.

Now on the topic of pricing- I want to dispel some rumors and wishful thoughts right away, just so everybody has a clear expectation of where PMDG is headed with pricing: