Good day pilots,

A few months ago I started playing FSX, but have the problem that my fps are not as high as they are recommending (around 30).

My fps range from 7 to 15 and try to tweak, but without great results. Still the fps are around 10 to 17.

The following add-ons are installed:

FTX Central
REX Essential Plus Overdrive
REX 4
GEX
UTX
PMDG + other add-on aircrafts
NL2000
FSPassengers
FSUIPC
EZDOK

Is my hardware still good enough or do I have to replace it all?

My system:

Intel Q9450 (overclocked 3 GHz)
ATI 5870 (Core 1GHZ, Memory 1.2 GHZ)
OCZ Reaper X 4GB (2x2)
Crucial 512GB SSD
ASUS P5E

Thanks for the advice in advance!

That's an older system for sure

Save up and replace the motherboard, RAM, CPU and video card. I'd recommend 4790K and GTX 970, 8GB of ram

| FAA ZMP |
| PPL ASEL |
| Windows 11 | MSI Z690 Tomahawk | 12700K 4.7GHz | MSI RTX 4080 | 32GB 5600 MHz DDR5 | 500GB Samsung 860 Evo SSD | 2x 2TB Samsung 970 Evo M.2 | EVGA 850W Gold | Corsair 5000X | HP G2 (VR) / LG 27" 1440p |

I suggest getting a new system.  Upgrading your current one will be difficult at best, or impossible.

sig01.png

I went from a Q9550 overclocked to 3.4 to a sandy bridge 2600k overclocked to 4.8. Massive difference.

So If you choose to upgrade to the new 4790k you will see much better results then your current system.

Flight Simulator's - Prepar3d V5.3/MSFS2020 | Operating System - WIN 10 | Main Board - GIGABYTE Z390 AORUS PRO | CPU - INTEL 9700k (5.0Ghz) | RAM - VIPER 32Gig DDR4 4000Mhz | Video Card - EVGA RTX3090 FTW3 ULTRA Monitor - DELL 38" ULTRAWIDE | Case - CORSAIR 750D FULL TOWER | CPU Cooling - CORSAIR H150i Elite Push/Pull | Power Supply - EVGA 1000 G+ 

Thanks all for the reply and advice!

No wonder that the fps is not getting above the 17 fps, if I compare the hardware above with my current system.
All the add-ons are also heavy for the system, so need to replace it all. Try to overclock some more, so maybe this has some results.