aden14.jpg

aden15.jpg

aden16.jpg

aden17.jpg

aden18.jpg

aden19.jpg

aden20.jpg

Thanks for viewing!

I spent a couple of years in Aden and Khormaksar is much greener than I remember! :smile:

Eva Vlaardingerbroek, an inspiratiom.

I spent a couple of years in Aden and Khormaksar is much greener than I remember!

The last image is FSX so does not look like real world. The cities are in the blast zone of a caldera.

HLJAMES

Hi Ron,

You're right - hardly any green grass there, only dust, rock and dirt.  

My father was posted to Aden late 50's and again early 60's (RAF, Air Ministry). I spent 6 weeks there (Maalla Straight) in '57 (supernumerary crew RAF Hermes from Lyneham) and 3 months  in '63 (RAF Comet) on visits to see the family (quarters at Tarshyne, then). Sadly, I was studying back in England. Logged an hour flying a Beverley on a supply trip up to Mukeiras. I was a Pilot Officer aged 21 on that second trip (Uni Air Squadron).  I have to say that whole 'Aden experience' was an magical episode for young bloke.  

So, the only green grass I ever saw was a 10' square 'lawn' (of sorts) outside our house on the Maidan, near the Officers Club, and the well irrigated gardens at the BP refinery. Plus of course at Sheik Othman gardens (spelling?) oasis.

I have also done that Dubai to Aden flight - in P3D with ORBX Global + Vector.  Starts out great, and the desert textures are not at all bad, but Aden airport itself conveys nothing of the Khormaksar we would have known.  The approaches are good though, you can make out Little Aden and Crater fine ... but the Airport itself kills the ride.

Now, there's a distinguished challenge for a scenery guru if ever there was one.  My cash is on the table. 

Ron, if you want to compare notes at all just let me know how I can contact you (email?) 

Cheers,

Gareth

Beautiful !

Thanks much!

HLJAMES

Sorry HL,

Forgot to thank you for posting those great shots in the first place!