Jump to content

  •  


   
Where Flight Simulation Enthusiasts Gather from Around the World!

HOT SPOTS:
 rarrow.gif The 2014 Demographic Survey! - NEW!

rarrow.gif What's new in the Library

rarrow.gif Member Blogs

rarrow.gif Member Reviews - Contribute a Review!
rarrow.gif Bargain Hunters Forum
rarrow.gif Classified, Want, Swap Ads

rarrow.gif AVSIM Team Speak System

rarrow.gif Video Library
rarrow.gif Image Gallery
rarrow.gif Community Links Library
rarrow.gif Tutorials

rarrow.gif FS9. FSX & P3D CTD Guide

rarrow.gif FSX / P3D Configuration Guide

rarrow.gif AVSIM Publications 



Simulation's Premier Resource!

AVSIM is a free service to the flight and simulation communities. Please help us keep it that way. Donate what you can today! Thank you for your support!











. . .
Photo
- - - - -

American Airlines MD80


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 scoob

scoob

    feelThere Professional

  • Commercial Member
  • 1,957 posts
  • Joined 10 Years, 5 Months and 28 Days Ago.

Posted 28 February 2008 - 04:42 PM

the five or so rows of an DC9/MD80/MD90/717 ain't much for quiet.--
D. Scobie, feelThere support forum moderator: http://forum.iemit.com

Posted Image


Help AVSIM continue to serve you!
Please donate today!

#2 mad dog

mad dog

    Member - 4,000+

  • Donor
  • 4,677 posts
  • Joined 9 Years, 9 Months and 14 Days Ago.

Donator

Posted 28 February 2008 - 03:54 PM

HelloTry thishttp://www.flight1.c...uct=FL1-S80-002With theseFilename: aa_super80.zipLicense: FreewareAdded: 20th December 2005Downloads: 1824Author: Flight 1, Jordan DuVallSize: 2614kbFilename: f1_super80_aal_v2.zipLicense: FreewareAdded: 1st September 2006Downloads: 653Author: John Patterson, Flight1/CoolSkySize: 2088kb

#3 Inactive Member_cinedependent_***

Inactive Member_cinedependent_***
  • Guests
  • Joined 44 Years, 7 Months and 19 Days Ago.

Posted 28 February 2008 - 03:36 PM

I notice there are several varients of the 80. the 82, 83... The one on which I flew has an engine right next to my window seat. Thank the gods for my noise cancelling headphones. I will check out this package when I get some money. Flat broke at the moment. Was hoping for a freeware version.

#4 Paul J

Paul J

    Member - 5,000+

  • Members
  • 5,914 posts
  • Joined 9 Years and 11 Days Ago.

Posted 28 February 2008 - 03:31 PM

Fabulous aircraft. Heartily concur.

#5 Brent

Brent

    Member

  • Members
  • 145 posts
  • Joined 7 Years, 4 Months and 10 Days Ago.

Posted 28 February 2008 - 03:23 PM

TimothyThe Coolsky Super 80 published by Flight 1 is a great payware plane and there is a AA repaint available on Avsim. I've had it for a couple of months and its easily one of my favourites. Works with FS9 and FSX.Brent
Brent Beale Posted Image

#6 Inactive Member_cinedependent_***

Inactive Member_cinedependent_***
  • Guests
  • Joined 44 Years, 7 Months and 19 Days Ago.

Posted 28 February 2008 - 03:07 PM

I recently flew in an American MD80 from Florida to San Francisco with a short stop in Dallas.I really want to recreate that flight, but can't find a flyable American Airlines MD80, freeware, or payware. Any suggestions?Thanx,Timothy

#7 Daveo

Daveo

    Library Administrator

  • Administrators
  • 1,793 posts
  • Joined 7 Years, 9 Months and 21 Days Ago.

Posted 07 March 2008 - 04:52 PM

I had grabbed an SAS MD81 for FSX from the library here back in october but can't seem to find it in the library listings now.Get back to me if you want to give that one a spin.DaveESSB

Dave Opper us.png
AVSIM Library Director
ESSB - Stockholm, Sweden
HiFi Support Team
commang.jpg


#8

  • Guests
  • Joined 44 Years, 7 Months and 19 Days Ago.

Posted 07 March 2008 - 08:37 AM

>> the ONS system is well>>modeled. >>Ah, I assume this is some sort of intertial navigation>system?>The ONS and PMS working together perform most of the functions of a current day FMC.Whether it uses inertial or automatic VOR-VOR navigation I can't tell (maybe the manual mentions it, I've not gotten around to reading all of it).>My question is, in today's MD-80 ops, such as American>Airlines now has, have these aircraft been retrofitted with an>FMC? Or are they still using this 'ONS' system? If you do>not know, that is fine, but I thought you might ;)>Most have probably been retrofitted with more modern avionics over the years (or replaced with aircraft that have more modern avionics).Would depend on a cost/benefit tradeoff of course.

#9

  • Guests
  • Joined 44 Years, 7 Months and 19 Days Ago.

Posted 07 March 2008 - 08:34 AM

There's a native FSX version for AA at the manufacturer website at http://www.coolsky.no

#10 vsukpadman

vsukpadman

    Member

  • Members
  • 31 posts
  • Joined 9 Years, 8 Months and 9 Days Ago.

Posted 07 March 2008 - 07:33 AM

I would vote for this wholeheartedlyhttp://www.flythemaddog.com/ TOTAL simulation of the aircraft ,including the FMC plus the added bonus of full cockpit sharing mode.Its my new favourite aircraft for fsx/fs9.If you dont fly this as per real world , it WILL bite you :-)There is also an american repaint btwBill P

#11 G7USL

G7USL

    'MYAir Virtual' Senior Captain

  • Members
  • 4,581 posts
  • Joined 10 Years, 11 Months and 11 Days Ago.

Posted 07 March 2008 - 06:52 AM

I'll vouch for that too. It's the second most absorbing simulation to the PMDG Queen.

Dave Taylor gb.png

 

pmdg_trijet.jpg

 

 


#12 Mace

Mace

    Member - 5,000+

  • Members
  • 5,038 posts
  • Joined 11 Years, 4 Months and 22 Days Ago.

Posted 06 March 2008 - 04:07 PM

> the ONS system is well>modeled. Ah, I assume this is some sort of intertial navigation system?My question is, in today's MD-80 ops, such as American Airlines now has, have these aircraft been retrofitted with an FMC? Or are they still using this 'ONS' system? If you do not know, that is fine, but I thought you might ;)RhettAMD 3700+ (@2585 mhz), eVGA 7800GT 256 (Guru3D 93.71), ASUS A8N-E, PC Power 510 SLI, 2gb Corsair XMS 3-3-3-8 (1T), WD 150 gig 10000rpm Raptor, WD 250gig 7200rpm SATA2, Seagate 120gb 5400 rpm external HD, CoolerMaster Praetorian
Rhett

i7-2700k, ASUS P8Z77-V PRO, eVGA GTX680, OS: Samsung 128gb SSD, FSX: Samsung 256gb SSD; 8 gb G.Skill Sniper DDR3 1833 CAS9, Samsung 24"

#13 Inactive Member_Rockcliffe_***

Inactive Member_Rockcliffe_***
  • Guests
  • Joined 44 Years, 7 Months and 19 Days Ago.

Posted 06 March 2008 - 12:54 PM

If you have FS9, I heartily recommend the Samuli freeware MD80 found here http://efis.altervis...Samuli MD80.htmIf not, I'll add my recommendation that the Coolsky Super 80 is a great payware plane.BlairCYOW

#14 scoob

scoob

    feelThere Professional

  • Topic Starter
  • Commercial Member
  • 1,957 posts
  • Joined 10 Years, 5 Months and 28 Days Ago.

Posted 05 March 2008 - 09:27 PM

rhett:correct, the coolsky MD80 has no FMC. the ONS system is well modeled. there is no 'fancy' navigation display. you need to program waypoints using lat/lon, no waypoints and names (you can import FS9 and FSX .pln files). there is no AIRAC database. you have a climb, descent and engine performance computers. think of this setup as being DOS, where a modern aircraft runs windows. lots of fun to program and fly - NOT an aircraft that you push buttons and let the computers do all the work. the pilot is flying this aircraft ... which makes the sim a lot of fun!!some MD80 facts -* the '80' name comes from the proposed in-service date (ie, 1980).* the first MD80 is the MD81 (what coolsky has modeled). the MD81 is really a DC-9-81.* program launched aug. 1977.* first flight MD81 18 oct. 1979.* first delievery (swissair) 13 sept. 1980.source: the vital guide to commerical aircraft and airliners (2nd ed.), 2000, hewson r. (ed), airlife pub. ltd (england)--
D. Scobie, feelThere support forum moderator: http://forum.iemit.com

Posted Image


#15 Mace

Mace

    Member - 5,000+

  • Members
  • 5,038 posts
  • Joined 11 Years, 4 Months and 22 Days Ago.

Posted 05 March 2008 - 01:18 PM

It is my understanding that the Flight1/Coolsky Super 80 represents an MD-80 from about 1979. As such it has no FMC. Is this correct, that it has no FMC?RhettAMD 3700+ (@2585 mhz), eVGA 7800GT 256 (Guru3D 93.71), ASUS A8N-E, PC Power 510 SLI, 2gb Corsair XMS 3-3-3-8 (1T), WD 150 gig 10000rpm Raptor, WD 250gig 7200rpm SATA2, Seagate 120gb 5400 rpm external HD, CoolerMaster Praetorian
Rhett

i7-2700k, ASUS P8Z77-V PRO, eVGA GTX680, OS: Samsung 128gb SSD, FSX: Samsung 256gb SSD; 8 gb G.Skill Sniper DDR3 1833 CAS9, Samsung 24"