Sign in to follow this  
Driver170

Off course flying heading xxx

Hi, done a flight from EGPH to EGSS and was flying the LOREL3G STAR when i got told i was off course and to fly heading xxx

I'm flying the 737 ngx. This has never happened to me before, I was descending to meet the alt rest fl120 and on track.

Vernon Howells

Hmm.. Were you off course or were you vectored off course? Could it have been a misunderstanding in communication with the controller?

I was following the magenta brick road and RC gave me a heading because i was off course. I wasn't even in contact with app and prob about 60-70 nm out

Does RC see your STAR waypoints in PFPX?

Vernon Howells

Sorry Vernon. Didn't check which forum we were in Lol. I was thinking Vatsim. I have no knowledge of RC.

Hi,

Without sight of your flight plan I can only offer some initial thoughts.

It would ,at first ,appear that you had failed to acknowledge passing over a waypoint. What did you use in the way of a flight planning tool and did the FS flight plan the RC flight plan both have the same waypoints as your FMC? Any small difference could result in such a message.

To go back a step, you should have received descent instructions around the 130nm before the airport. Unless you had as Pilot Flying the comms, you should be following RC instructions rather than the FMC. and be descending towards your destination. Your next comms should be for an ATIS weather report and then instructions to meet the crossing restriction at 11000/12000 ft 40 miles from the airport.

I would suggest that you repost and include a lot more detail so that the real experts can provide a fuller answer.

I'm using PFPX and this is RC FP i copyed and paste, EGPH to EGSS@24000 (Alt1-EGSX , Alt2-) / GOSAM.FENIK.DCS.LAKEY.CALDA.MCT. *RVSM

It had gone wrong after MCT and thats where my STAR had started, so i would say this is not my fault because RC can't see any waypoints after MCT. So RC gave me a direct heading to EGSS which it did.