Jump to content

  •  


   
Where Flight Simulation Enthusiasts Gather from Around the World!

HOT SPOTS:
 rarrow.gif The 2014 Demographic Survey! - NEW!

rarrow.gif What's new in the Library

rarrow.gif Member Blogs

rarrow.gif Member Reviews - Contribute a Review!
rarrow.gif Bargain Hunters Forum
rarrow.gif Classified, Want, Swap Ads

rarrow.gif AVSIM Team Speak System

rarrow.gif Video Library
rarrow.gif Image Gallery
rarrow.gif Community Links Library
rarrow.gif Tutorials

rarrow.gif FS9. FSX & P3D CTD Guide

rarrow.gif FSX / P3D Configuration Guide

rarrow.gif AVSIM Publications 



Simulation's Premier Resource!

AVSIM is a free service to the flight and simulation communities. Please help us keep it that way. Donate what you can today! Thank you for your support!











. . .
Photo
- - - - -

AI Sounds In FSX


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Qatsi58

Qatsi58

    Member

  • Members
  • 495 posts
  • Joined 11 Years, 2 Months and 7 Days Ago.

Posted 30 July 2008 - 01:04 AM

Hi,deleting wave sound files is not necessary, unless if for preserving disc space. Its important to remove all entry's in the aisound.cfg that are not engine entry's. If only wave files are deleted, FS will search for them in other places (main sound folder).I didn't change anything to the engine entry's except removal of the full_scale_distance=.. lines. I kept internal sounds as i wasn't shure if these are used from inside own cockpit.Reason for removing other sounds from aisound.cfg came because i heard the flap handle while i didn't touch it. It took me some time to figure out it was a ai plane adjusting flaps :)Reason for removing 'full_scale_distance=..': I found ai engine sounds do better fade in/out in the distance. Although the sounds are a little louder with this value, they also tend to pop-in quite loud while the plane is still at distance.Hope this helps Regards, Gerrit Kranenbarg

Gerrit


Help AVSIM continue to serve you!
Please donate today!

#2 fbass

fbass

    Member

  • Members
  • 621 posts
  • Joined 10 Years and 26 Days Ago.

Posted 29 July 2008 - 05:49 PM

Rhet,I just checked the work I performed associated with this post. All the sounds I've heard thus far are pretty loud. I'm wondering if you might have included some interior sounds in your AI sound packages. Those sounds are quiet since they were recorded inside the cockpit - especially interior engine sounds.In most of the packages I used, the developer used an "x" in the file ID to indicate external sounds. Unless a file ID has this "x" or "out" then it might be an interior sound file.Just a thought.fb

#3 fbass

fbass

    Member

  • Members
  • 621 posts
  • Joined 10 Years and 26 Days Ago.

Posted 29 July 2008 - 05:44 PM

Gerrit,Just a small technical issue. I downloaded sound files from our site (and other locations). I listened to the sounds in each package and deleted the ones that sounded like they were interior sounds. Obviously the file names indicated (somewhat) what their functions were. I also went through the soundai.cfg files and deleted references to the deleted files.Now my question - I couldn't tell from the config information if just deleting these referenced config info paragraphs if there was some text that might be needed to link some files. Will it matter if some config information is missing - such as some kind of link? Note: As much as possible, I matched config paragraphs to *.wav files that I didn't delete.Also, does it matter if I left some config information in the soundai.cfg file if the *.wav file has been deleted?Thanks,fb

#4 Mace

Mace

    Member - 5,000+

  • Members
  • 5,038 posts
  • Joined 11 Years, 6 Months and 3 Days Ago.

Posted 29 July 2008 - 04:34 PM

>Hi Tom,>>Interesting point you made. I had the AIBlast Lite version>but do not hear similar AI sounds from FSX.>>Can you explain what you wrote about FSX AI engine doing>everything FSHotFSX did?>>Regards,>>RichardAh, that's what I had for a while-- AI Airblast sound package. I removed it though. It wasn't loud enough when a big jet took off, yet it was too loud if you were a half a mile away. It was kind of neat though, to see what types of things could be done with the FS sound system.RhettFS box: E8500 (@ 3.80 ghz), AC Freezer 7 Pro, ASUS P5E3 Premium, BFG 8800GTX 756 (nVidia 169 WHQL), 4gb DDR3 1600 Patriot Cas7 7-7-7-20 (2T), PC Power 750, WD 150gb 10000rpm Raptor, Seagate 500gb, Silverstone TJ09 case, Vista Ultimate 64ASX Client: AMD 3700+ (@ 2.6 ghz), 7800GT
Rhett

i7-2700k, ASUS P8Z77-V PRO, eVGA GTX680, OS: Samsung 128gb SSD, FSX: Samsung 256gb SSD; 8 gb G.Skill Sniper DDR3 1833 CAS9, Samsung 24"

#5 Inactive Member_RichardL_***

Inactive Member_RichardL_***
  • Guests
  • Joined 44 Years, 9 Months

Posted 29 July 2008 - 04:24 PM

Hi Tom,Interesting point you made. I had the AIBlast Lite version but do not hear similar AI sounds from FSX.Can you explain what you wrote about FSX AI engine doing everything FSHotFSX did?Regards,Richard

#6 tgibson

tgibson

    Member - 3,000+

  • Members
  • 3,035 posts
  • Joined 12 Years, 6 Months and 24 Days Ago.

Posted 29 July 2008 - 01:22 PM

Hi,The new FSX AI sound engine pretty much does everything that FSHotSFX did for FS9, and for free. I think they could see the writing on that wall!--Tom GibsonCal Classic Propliner Page: http://www.calclassic.comFreeflight Design Shop: http://www.freeflightdesign.comDrop by! ___x_x_(")_x_x___

#7 Qatsi58

Qatsi58

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Members
  • 495 posts
  • Joined 11 Years, 2 Months and 7 Days Ago.

Posted 29 July 2008 - 09:23 AM

Rhett, i didn't change this because i don't like them to be very loud :) In line for the runway they are quite loud though. Adjusting the engine sound slider to the max will make them louder but then you'll probably have to tune the engine sounds for the plane your flying.Regards, Gerrit Kranenbarg

Gerrit


#8 Inactive Member_RichardL_***

Inactive Member_RichardL_***
  • Guests
  • Joined 44 Years, 9 Months

Posted 29 July 2008 - 06:32 AM

Anyone know what happened to FS HotSeat?That was the best AI sound add-on package for FS9. Pity they didn't continue with FSX.Richard

#9 Mace

Mace

    Member - 5,000+

  • Members
  • 5,038 posts
  • Joined 11 Years, 6 Months and 3 Days Ago.

Posted 28 July 2008 - 05:42 PM

Good info in this thread. Incidentally, have you all modified your AI sound .wav's to make them louder? One thing I have noticed, is that AI sounds are generally very quiet.RhettFS box: E8500 (@ 3.80 ghz), AC Freezer 7 Pro, ASUS P5E3 Premium, BFG 8800GTX 756 (nVidia 169 WHQL), 4gb DDR3 1600 Patriot Cas7 7-7-7-20 (2T), PC Power 750, WD 150gb 10000rpm Raptor, Seagate 500gb, Silverstone TJ09 case, Vista Ultimate 64ASX Client: AMD 3700+ (@ 2.6 ghz), 7800GT
Rhett

i7-2700k, ASUS P8Z77-V PRO, eVGA GTX680, OS: Samsung 128gb SSD, FSX: Samsung 256gb SSD; 8 gb G.Skill Sniper DDR3 1833 CAS9, Samsung 24"

#10 fbass

fbass

    Member

  • Members
  • 621 posts
  • Joined 10 Years and 26 Days Ago.

Posted 27 July 2008 - 12:42 AM

Gerrit,Thanks very much. This is exactly what I needed.I agree it is a task finding the right sounds. I downloaded a number of Russian aircraft sounds from their AVSIM site and I'll delete the sound files whose titles look like they associate with cockpit sounds and such. I'll give it a try.Regards,Frank

#11 Qatsi58

Qatsi58

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Members
  • 495 posts
  • Joined 11 Years, 2 Months and 7 Days Ago.

Posted 26 July 2008 - 09:23 PM

There's no need for CAB files.What i did is i downloaded various engine types sound files from the FS2004/sound library, here on Avsim (many to choose from) and installed them in my AI airtraffic folder. Like this:Airtraffic/Engine_RR/soundaithe sound.cfg has to be renamed to soundai.cfg and should contain only the engine sound settings. Wind, gear, flaps, fuselage scrape etc. etc. has to be removed. Also all mention of: full_scale_distance=.. is best removed for best quality in FSX. Then all the AI planes with RR engine need a link in their soundai.cfg like this: alias=..AirtrafficEngine_RRsoundaiIt took me some time to find soundpackages that i found suitable. Quality wise. But, when it's all done its a joy to sit next to the runway and hear all these engine types take off and land (with reverse thrust!)I didn't notice any performance hit, only a small increase of memory use maybe.My soundcard: X-fi xtreme musicHope this helps.Regards, Gerrit Kranenbarg http://www.oncourse-...e_supporter.jpg

Gerrit


#12 fbass

fbass

    Member

  • Members
  • 621 posts
  • Joined 10 Years and 26 Days Ago.

Posted 26 July 2008 - 03:39 PM

Not too long ago I downloaded a package for adding AI aircraft sound files in FSX. This goes along with the aisound folder in AI aircraft folders. The aisound folder contains a config file pointing to a CAB file in the SimObjectsMisc folder that matches sounds for a particular aircraft type (eg 737). The CAB file contains the *.wav sound files and a sound.cfg file.Here's my question - in order to work properly, do you really need CAB files for these sounds to be heard? I'm talking here about making my own setup beyond this package.The reason I ask is because the package for AI sounds does not have specific aircraft sounds for my Russian aircraft. I was able to download various sound packages for these aircraft from the Russian AVSIM site. I would like to use these sounds in my AI environment.However, making CAB files is a pain. I do have a utility for this purpose but the steps are not intuitive even though it's drag-n-drop. I also need to know if these aircraft sound packages will work in FSX.I would appreciate any help on this issue.





   
Where Flight Simulation Enthusiasts Gather from Around the World!