Sign in to follow this  
jeffer_1

Making new lightmaps for AI. Newbie here needs help.

Hello.  I am in the process of getting a system to handle FSX for the first time.  In my prep for that, I checked for AI compatability from FS9 and FSX.  I downloaded the latest FDEs for Aardvark's AI.  In their "AI Aardvark FSX models release #1" they mentioned that their models have lightmap issues with FSX. There is a .pdf about it in the download. 

Basically they said that new lightmaps will need to be made for the tail logos to show at night (as they currently fade into the model).  It was mentioned to use Photoshop to "move the origional lightmap layer over the base texture and and then set the lightmap layer to 'Multiply' , then save it."   All Greek to me.

Question: Having never worked with Photoshop, I would like to know what versions of it would support this type of operation?

Hopefully I can get a less expensive older version on Amazon or eBay that will do the job.

Thanks!

Jeff

Pfft... good luck with that mate. That's a extremely time consuming process for those of us that are experienced in CS, not too mention the fact that you'd have to check each and every single dds file to ensure it has to approiate LM. Photoshop is not a program that can be learned in a day. It can take weeks or even months to master the basics and intermediate aspects. If you're willing to jump in and give it a try, I'd suggest downloading the 30 day trial for Photoshop via Adobe's website. Don't buy it. Older versions are still retailing anywhere from $600-1K.

That said, most of the new repaints for AI traffic for already has that done.

http://www.adobe.com/downloads.html

http://www.juergenbaumbusch.de/

http://www.flyingcarpet75.com/

Then why did they say it is "easy" in Photoshop?   It is just referring to the AI tail logo issue at night in FSX. 

Well, here, let me copy the specifics of the pdf here for you and others to read: