Jump to content

  •  


   
Where Flight Simulation Enthusiasts Gather from Around the World!

HOT SPOTS:
 rarrow.gif The 2014 Demographic Survey! - NEW!

rarrow.gif What's new in the Library

rarrow.gif Member Blogs

rarrow.gif Member Reviews - Contribute a Review!
rarrow.gif Bargain Hunters Forum
rarrow.gif Classified, Want, Swap Ads

rarrow.gif AVSIM Team Speak System

rarrow.gif Video Library
rarrow.gif Image Gallery
rarrow.gif Community Links Library
rarrow.gif Tutorials

rarrow.gif FS9. FSX & P3D CTD Guide

rarrow.gif FSX / P3D Configuration Guide

rarrow.gif AVSIM Publications 



Simulation's Premier Resource!

AVSIM is a free service to the flight and simulation communities. Please help us keep it that way. Donate what you can today! Thank you for your support!











. . .
Photo
- - - - -

ntdll.dll crash only when clicking on fsx in flight menu


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 zoran

zoran

    Member - 2,000+

  • Members
  • 2,051 posts
  • Joined 2 Years, 3 Months and 10 Days Ago.

Posted 28 May 2013 - 01:00 AM

High end system, works great very few CTD's....However in the last 48hrs Im getting a crash when I go to the task bar menu in windowed mode.

 

 

APPCRASH Not available 0 fsx.exe 10.0.61637.0 46fadb14 ntdll.dll 6.1.7601.17725 4ec49b8f c0000005 00038dc9 C:\Users\bb\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\FSX\fsx.CFG.txt C:\Users\bb\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\FSX\dxdiag.txt C:\Users\bb\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\FSX\scenery.cfg C:\Users\bb\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\FSX\fdr.dat C:\Users\bb\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\FSX\dll.xml C:\Users\bb\AppData\Local\Temp\WER2F1.tmp.WERInternalMetadata.xml C:\Users\bb\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\WER\ReportArchive\AppCrash_fsx.exe_b4c699dda7ef470aea89082ec1dbbcc9883a27_337608ea 0 6ea51e03-c680-11e2-a2c5-



Help AVSIM continue to serve you!
Please donate today!

#2 zoran

zoran

    Member - 2,000+

  • Topic Starter
  • Members
  • 2,051 posts
  • Joined 2 Years, 3 Months and 10 Days Ago.

Posted 28 May 2013 - 03:45 AM

okay appears I have fixed it with a system restore. Was having big problems with fsx slowing to a crawl and really buggy.



#3 B247NG

B247NG

    Member - 1,000+

  • Members
  • 1,265 posts
  • Joined 4 Years, 11 Months and 3 Days Ago.

Posted 28 May 2013 - 05:05 AM

For stable fsx, try to apply all settings i recommended in this thread: http://forum.avsim.n...tds-with-ezdok/

You will find there some important settings in my first and second post. If you set fsx like that, it's very unlikely that that you can get CTD or OOM error....

#4 zoran

zoran

    Member - 2,000+

  • Topic Starter
  • Members
  • 2,051 posts
  • Joined 2 Years, 3 Months and 10 Days Ago.

Posted 28 May 2013 - 06:33 PM

For stable fsx, try to apply all settings i recommended in this thread: http://forum.avsim.n...tds-with-ezdok/

You will find there some important settings in my first and second post. If you set fsx like that, it's very unlikely that that you can get CTD or OOM error....

Thanks for this!



#5 zoran

zoran

    Member - 2,000+

  • Topic Starter
  • Members
  • 2,051 posts
  • Joined 2 Years, 3 Months and 10 Days Ago.

Posted 29 May 2013 - 12:54 AM

For stable fsx, try to apply all settings i recommended in this thread: http://forum.avsim.n...tds-with-ezdok/

You will find there some important settings in my first and second post. If you set fsx like that, it's very unlikely that that you can get CTD or OOM error....

Zeljko

win 7 wont let me select the data execution prevention for FSX, says not allowed



#6 captain420

captain420

    Member - 1,000+

  • Members
  • 1,290 posts
  • Joined 1 Year, 6 Months and 16 Days Ago.

Posted 29 May 2013 - 01:05 AM

Yup same here, I cannot set the data execution either. I'm using Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit. I am getting BEX errors randomly when flying. Would like to fix this annoying problem.



#7 B247NG

B247NG

    Member - 1,000+

  • Members
  • 1,265 posts
  • Joined 4 Years, 11 Months and 3 Days Ago.

Posted 29 May 2013 - 06:39 AM

@zoran, @captain420, you must turn off UAC first: http://www.howtogeek...-windows-vista/  Set it to "never notify".

 

UAC should stay disabled anyway. After that you should be alowed to acces and dissable DEP: http://www.addictive...-windows-vista/

You have there two metods described.

 

Verify that you have administrator rights also



#8 firehawk44

firehawk44

    Forums Director

  • Administrators
  • 10,191 posts
  • Joined 12 Years, 4 Months and 23 Days Ago.

Posted 29 May 2013 - 07:21 AM


After that you should be alowed to acces and dissable DEP: http://www.addictive...-windows-vista/

 

According to Microsoft, FSX requires DEP and it cannot be disabled.  I do not understand this concept of disabling DEP.  I know it is possible through other methods but I'm worried this could create even more problems for those having issues with FSX running properly.

 

Best regards,

Jim



#9 B247NG

B247NG

    Member - 1,000+

  • Members
  • 1,265 posts
  • Joined 4 Years, 11 Months and 3 Days Ago.

Posted 29 May 2013 - 08:37 AM

According to Microsoft, FSX requires DEP and it cannot be disabled. I do not understand this concept of disabling DEP. I know it is possible through other methods but I'm worried this could create even more problems for those having issues with FSX running properly.

Best regards,
Jim


Sorry, i can't agree with you on this. FSX do not requires DEP, and DEP can be and should be disabled for FSX to run better and to avoid some errors and CTD's.

I have double - checked this, here is one source we can trust(FS Labs): http://www.flightsim...knowledge-base/

And Mr. Lefteris blog too: http://lkalamaras.bl...-part-deux.html

Actually, i must correct myself for previous post - i gived two options there and in fact is only one.
Don't use that metod which adds fsx to DEP exceptions.
We must disable DEP completely using command promp and command - bcdedit.exe /set {current} nx AlwaysOff

 

p.s. you must restart PC after that for changes to take effect



#10 McLaren

McLaren

    Member

  • Members
  • 174 posts
  • Joined 9 Years and 2 Days Ago.

Posted 29 May 2013 - 08:55 AM

According to Microsoft, FSX requires DEP and it cannot be disabled.  I do not understand this concept of disabling DEP.  I know it is possible through other methods but I'm worried this could create even more problems for those having issues with FSX running properly.

 

Best regards,

Jim

 

 

I have had DEP disabled for the last 6 months and my number of StackHas/BEX related crashes is down to nearly 0 (if not exactly 0). I was getting them pretty often with the PMDG 737/MD11 at high detail airports but since I made the change I have no problems at all (used the Alternative Method from the above link). 



#11 captain420

captain420

    Member - 1,000+

  • Members
  • 1,290 posts
  • Joined 1 Year, 6 Months and 16 Days Ago.

Posted 29 May 2013 - 10:17 AM

B247NG okay I'm confused a little. I am trying to disable DEP through the 2nd method which is using the command line. I'm looking for a permanent solution so should i type:

 

bcdedit.exe /set nx AlwaysOff

 

or

 

bcdedit.exe /set {current} nx AlwaysOff

 

The first method is confusing since it says "Turn on DEP...", I thought that we are trying to turn this off? 



#12 B247NG

B247NG

    Member - 1,000+

  • Members
  • 1,265 posts
  • Joined 4 Years, 11 Months and 3 Days Ago.

Posted 29 May 2013 - 11:31 AM

B247NG okay I'm confused a little. I am trying to disable DEP through the 2nd method which is using the command line. I'm looking for a permanent solution so should i type:

 

bcdedit.exe /set nx AlwaysOff

 

or

 

bcdedit.exe /set {current} nx AlwaysOff

 

The first method is confusing since it says "Turn on DEP...", I thought that we are trying to turn this off? 

The second is correct: bcdedit.exe /set {current} nx AlwaysOff



#13 firehawk44

firehawk44

    Forums Director

  • Administrators
  • 10,191 posts
  • Joined 12 Years, 4 Months and 23 Days Ago.

Posted 29 May 2013 - 01:15 PM


Sorry, i can't agree with you on this. FSX do not requires DEP, and DEP can be and should be disabled for FSX to run better and to avoid some errors and CTD's.

 

Sorry.  I still stand by my comments.  It is dangerous to disable DEP and, like one of your links, it shouldn't be done automatically.  DEP stopped the program from functioning for a reason - maybe a virus or malware was attempting to circumvent the programs security.  So it is dangerous for simply everyone disabling DEP unless they want to disable it temporarily to run a program to purchase a product or run a program that might use e-sellerate to verify whether your product is legal or not.  BTW, all FSDT products use E-Sellerate and I have most of them installed.  I have DEP enabled and have never had a problem with it or any other security program.  I just want to make sure that members here at AVSIM are aware of what they are doing if and when they disable DEP in FSX or any other product.

 

Best regards,

Jim



#14 McLaren

McLaren

    Member

  • Members
  • 174 posts
  • Joined 9 Years and 2 Days Ago.

Posted 29 May 2013 - 01:41 PM

Sorry.  I still stand by my comments.  It is dangerous to disable DEP and, like one of your links, it shouldn't be done automatically.  DEP stopped the program from functioning for a reason - maybe a virus or malware was attempting to circumvent the programs security.  So it is dangerous for simply everyone disabling DEP unless they want to disable it temporarily to run a program to purchase a product or run a program that might use e-sellerate to verify whether your product is legal or not.  BTW, all FSDT products use E-Sellerate and I have most of them installed.  I have DEP enabled and have never had a problem with it or any other security program.  I just want to make sure that members here at AVSIM are aware of what they are doing if and when they disable DEP in FSX or any other product.

 

Best regards,

Jim

 

 

Jim, 

 

I do agree with you that there is a risk involved with disabling DEP, however, with common security practices (virus protection, regular virus/malware scans, not opening attachments or links from unknown or suspect looking emails/address, etc.) you can mitigate these risks substantially. For me, the rewards (no more StackHas/BEX errors and CTDs) have far out-weighted the risks associated with disabling DEP. But as with any tweak, change, or system modification, it is at the risk and discretion of the end user. 



#15 firehawk44

firehawk44

    Forums Director

  • Administrators
  • 10,191 posts
  • Joined 12 Years, 4 Months and 23 Days Ago.

Posted 29 May 2013 - 01:42 PM

@McLaren  I totally agree with you there Jordan.  Just want to make sure non-computer experts are aware of the risks.

 

Best regards,

Jim





   
Where Flight Simulation Enthusiasts Gather from Around the World!