Sign in to follow this  
Fabrice

Considering buying, but...

Hi Everyone,

I'm considering buying this software, but...

I'm currently using DX9, with 4 monitors. Three for the virtual cockpit view (with a TripleHead2Go) and a fourth monitor where I drag my zoomed instruments (I'm in full screen).

With DX9, I obtain most of the time 30 fps (limit set in NVidia inspector) with some slow down to 25 fps. As I have a lot of add-ons, I often experience OOMs, or at least the famous fsuipc "dings".

As I read that DX10 with FSX has a lot better memory management, I'm interrested in this software. But as the cost is quite high, I wanted to try DX10 without it at first (I fly only by day to avoid the DX10 grey textures issue). An here is my problem: where I obtain 25-30 fps with DX9, I obtain 8-15 fps with DX10! The funny thing is that if I don't use my 4th monitor, I get 15-22 fps!

You understand that I don't want to buy this softwarte until I get at least the same fps as with DX9.

So it would be nice if you could give me some advice or tips to have better fps with DX10. I will certainly purchase this soft if I can prove myself that I can do some flights without OOMs and without loss of performance.

Thanks a lot for your help,

Fabrice

Fabrice Lambert

Hi Fabrice - I can't comment on multi-monitor setups (I only have the one) but of all your add-ons, I think the worst frame rate killer will be hi-res clouds. Do you use REX (or similar?).

How does your system (with all monitors running) perform in DX10 without the fixer?

Sadly, the freeware shaders Steve released are so outdated now (or rather the Fixer has moved on so much) that you won't really get a good idea of what the full add-on may or may not do.

It may be worth asking Steve whether there's likely to be some way of testing a newer version of the Fixer - albeit in some limited way. I suspect there'll be many people in a similar position (on the fence!).

Adam.

NZFSIM_Signature_257_60.png