Sign in to follow this  
Monjardino

Another New FSX PC Build

Afternoon All,

I've been spending some time putting together a list of components for building myself a new PC. Primarily I'll be building it around FSX but as a photographer I've also compiled the components with Adobe Photoshop CS in mind.

I think I've covered all bases relatively well but please feel free to post comment and suggestions for any alterations you think I should consider. I'll be using my current monitor which is ilyama Prolite B2409HDS, I guess its getting on a bit now but I think a monitor upgrade can wait for now.

CPU - Intel Core i7-4790K 4.0GHz Quad-Core

Motherboard - Asus Z97-E ATX LGA1150

RAM - G.Skill Ares Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR3-2133

Drives - Samsung 840 EVO 120GB 2.5" Solid State Drive

Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive

Graphics Card - EVGA GeForce GTX 960 2GB Video Card

CPU Cooler - Thermaltake Water 3.0 Performer 99.0 CFM Liquid CPU Cooler

Case - Fractal Design Define R4 (Arctic White) ATX Mid Tower Case

PSU -  Fractal Design Newton R3 800W 80+ Platinum Certified Semi-Modular ATX

Optical Drive - LG UH12NS30 Blu-Ray Reader, DVD/CD Writer

Operating System - Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 (OEM) (64-bit)

All in all, this lot comes in at £1175 and hopefully will see out maybe 5-6 years

Please feel free to comment and post advice or suggestions.

Thanks in advance.

Luke Harvey

I don't know what UK prices are like, but to me, you should upgrade:

• Corsair H60i cooler
  • WD Black instead of Blue
  • GTX970 - definitely above all else

Also, see if you could get the newer 850EVO for the same price.

sig01.png

Hey guys,

I've updated the parts that you questioned at its bumped the cost up to nearly £1400, damn I have expensive taste!! Admittedly I have added a second smaller SSD simply to install FSX on its own. I remember reading somewhere that FSX operates better if you can install stall it on its own drive.