Sign in to follow this  

Hullo,

I bought X-Plane 10 not long ago and I am really enjoying it. I also have FSX but I have not used it since I acquired X-Plane; I have not quit on it though.

However, FSX is a 32-bit application and I am using the 64-bit version of X-plane 10. Now, I am not a hardware expert but I could imagine that the two applications make use of my hardware in different ways. This is my iMac:

27" iMac (medio 2011):
  • Intel Core i5-2400 CPU (3,1GHz)
  • 8GB DDR3 RAM
  • AMD ATi Radeon HD 6970M (1GB DDR5 RAM)
Can anyone here tell me if I would see a better performance if I up my RAM from 8GB to 16GB? Or is X-Plane more focused on GPU and VRAM. In addition, would it be worth the cost of the RAM modules; approx. $142/€134/£97 for 2 x 4GB modules.

Thanks for your help in advance :)

On Win7 I went from 8 to 16 GB of RAM and didn't notice any difference in XP.  As it turns out my PC didn;t like the RAM combo so in the end I went back to 8GB.

If using UHD mesh v3 that 16GB may be what you need.  I know in the v3 mesh thread people using macs needed the 16GB.  But in my experience on Win OS, the additional 8 didn't do anything.  For some reason even in the v3 mesh areas my system memory is still way below 8GB.

| FAA ZMP |
| PPL ASEL |
| Windows 11 | MSI Z690 Tomahawk | 12700K 4.7GHz | MSI RTX 4080 | 32GB 5600 MHz DDR5 | 500GB Samsung 860 Evo SSD | 2x 2TB Samsung 970 Evo M.2 | EVGA 850W Gold | Corsair 5000X | HP G2 (VR) / LG 27" 1440p |

With UHD mesh 16 gb wasn't enough . I actually had an out of memory on xpx.This was a PC but still should be close on a mac as the amount of data doesn't change.

I wouldn't worry about RAM for the moment, you should be able to run X-Plane okay with what you have, but as the guys say, avoid the UHD Mesh. I would think that the HD Mesh 3 would be fine though.