Jump to content

  •  


   
Where Flight Simulation Enthusiasts Gather from Around the World!

HOT SPOTS:
 rarrow.gif The 2014 Demographic Survey! - NEW!

rarrow.gif What's new in the Library

rarrow.gif Member Blogs

rarrow.gif Member Reviews - Contribute a Review!
rarrow.gif Bargain Hunters Forum
rarrow.gif Classified, Want, Swap Ads

rarrow.gif AVSIM Team Speak System

rarrow.gif Video Library
rarrow.gif Image Gallery
rarrow.gif Community Links Library
rarrow.gif Tutorials

rarrow.gif FS9. FSX & P3D CTD Guide

rarrow.gif FSX / P3D Configuration Guide

rarrow.gif AVSIM Publications 



Simulation's Premier Resource!

AVSIM is a free service to the flight and simulation communities. Please help us keep it that way. Donate what you can today! Thank you for your support!











. . .
Photo
- - - - -

Orbx World+Orbx Vector+UTX+Rex Scenery Setup HELP

orbx orbx vector utx rex scenery setup help

  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 Almishea

Almishea

    New Member

  • Members
  • 4 posts
  • Joined 8 Months

Posted 31 December 2013 - 12:57 PM

Hello,

 

So I am pretty new to the sim world.  I am running FSX Gold along with a bunch of scenery add-ons and don't feel I am getting the best quality for what I have invested in.  Could someone please help me with the scenery order in FSX?  Below is a list of what I have.  Thank you in advance!

 

-FSX Gold

-Rex Essential Plus Overdrive

-Orbx FTX World

-Orbx Ftx North America

-Orbx Ftx Vector

-UTX USA

 

I also have the following which I am not running since I read they clash with some of the other add-ons I have.

 

-GEX

-Mega scenery Earth MN

 

My system is as follows;

 

-Intel Quad core i7-4820K@3.70GHz

-16GB ddr3 Memory

-Nvidia GeForce GTX 770

 

Any and all help would be greatly appreciated.

 

Thanks,

 

Ben

 

 



Help AVSIM continue to serve you!
Please donate today!

#2 AVSIM Admin

AVSIM Admin

    ADMIN "BOT"

  • Root Admin
  • 10,437 posts
  • Joined 2 Years, 5 Months and 8 Days Ago.

Posted 01 January 2014 - 12:37 AM

This is an automatic message.

This topic has been moved from "TTools for MSFS Forum" to "MS FSX Forum". This move has been done for a number of possible reasons.
  • The most likely reason is that the post was off topic.
  • The topic could also have contained images or a video that were not appropriate to the original forum it was posted in.
  • The images might not have been "illustrative" or "explanatory" in nature.
  • The topic could have been moved because we deemed it to be more appropriately placed elsewhere.
Please ensure that your posts are "on topic" and contain illustrative images or videos as appropriate. Do not post videos or images just for entertainment purposes anywhere but in the screen shot or video forums. See our image posting rules here.

Members who continue to post off topic posts can be denied entry to specific forums in order to reduce and remove the practice. Your cooperation is appreciated.
ADMIN BOT... Do not PM or send Email.

#3 Almishea

Almishea

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Members
  • 4 posts
  • Joined 8 Months

Posted 01 January 2014 - 08:40 PM

Hey All,

 

Any Expertise would be more than appreciated.

 

Thank you in advance!!!

Ben



#4 woodhick

woodhick

    Member - 1,000+

  • Bronze
  • 1,825 posts
  • Joined 8 Years, 3 Months and 18 Days Ago.

Donator

Posted 02 January 2014 - 07:14 AM

Are you asking for a listing of the order in which those programs need to be installed?  Doesn't make any difference.  Install away and reboot between each install.  There's a lot of programming there, so I'd urge you to defrag after the installs are completed.  Don't forget to install the latest Orbx libraries too.  Unlike the other programs they need to be installed after all other Orbx programs are installed.

 

I see too, that you state you have GEX installed.  I think (repeat think) you need to completely un-install the program, but am not 100% sure about that.  Your MSE programming can remain as is.  If you desire, you can "uncheck" it in the Add-on Scenery Library and save your computer some workload.  Any time you desire to see the photoreal scenery simply check it again and it will automatically take presidence over anything else.


Dan George (woodhick)
Check out Greenbrier Virtual Aviation, the VA for and about the GA pilot.

#5 gman1986

gman1986

    Member

  • Members
  • 581 posts
  • Joined 4 Years, 8 Months and 5 Days Ago.

Posted 02 January 2014 - 11:31 AM

Do UTX and FTX Vector work together?


Gavin Price

#6 woodhick

woodhick

    Member - 1,000+

  • Bronze
  • 1,825 posts
  • Joined 8 Years, 3 Months and 18 Days Ago.

Donator

Posted 02 January 2014 - 11:54 AM

Work very well indeed.  I'm using that combo as we speak, with old FSGenesis mesh and all works well.


Dan George (woodhick)
Check out Greenbrier Virtual Aviation, the VA for and about the GA pilot.

#7 gman1986

gman1986

    Member

  • Members
  • 581 posts
  • Joined 4 Years, 8 Months and 5 Days Ago.

Posted 02 January 2014 - 12:43 PM

I thought UTX and FTX Vector are practically the same thing apart from UTX also includes some Landclass?


Gavin Price

#8 woodhick

woodhick

    Member - 1,000+

  • Bronze
  • 1,825 posts
  • Joined 8 Years, 3 Months and 18 Days Ago.

Donator

Posted 02 January 2014 - 01:38 PM

Yes they are, and indeed UTX contains some landclass.  Vector is produced by the mavens at Orbx, UTX is a Flight1 product.


Dan George (woodhick)
Check out Greenbrier Virtual Aviation, the VA for and about the GA pilot.

#9 Almishea

Almishea

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Members
  • 4 posts
  • Joined 8 Months

Posted 03 January 2014 - 06:14 PM

Thank you for the insight!  From other posts I have read that Orbx should always be at the top of the list with any FTX and then UTX under those.  So your saying it doesn't really make much difference as long as they are listed in the scenery library?

 

Thanks again,

 

Ben 



#10 woodhick

woodhick

    Member - 1,000+

  • Bronze
  • 1,825 posts
  • Joined 8 Years, 3 Months and 18 Days Ago.

Donator

Posted 04 January 2014 - 07:51 AM

The programs will end up in the right places when you install them.  The only thing that needs moved is any landclass programs you may install.  They need installed as follows:

 

Landclass (LC) products must be positioned as below to insure proper operation.

 

UT LANDCLASS - Urban

LANDCLASS X <-------------- Place all landclass products between the UTX Urban and Vegetation layers and enable as needed (only ONE)

LANDCLASS Y <------------------|

LANDCLASS Z <------------------|

UT LANDCLASS - Vegetation  

 

The LC programming can be moved up/down in the add-on scenery library.  Not a big deal at all.  Installation as shown allows the rural and greenery of a landclass add-on to take precedence but  the UTX towns/cities to take command.                    


Dan George (woodhick)
Check out Greenbrier Virtual Aviation, the VA for and about the GA pilot.

#11 ryanbatcund

ryanbatcund

    Member - 8,000+

  • Members
  • 10,088 posts
  • Joined 7 Years, 11 Months and 27 Days Ago.

Posted 04 January 2014 - 08:34 AM

Megascenery MN? Where are you from? I've grown up in MN my whole life.
|Ryan Butterworth|

#12 Almishea

Almishea

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Members
  • 4 posts
  • Joined 8 Months

Posted 04 January 2014 - 01:27 PM

Thanks woodhick!  I'll check the order and see what that does.

 

Much appreciated.

 

Ryan, I live in Minnetonka and have lived around the cities my whole life.  How about you?



#13 levada

levada

    Member

  • Members
  • 38 posts
  • Joined 9 Months and 21 Days Ago.

Posted 08 January 2014 - 11:32 PM

Install away and reboot between each install. 

 

 

I reboot between each install is absolutely not necessary.



#14 woodhick

woodhick

    Member - 1,000+

  • Bronze
  • 1,825 posts
  • Joined 8 Years, 3 Months and 18 Days Ago.

Donator

Posted 09 January 2014 - 07:25 AM


I reboot between each install is absolutely not necessary.

 

Sorry for any misunderstanding here but are you saying rebooting is not necessary?  It absolutely is necessary, and after several large installs you need to defrag too.  Hope I'm not misunderstanding what you wrote.


Dan George (woodhick)
Check out Greenbrier Virtual Aviation, the VA for and about the GA pilot.

#15 FScamp

FScamp

    Member - 2,000+

  • Commercial Member
  • 2,484 posts
  • Joined 3 Years and 4 Days Ago.

Posted 09 January 2014 - 07:56 AM


Sorry for any misunderstanding here but are you saying rebooting is not necessary?  It absolutely is necessary, and after several large installs you need to defrag too.  Hope I'm not misunderstanding what you wrote.

 

I don't think it is, I never bother to reboot unless the program asks me to do so. I haven't defragged either, yet now with 340GB FSX directory everything works just fine.