Sign in to follow this  
vc10man

OMDB SID

A week or two ago, I was on an Emirates 777-300ER flight from Dubai(OMDB) to the UK. I was keenly following the track out of Rwy30R as we climbed out which was shown on the in-seat map follower. And I noticed it just flew straight on into the Persian Gulf before flying above Iran.

My question is this, when I use AivlaSoft's EFB flight planner which gets it route from Route Finder, it shows several SIDs. I know it did not take DARA3F, and I did not see it take the small dog-leg that is MUVL2F. So, I'm intrigued as to which one it'd have taken.

Anyone with any ideas? Thanks.

Possibly a direct routing shortly after departure and/or radar vectors for traffic avoidance or to expedite traffic flows. I'm glad I'm not the only one who tries to figure out which SID we're flying when I'm a passenger!

airline2sim_pilot_logo_360x.png?v=160882| Ben Weston www.airline2sim.com 

Rick, I am no expert by any means and so take my response as such.

I believe it all depends on the number of aircraft within the Dubai aispace as it is quite tight at certain times of the day and night.

They need to be as "efficient" as possible in order to keep things flowing mainly during early mornings and late nights, as that is EK's busiest time.

I have flown "passenger"  several 30R, and 12R MULVA SID's over the past 8 years at different times, and saw different deviations throughout.

Best guess would be SID turned to radar vectors for efficient spacing, or check out PAPAR2D , and last but not least MAXMO2D.

Hope that was of some help (coming from an non pro.), or better yet listen to Ben.

Waleed N

That makes me think if SID is overrated in the simmers world. I commuted last year almost every week between Gatwick and Hamburg. I could swear that many times the plane made a slight turn or went straight towards Kent and the channel. Sometimes it did several turns before it flew straight on.

Gents