Sign in to follow this  
camrad1983

What real world 737 pilots think about PMDG

Hello folks,

I'm bringing a quote from a fellow pilot from the aviation forum where I hang out. I find this absolutely true. The same as geometry of cockpit windows. The 737NG looks kinda tall. In real life they have a smaller cockpit with overhead much lower than default pmdg virtual cockpit.

Personally, I dont fly 737, but I'm a real world pilot too, been in NG cockpit many times.

Here's the quote:

61000kg GW, below 10000ft. 280 to 250 kts deceleration time is twice longer than it takes on a real one. 1/3 descend ratio doesn't work (idle thrust). Vertical speeds while descending (idle thrust) are appx 30 percent less than desired. FCTM landing technique leads to a huge floating. Exactly the same way to land a real one works perfect. There is no nose-down pitch effect associated with thrust reduction. Looks like there is a small piston engine in the tail, helping her out ;)

We need to do something about it, if PMDG is not doing anything towards this problem.

Well, PMDG is only a (very serious) game and is not meant to be a trainer. But, those discrepencies do seem a lot... :huh: I think we and PMDG would need more detailed data from your test in order to verify and compare.

The 737NG looks kinda tall. In real life they have a smaller cockpit with overhead much lower than default pmdg virtual cockpit.

This and more are supposed to be fixed in SP2... whenever that is...

Would you like to try those

Thank you, Sergey. We will give it a shot. Those are yours?

I think we and PMDG would need more detailed data from your test in order to verify and compare

I will talk to that person, although except parameters I really know how to record that data.