Jump to content

  •  


   
Where Flight Simulation Enthusiasts Gather from Around the World!

HOT SPOTS:
 rarrow.gif The 2014 Demographic Survey! - NEW!

rarrow.gif What's new in the Library

rarrow.gif Member Blogs

rarrow.gif Member Reviews - Contribute a Review!
rarrow.gif Bargain Hunters Forum
rarrow.gif Classified, Want, Swap Ads

rarrow.gif AVSIM Team Speak System

rarrow.gif Video Library
rarrow.gif Image Gallery
rarrow.gif Community Links Library
rarrow.gif Tutorials

rarrow.gif FS9. FSX & P3D CTD Guide

rarrow.gif FSX / P3D Configuration Guide

rarrow.gif AVSIM Publications 



Simulation's Premier Resource!

AVSIM is a free service to the flight and simulation communities. Please help us keep it that way. Donate what you can today! Thank you for your support!











. . .
Photo
- - - - -

Acceleration carrier capabilities and add-on aircrafts


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 PelicanHazard

PelicanHazard

    Member

  • Members
  • 99 posts
  • Joined 6 Years, 9 Months and 4 Days Ago.

Posted 17 November 2007 - 04:42 PM

Try this:[launch_assistance]launch_bar_pivot=11.25, 0, -6launch_bar_lug=12.25, 0, -7Alan
Alan F
-----
Win7 x64, ASUS P6X58D Premium, Intel i7-960 3.2 GHz, Sapphire Vapor-X Radeon HD 5770 1GB, Mushkin Blackline DDR3 3x2GB
I get > 20 FPS @ Ultra High or better everything until I come across addon scenery.
-----
Posted Image

Help AVSIM continue to serve you!
Please donate today!

#2 Inactive Member_p51nut_***

Inactive Member_p51nut_***
  • Guests
  • Joined 44 Years, 7 Months and 19 Days Ago.

Posted 16 November 2007 - 11:06 PM

Hi. I'm having trouble with the contact points on the launch assistance. When the cat enables and I add throttle, my plane moves forward. Here are my contact points, could you please help me put configure my launch_bar_pivot and launch_bar_lug?[contact_points]static_pitch = -1.75static_cg_height = 7.15tailwheel_lock = 0gear_system_type = 1max_number_of_points = 8point.0 = 1, 11.25, 0, -7, 3200, 0, 0.875, 60, 0.55, 1.15, 0.52, 4.95, 5.25, 0, 275, 325point.1 = 1, -9.25, -9.25, -7.85, 4200, 1, 1.1, 0, 1.3, 1.15, 0.895, 5.5, 5.75, 2, 275, 325point.2 = 1, -9.25, 9.25, -7.85, 4200, 2, 1.1, 0, 1.3, 1.15, 0.895, 5.5, 5.7, 3, 275, 325point.3 = 2, -9.6581, -19.2599, -0.2515, 787.402, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 5, 0, 0point.4 = 2, -9.6581, 19.2599, -0.2515, 787.402, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 6, 0, 0point.5 = 2, -27.0179, 0, -1.6739, 787.402, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 9, 0, 0point.6 = 2.000, 19.099, 0.000, -2.343, 787.402, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 4.000, 0.000, 0.000point.7 = 5.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 1.500, 1.200, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000thank youChris

#3 PelicanHazard

PelicanHazard

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Members
  • 99 posts
  • Joined 6 Years, 9 Months and 4 Days Ago.

Posted 16 November 2007 - 07:45 PM

Actually, ignore this. I was an idiot and didn't edit the cfg file correctly.
Alan F
-----
Win7 x64, ASUS P6X58D Premium, Intel i7-960 3.2 GHz, Sapphire Vapor-X Radeon HD 5770 1GB, Mushkin Blackline DDR3 3x2GB
I get > 20 FPS @ Ultra High or better everything until I come across addon scenery.
-----
Posted Image

#4 PelicanHazard

PelicanHazard

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Members
  • 99 posts
  • Joined 6 Years, 9 Months and 4 Days Ago.

Posted 16 November 2007 - 05:38 PM

Ok, I tried adding a launch_assistance section to a couple of AlphaSim aircraft, but when I attached to the catapult on the carrier, the nose of the aircrafts started jumping up and down, and I couldn't launch. Any ideas why?
Alan F
-----
Win7 x64, ASUS P6X58D Premium, Intel i7-960 3.2 GHz, Sapphire Vapor-X Radeon HD 5770 1GB, Mushkin Blackline DDR3 3x2GB
I get > 20 FPS @ Ultra High or better everything until I come across addon scenery.
-----
Posted Image

#5 Inactive Member_lc0277_***

Inactive Member_lc0277_***
  • Guests
  • Joined 44 Years, 7 Months and 19 Days Ago.

Posted 13 November 2007 - 02:20 PM

Another interesting new features of Acceleration carrier ops are the new tailhook/launchbar "Marker States". They are useless for end users, but very practical for debugging aircraft models (though the simconnect SDK was not updated with the appropriate informations). See the attached pictures for examples.http://lc0277.nerim....e_launchbar.jpghttp://lc0277.nerim....arkerstate2.jpgRhys Eddy of 3wireX already had significant usage of these marker states but I don't know if he released an application. As an interim you can try this one : http://lc0277.nerim....ShowMarkers.exe

#6 rcbarend

rcbarend

    Member - 1,000+

  • Members
  • 1,555 posts
  • Joined 12 Years, 5 Months and 10 Days Ago.

Posted 13 November 2007 - 12:37 PM

Hi,No, it probably wasn't an Integer/Float problem; it occurred e.g. from 4.7 to 4.8 with an extension percentage like 70 resp 20.Which I could only solve by varying the vertical-coordinate of the tailhook_position parameter. (that gave the funny visual problems).But I assume this problem has been fixed now in FSX/SP2, because the measurements you mention gives results I would expect.Thanks, Rob

#7 Inactive Member_lc0277_***

Inactive Member_lc0277_***
  • Guests
  • Joined 44 Years, 7 Months and 19 Days Ago.

Posted 13 November 2007 - 11:51 AM

In acceleration you can choose to define tailhooks as attach points on the model. The advantage is that the visual tailhook will always be the same as the logical one (which is now used by the simulation core for real purposes). But it transfer all the job to the aircraft modeller and reduces the facilities offered to 3rd party developers or tweakers ...However the bug you've found concerning tailhook_length sounds like some standard integer/float number read error; ie tailhook_length is read as an integer and the fractional part is discarded. While I can't tell on RTM/SP1, I don't think SP2 shows this behaviourI've quickly tested the F-14D by Cattaneo & al and I got the following results :cfg Length Tailhook position (%)4.1 69.94.35 65.74.5 60.0The position was recorded with a custom simconnect app. Maybe were you talking about smaller increments ?

#8 rcbarend

rcbarend

    Member - 1,000+

  • Members
  • 1,555 posts
  • Joined 12 Years, 5 Months and 10 Days Ago.

Posted 13 November 2007 - 09:06 AM

Thanks for the info.Although I don't have Accel (yet), and you obviously have done some investigation:W.r.t.:[tailhook]tailhook_length=4.5I noticed in FS9 and in FSX-RTM the tailhook size definition don't work properly.I mean this:When you set an aircraft on the ground, and extend the tailhook, you would expect the TAILHOOK POSITION variable to give (in %) a value of 60-70 %. Because IRL, the tailhook sticks out below the wheels (when at 100%).And if it doesn't (most addon aircraft I know have inaccurate definitions), you would expect that by gradually increasing (e.g. in 0.2 feet increments) the tailhook_size (with the same tailhook_position), that the POSITION percentage gradually decreases. Well, it doesn't. Either a small increment has a hugh effect, or no effect at all.(I have done a lot of experiments in the past for my COP package with this, for many addon planes).And if you do find good values for tailhook_size and tailhook_position (i.e. that does give this expected extension percentage), in most addon aircraft the end of the visual tailhook floats high above the ground, or even sinks into the ground.Has this been improved in Accel ??Regards, Rob Barendregt

#9 Inactive Member_SkyDrift_***

Inactive Member_SkyDrift_***
  • Guests
  • Joined 44 Years, 7 Months and 19 Days Ago.

Posted 12 November 2007 - 06:25 PM

Ditto for me - thanks lc0277. The setting is one of those undocumented features that will be very useful to all. I must add one to the Aircreation and see what happens!! :-)- regards.SkyDrift

#10 LuisFelizTirado

LuisFelizTirado

    Scenery Design

  • Members
  • 4,156 posts
  • Joined 12 Years, 5 Months and 12 Days Ago.

Posted 12 November 2007 - 06:24 AM

Salut Lamont,merci beaucoup pour l'info.Luis
Posted Image Hot, humid Caribbean paradise!

#11 Inactive Member_lc0277_***

Inactive Member_lc0277_***
  • Guests
  • Joined 44 Years, 7 Months and 19 Days Ago.

Posted 12 November 2007 - 04:22 AM

Hi Folks,I wonder why the Acceleration SDK has so few information on this point while it gives a lot concerning carrier models.So this post might be useful for aircraft developpers but also for medium-skilled users able to edit aircraft config file.Basically, there are two ways of adding catapult/cable settings to an aircraft :1 - attach points. This is the preferred method and is used by the shipped FA-18. Since they are encoded onto the model, ONLY the original designer or someone who has access to the source can do it.There are four attach points recognized by FS core:attachpt_tailhook_pivotattachpt_tailhook_hookattachpt_Launch_Bar_Pivotattachpt_Launch_Bar_LugThe names are explicit enoughAnimated parts are controlled by the FS variables A:LAUNCHBAR POSITION:1 and TAILHOOK POSITION:12 - aircraft.cfg editing : this method is available for all users and works on all planes. The following lines are used:[tailhook]tailhook_length=4.5tailhook_position=-49.0, 0, -2.5[launch_assistance]launch_bar_pivot=0.90, 0.00, -0.09launch_bar_lug=0.90, 0.00, -4.09Note that the [tailhook] section was introduced in FS long before the acceleration pack and therefore some add-on planes may alreadyhave one. The coordinates are given in longitudinal,lateral and vertical feet from the datum reference point.For quick testing, you can copy the coordinates corresponding to the nose gear in [contact_points] since they are defined the same way (on a point.X line, the coordinates start at the second number). However the launch bar will be non-animated, but you still have to deploy it prior to requesting a catapult launch.Of course, it will only works on the acceleration carrier which is available in missions and in free flight as scheduled AI traffic around Hawaii & CONUS and in some third-party add-ons.

#12 Inactive Member_Chronocidal_***

Inactive Member_Chronocidal_***
  • Guests
  • Joined 44 Years, 7 Months and 19 Days Ago.

Posted 27 November 2007 - 07:58 PM

Are there any tutorials or examples anywhere on how to activate the features using the attach points? I've experimented with these, but even with the attach points in a model, FSX doesn't recognize the plane as having a launch bar, and won't activate or animate it. The part for the launch bar is animated from 0 to 100 using the launch_bar_pct animation tag, but it only ever appears in one of two positions. If I use the .cfg definition method, this appears to lock the launch bar into the down position, and the launch bar extension command has no effect. If I use the attach points, the part is locked at some random angle, and won't activate. I've also tried putting a switch in a simple VC to activate it (using the default tags), but it only ever reads either up or down (up for attach point definition, down for cfg definition), and won't toggle the function.Anyone have any know how with this?





   
Where Flight Simulation Enthusiasts Gather from Around the World!