Jump to content

  •  


   
Where Flight Simulation Enthusiasts Gather from Around the World!

There have been 500 of your fellow community members and guests in the forums and elsewhere on AVSIM within the last 15 minutes!

SUBMIT YOUR NEWS TO AVSIM

HOT SPOTS:
 rarrow.gif What's new in the Library
rarrow.gif The Market Place!

rarrow.gif What's New In the Market

rarrow.gif What's Popular In the Market

rarrow.gif Member Blogs

rarrow.gif AVSIM Social Groups - NEW!

rarrow.gif Member Reviews
rarrow.gif Bargain Hunters Forum
rarrow.gif Classified, Want, Swap Ads

rarrow.gif AVSIM Team Speak System - NEW!

rarrow.gif Video Library
rarrow.gif Live Video Streaming
rarrow.gif Image Gallery
rarrow.gif Community Links Library
rarrow.gif Tutorials

rarrow.gif FS9. FSX & P3D CTD Guide

rarrow.gif FSX / P3D Configuration Guide

rarrow.gif AVSIM Publications 



Simulation's Premier Resource!

AVSIM is a free service to the flight and simulation communities. Please help us keep it that way. Donate what you can today! Thank you for your support!




AVSIM Market Place
Featured Products!








. . .
- - - - -

VC windows raindrop fix


  • Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#1 Inactive Member_Nils79_***

Inactive Member_Nils79_***
  • Guests
  • Joined 44 Years, 3 Months and 24 Days Ago.

Posted 07 November 2007 - 05:00 PM

>>Thanks for your answer, Owen!>>Is there a chance that we see someday for example a Twin>>Comanche flying in DX10 mode of FSX and with working VC rain>>effects?>>If the mechanism was in place to incorporate that within the>model, perhaps, but the SDK does not specifically allow for>such for native FSX models. HTH!>>Owen>Thanks again, Owen!I only had to google for "HTH" ;)I enjoy your Twin Comanche anyway :) Posted ImageNils

Help AVSIM continue to serve you!
Please donate today!

#2 OwenHewitt

OwenHewitt

    Member

  • Members
  • 232 posts
  • Joined 8 Years, 11 Months and 13 Days Ago.
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Carolina

Posted 05 November 2007 - 02:09 PM

>Thanks for your answer, Owen!>Is there a chance that we see someday for example a Twin>Comanche flying in DX10 mode of FSX and with working VC rain>effects?If the mechanism was in place to incorporate that within the model, perhaps, but the SDK does not specifically allow for such for native FSX models. HTH!Owen

#3 northtexas

northtexas

    Member

  • Members
  • 242 posts
  • Joined 11 Years and 6 Days Ago.
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:DFW Area

Posted 04 November 2007 - 09:15 PM

>>My Real Air SF260 has two .mdl files but the vc rain mod>>doesn't work with it while all my FSD aircraft have only one>>.mdl yet I have VC rain with those.>>That's because the "VC Rain" only works with FS9 (those>with ONE model file) models!:-wave I misread your post...getting old! :-wave

#4 n4gix

n4gix

    Forum Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 11,643 posts
  • Joined 10 Years, 3 Months and 15 Days Ago.
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hammond, IN USA
  • My PC
  • My Simulator

Posted 04 November 2007 - 06:26 PM

>My Real Air SF260 has two .mdl files but the vc rain mod>doesn't work with it while all my FSD aircraft have only one>.mdl yet I have VC rain with those.That's because the "VC Rain" only works with FS9 (those with ONE model file) models! :-wave

#5 northtexas

northtexas

    Member

  • Members
  • 242 posts
  • Joined 11 Years and 6 Days Ago.
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:DFW Area
  • My PC
  • My Simulator

Posted 04 November 2007 - 04:51 PM

My Real Air SF260 has two .mdl files but the vc rain mod doesn't work with it while all my FSD aircraft have only one .mdl yet I have VC rain with those.The easiest way to check is to backup all your FSX VCRAIN****.BMP files then copy the FS9 versions to the main Texture folder and check each airplane with rainy weather conditions. I have found no adverse effects with the default and other payware aircraft using the FS9 or rlvcrain.zip files .

#6 n4gix

n4gix

    Forum Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 11,643 posts
  • Joined 10 Years, 3 Months and 15 Days Ago.
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hammond, IN USA
  • My PC
  • My Simulator

Posted 04 November 2007 - 03:44 PM

>>Once more the question: How can I recognize from the folder>or file structure inside an aircraft folder that this is a >GMAX created aircraft in an FS9 format?That's the simplest question to answer!The model folder of ALL] "true FSX SDK" models will contain TWO .mdl files: one for the _exterior and another for the _interior.If the model folder has only a single .mdl file, then is is definitely NOT an authentic FSX SDK model... :)

#7 Inactive Member_cbuchner1_***

Inactive Member_cbuchner1_***
  • Guests
  • Joined 44 Years, 3 Months and 24 Days Ago.

Posted 04 November 2007 - 02:48 PM

Once more the question: How can I recognize from the folderor file structure inside an aircraft folder that this is a GMAX created aircraft in an FS9 format?I don't currently know which aircraft I should try thisraindrop hack with. Of course none of the default aircraft that ship with FSX, I suppose ;)Christian

#8 Inactive Member_Nils79_***

Inactive Member_Nils79_***
  • Guests
  • Joined 44 Years, 3 Months and 24 Days Ago.

Posted 04 November 2007 - 07:48 AM

Thanks for your answer, Owen!Is there a chance that we see someday for example a Twin Comanche flying in DX10 mode of FSX and with working VC rain effects?

#9 OwenHewitt

OwenHewitt

    Member

  • Members
  • 232 posts
  • Joined 8 Years, 11 Months and 13 Days Ago.
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Carolina
  • My PC
  • My Simulator

Posted 04 November 2007 - 06:49 AM

Native FSX models do not have an option for use of animated images, such as what is being used for the raindrops, at least at this time!Owen

#10 Inactive Member_Nils79_***

Inactive Member_Nils79_***
  • Guests
  • Joined 44 Years, 3 Months and 24 Days Ago.

Posted 04 November 2007 - 06:01 AM

Yes, at least with FS9 models. The default FSX airplanes are still not showing VC rain effects.It would be nice, if a gmax expert could tell us, what has to be done for FSX models.

#11 victorwest2

victorwest2

    Member - 1,000+

  • Members
  • 1,556 posts
  • Joined 10 Years, 5 Months and 11 Days Ago.

Posted 04 November 2007 - 05:40 AM

>I suggest rlvcrain.zip for the VC and raindrop.zip for 2D.>So rlvcrain.zip works in FSX then?

#12 Inactive Member_Nils79_***

Inactive Member_Nils79_***
  • Guests
  • Joined 44 Years, 3 Months and 24 Days Ago.

Posted 04 November 2007 - 04:41 AM

I suggest rlvcrain.zip for the VC and raindrop.zip for 2D.Posted Image

#13 Inactive Member_AreCee_***

Inactive Member_AreCee_***
  • Guests
  • Joined 44 Years, 3 Months and 24 Days Ago.

Posted 03 November 2007 - 09:52 PM

Thank you Jim, Excellent find, works great with all my Shockwave aircraft, which have been driving me nutz when it rained.I have seen no adverse affects on any other aircraft, default or add-ons. Posted Image

#14 northtexas

northtexas

    Member

  • Members
  • 242 posts
  • Joined 11 Years and 6 Days Ago.
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:DFW Area

Posted 03 November 2007 - 08:05 PM

>oh, I must have misunderstood the post, >>You're saying you can only see the raindrops on older planes? >You can't see them in say, the C172 for FSX?That's correct...I only see them on my FSD for FSX aircraft. I also checked my Real Air SF260 and didn't see raindrops on it either.

#15 ryanbatcund

ryanbatcund

    Member - 8,000+

  • Members
  • 9,504 posts
  • Joined 7 Years, 7 Months and 21 Days Ago.
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Duluth, MN

Posted 03 November 2007 - 07:00 PM

oh, I must have misunderstood the post, You're saying you can only see the raindrops on older planes? You can't see them in say, the C172 for FSX?

#16 northtexas

northtexas

    Member

  • Members
  • 242 posts
  • Joined 11 Years and 6 Days Ago.
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:DFW Area

Posted 03 November 2007 - 06:51 PM

>awesome, so you simple copy the files VC*.* from FS9/textures>to FSX/texture?Yep, that's it! There are 32 files.

#17 Inactive Member_Nils79_***

Inactive Member_Nils79_***
  • Guests
  • Joined 44 Years, 3 Months and 24 Days Ago.

Posted 03 November 2007 - 06:51 PM

It only works with FS9 Models like the Do-27 or DC-2 and i used also "windshield_rain_effect_available=1".The FSX vc rain textures are looking strange to me and causing problems with the mentioned airplanes in rain (since XPack).

#18 ryanbatcund

ryanbatcund

    Member - 8,000+

  • Members
  • 9,504 posts
  • Joined 7 Years, 7 Months and 21 Days Ago.
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Duluth, MN

Posted 03 November 2007 - 06:13 PM

awesome, so you simple copy the files VC*.* from FS9/textures to FSX/texture?

#19 northtexas

northtexas

    Member

  • Members
  • 242 posts
  • Joined 11 Years and 6 Days Ago.
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:DFW Area

Posted 03 November 2007 - 05:43 PM

>>Can you give a short list of what aircraft would be affected?>i.e. which popular freeware or commercial addons are GMAX>created?>For me it has only affected my three FSD aircraft but it's sure nice to see the raindrops on my vc windshield again. Posted Image

#20 Inactive Member_cbuchner1_***

Inactive Member_cbuchner1_***
  • Guests
  • Joined 44 Years, 3 Months and 24 Days Ago.

Posted 03 November 2007 - 04:43 PM

Can you give a short list of what aircraft would be affected?i.e. which popular freeware or commercial addons are GMAX created?

#21 Inactive Member_Marlin Manhiem_***

Inactive Member_Marlin Manhiem_***
  • Guests
  • Joined 44 Years, 3 Months and 24 Days Ago.

Posted 03 November 2007 - 02:27 PM

Ya but, I don't have FS9.?????

#22 northtexas

northtexas

    Member

  • Members
  • 242 posts
  • Joined 11 Years and 6 Days Ago.
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:DFW Area

Posted 03 November 2007 - 02:22 PM

From FSD's Jim Goldman: I have some WONDERFUL NEWS.. and yes spread the information out to others PLEASE..... the gray out windows (with rain) in VC of FS9 GMAX created aircraft can be fixed and you will actually get the moving rain back into the VC in FSX.. YES YOU READ it right.....Well here it goes (you will need to copy all the VCRAIN****.BMP with in the TEXTURE folder in FS9 to FSX.... (remember to back-up the FSX version of the textures).That is all there is to it. The gray out effect is gone.I will post new PROP circle textures soon.Good luckBestJim I tried it and it works great and also fixes a transparency issue with FSD aircraft and Acceleration.

#23 riccardo74

riccardo74

    Member

  • Members
  • 617 posts
  • Joined 6 Years, 4 Months and 13 Days Ago.
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:LIPH
  • My PC
  • My Simulator

Posted 25 May 2011 - 05:35 PM

Why is it so diffcult to develop this effect for fsx? It's a GMAX related problem?And this video:http://m.youtube.com/index?desktop_uri=%2F&gl=IT#/watch?v=ivwzweKgWF4Is it only a special effect? Or is it FS9?737 from iFly doesn't have vc rain effect, owners said this.So for FSX we won't see any rain drops on future add-on? Pmdg 737 too?

#24 cmpbellsjc

cmpbellsjc

    Member - 4,000+

  • Members
  • 4,245 posts
  • Joined 10 Years, 7 Months and 22 Days Ago.
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:From Tucson, AZ residing in Plano, TX
  • My PC

Posted 25 May 2011 - 05:46 PM

Why is it so diffcult to develop this effect for fsx? It's a GMAX related problem?And this video:http://m.youtube.com/index?desktop_uri=%2F&gl=IT#/watch?v=ivwzweKgWF4Is it only a special effect? Or is it FS9?737 from iFly doesn't have vc rain effect, owners said this.So for FSX we won't see any rain drops on future add-on? Pmdg 737 too?

Best reason as explained here.

There are certain things (controlled by shaders) that can NOT be modified in FSX when using DX9. Rain and Snow being one of them. In DX10 you CAN control the rain effect shader effect, because it is external (inside ShadersHLSL), unfortunately is not the case for DX9 and rain/snow, so you are out of luck here.

The PMDG 737 will not have VC rain drops as confirmed by them.There are some a/c that do have them built into the a/c model like the Lotus L-39, ORBX Lancair, a few RealAir products from what I understand.Basically, to get VC rain effects in FSX, it has to be built into the model of the aircraft due to the way FSX works versus the way FS9 did it.I cant believe thie thread is almost 4 years old, time passes so quick.

#25 PIC007

PIC007

    Member - 1,000+

  • Members
  • 1,876 posts
  • Joined 3 Years, 11 Months and 8 Days Ago.
  • Gender:Male
  • My PC
  • My Simulator

Posted 25 May 2011 - 08:04 PM

4 year old post