Sign in to follow this  
gfd

Altitude Management

Greetings

I am new to Radar Contact. I want to begin navigating the learning curve. I am in the midst of the manual. How refreshing...a very complete manual! I digress. What I would appreciate is an idea of how best to manage altitude.

Example, the approach into Calgary International Airport (CYYC) from the West, is somewhat abrupt. Over the course of the final ~100 miles, altitude changes by about 8000 feet. I don't want to get vectored into a mountain.

What is the best approach to terrain avoidance? Is there a way to associate a minimum altitude with a given waypoint?

I am sure that the best answer is somewhere in the manual, but I hope you'll give me a muligan on this one.

Thanks

Graham

I found 2010 charts for CYYC from this virtual airline resource:

http://www.bostonvirtualatc.com/charts/index.html?Page=CYYC_index.html

Arriving from the NW DALLI6 looks good and from the SW OPALE1 looks good for STAR transition points. These are RNAV STAR charts.

Note that vectors are required to get you to the IAF of most approaches.

Altitude restrictions are published on the charts.

In RC4 there is no way to setup altitude restrictions. You can use, however, the RC NOTAMS option which will allow you to deviate from arrival RC commanded altitudes. See the RC manual.

Since unless you specify otherwise RC will pick a suitable runway about 40 nm out using ai patterns and weather in that order, you don't know ahead of time which runway it will assign.