Sign in to follow this  
DreamAero

Advice needed on system upgrade

Hi friends,

I am new to Avsim forum, I am happy to be on this forum. I need advice relating to my system upgrade.

I am a die hard fan of FSX which has become an integral part of my life. Its only for FSX that I am upgrading my system for which I require your advice.

My Current system Spec:

Intel Core 2 Duo E7400 2.80Ghz.

3 GB DDR2 RAM

GPU : Nvidia GT610 2GB

FSX performs fine with only default aircrafts and traffic at medium settings. I get around 19 to 20 fps with above specs

I am planning to Upgrade my system to:

Intel Core i7 4790 3.6Ghz (I dont wish to overclock it in the future)

16GB RAM

GPU : Nvidia GT610 2GB (I wish to retain the GPU from my old system)

My Expectation from the new system:

I want to play FSX with  PMDG 737NGX and Flight Sim Lab Concorde X with all World of AI  Traffic packages and default high detail fsx airports on maximum settings. I might use aerosoft airport addons in the future.

Will I be able to fulfill my expectation, if not what will be the ideal fps and setting that I can expect with the above system config.

Will my Concorde X aircraft work smoothly on this system config.

I have one more query,

The intel i7 4790 processor that I am planning to buy is based on haswell architecture, somewhere on the net I have read that it heats up very fast and consumes more power than the Ivy Bridge processors. However there are adequate fans in my cabinet to cool it down but does it heat up as the AMD processors do.

Is that true.

Please guide me. All help appreciated.

Regards

DreamAero

OK I'll bite.

I dont wish to overclock it in the future.

Personally I would suggest that this is a bad decision and one you will most likely regret at a later date if it leads you to buy the non overclockable version of the CPU. You don't have to overclock right away but having the option there is much better than not.

I wish to retain the GPU from my old system.