Sign in to follow this  
CRELLIOTT0302

Prepar3d v2.3 is AMAZing.....but the wet runways?

I am a real world commercial pilot and flight instructor.  One thing I have to point out (with the hopes and intentions of a fix/removal/etc) is the extremely unrealistic wet runway refraction.  Is there a way to remove this effect/feature?  Everytime the simulator weather has BR -RA RA +RA CB +CB TS or any other type of non frozen precip occurring, the runways and taxiways lose there immersion factor.  

From a pilots perspective in a heavy rain, most of the time we dont even use windshield wipers because of the speeds we travel at.  Even still, a look out the front windscreen during a landing, like in this video
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DDpuc6v6now, will show you what it SHOULD look like when the runway is wet.  Prepar3d makes the runways look flooded and unusable due to hydroplaning.  Anyways, is there a fix/trick/tip that I can apply to remove this feature?  

Respectfully,

Caleb Elliott

CPL (SEL, MEL, IFR)
CFI, CFI-I, MEI-I
ERJ-145 Typed.
www.Wx-pilot.com

At present "water" is not P3D's strongest point.  They have/are improving water in general but this may fall under the category of FX or "ground textures'.  I would do a Google search on something like FSX ground water textures, FSX water fx, things like that. May get a hit on some little applet that improves the look and can be ported over to P3D.  3rd party payware add=-ns may have something... thinking of REX4?  I have it but have not installed it yet on my P3D setup.

Just some ideas

Intel i9-12900KF, Asus Prime Z690-A MB, 64GB DDR5 6000 RAM, (3) SK hynix M.2 SSD (2TB ea.), 16TB Seagate HDD, EVGA GeForce 3080 Ti, Corsair iCUE H70i AIO Liquid Cooler, UHD/Blu-ray Player/Burner (still have lots of CDs, DVDs!)  Windows 10, (hold off for now on Win11),  EVGA 1300W PSU
Netgear 1Gbps modem & router, (3) 27" 1440 wrap-around displays
Full array of Saitek and GoFlight hardware for the cockpit